Vegan-friendly
Japanese
Macrobiotic
Non-veg

Serves fish, vegan options available. Macrobiotic restaurant a few minutes by walking from Terukuni shrine, also very close to Tenmonkan. Only one plate has fish, otherwise food is vegan. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-5:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Vegetus Sara
© OpenStreetMap contributors

25 Reviews

First Review by SaayaM

Tsukimi

Points +3638

Vegan
09 Feb 2024

Love on a plate! 💚

I’ve been there in July 2019, so my review is very old, but it was very delicious!
Must go, if you love macrobiotic food!!

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-08

Advertisement

valveg17

Points +28

Vegan
13 Sep 2023

Absolutely delicious

Amazing and cute place. Elder couple that knows how to do what they do. I got the Sara’s Vegan Set and was one of the best things I’ve ever tried. They are 99% vegan. Only one option of fish. Highly recommended

BunnyChipperPink

Points +26

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Refused to serve

They refused to serve us, told us they were closing and later let in a Japanese couple. Second stablishment this happened to us in kagoshima.

daniel__ka

Points +892

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Nice unique traditional restaurant.

We had an interesting experience at this restaurant. Inside it looks more like a house, with just 3 table and a lot of random antiques.
Food was really nice. Most of the menu was vegan expect for an option which fish which wasn’t available, so they day we went, everything was vegan, yay!! 💚✌🏻
The vegan sets were really nice with a lot vegetables, a miso soup and some rice. Some people in out group ordered mushroom spaghetti and thought it was a bit bland, but I didn’t try it so I can’t say.
The service was really slow, they prepare 3 plates at the time so if you be aware of this when you go. It’s an elderly couple taking the orders and cooking.
Nice and interesting experience overall. Recommend.

Angie_

Points +494

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Great lunch set

The café was a bit a hard to find but definitely worth it!! We tried the vegan set which comes with miso soup and rice.
Be warned that the service is a bit slow though, the place is run by an elderly couple who take their time with the orders 😉

Pros: Menu almost fully vegan, Good food, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Slow service

frankiodi

Points +46

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2023

Kind and good

The couple who run this restaurant are charming and it's a pleasant place to be. 95% of the menu is vegan.

Pros: 95% vegan, Organic

RhysJones

Points +753

Vegetarian
22 Apr 2023

Must visit if in Kagoshima!

We visited on a Friday evening and had no trouble getting a table, even though there aren't very many seats. Immediately we felt welcome in the charming restaurant which felt more like an extension of a home than a restaurant, which was lovely.

All the menu choices are vegan, except one which is the vegan set menu plus a side of fish. We had Sara's vegan set menu which was one of the best vegan set menus we've had in Japan. Each of the piles of veg tasted slightly different and the flavours were interesting: one like the sea, one more earthy, one sharp and citrus-like. The miso soup was lovely and had little cubes of tofu in the broth, and the sticky rice was exceptional as expected. Make sure you add the black salt on top as instructed by the owner!

We also had some vegan banana cake and brown rice tea for dessert which was a nice addition. If you're staying in Kagoshima you have to come here!

Pros: All vegan apart from one thing, Friendly and welcoming hosts and setting , Miso soup was fabulous

AmandaSakiye

Points +2694

Vegan
04 Apr 2023

Go here.

It’s cute and homemade. It’s got old Japanese vintage vibes. Most of the menu is vegan. It’s all delicious.

MelonCrumble

Points +249

Vegan
28 Nov 2022

Great retro cafe

The only non vegan item on the menu when we went was the option of milk for the chai tea.
Had the spaghetti dish and a ice coffee, both amazing. Seasonal ingredients used. Lovely husband and wife, English on menu, cash only.

cbegley1808

Points +380

Vegan
03 Sep 2020

Cute place with good food

Cute little restaurant owned by a sweet couple with great English. Lovely peaceful and rustic vibe from the restaurant and also very close to Shiroyama park. I went twice and each time the food was delicious!

Pros: Good selection of vegan options , Lovely atmosphere

Cons: They didn’t have any desserts

Piwi

Points +168

Vegan
02 Dec 2019

Great food, lovely place

Went there for lunch and got the vegan set. Super tasty veggies in different flavours.
Lovely old couple running the place.

For all the people complaining about the little portions here...JUST ASK!! You can get a rice fill up for example for just ¥150.

Pros: nearly all vegan, fair price, rice fill up for ¥150

keistaszmuo

Points +53

Vegan
02 Nov 2019

The best vegan restaurant in Kyushu so far

This vegan-friendly restaurant with a very lovely staff was everything I needed on my last day in Kagoshima to later praise this city as one of my favourite ones in Kyushu.

I had a vegan set and I was satisfied with how it looked and tasted, as well as the amount and price. Most of the options are vegan.

Pros: Sufficient portions, Healthy and yummy food, Wonderful vibe

Cons: Non-vegan "Vegan set with fish" sounds oxymoronic

euhJunSee

02 Nov 2019

cgrvld

Points +157

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Cutest place with lovely staff

The vegan meal set I ordered here, as well as the staff were both lovely.

Also, I loved the interior design! It was a little bit quirky, but cosy at the same time - like something straight out of a Ghibli movie.

Definitely stop by if you're in town.



Updated from previous review on 2019-10-13

Pros: Lovely staff, affordable, authentic Japanese food

PennyRodie

Points +46

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Home-cooking in a lovely setting

A quiet and lovely restaurant with delicious home-cooking style food.

LornaBrown

Points +25

Vegetarian
05 Aug 2019

Lovely, mostly vegan cafe

We went here based on the reviews and were not disappointed. The couple who run the cafe are really friendly and there is real homely feel about the place. There was only set meal that contained fish on the menu, everything else was vegan.

FrankieW

Points +2509

Vegan
07 May 2019

Superb and quaint.

90% vegan establishment run by a delightful couple.

The vegan set lunch at only ¥1000 is a must have.

We went there twice in three days.

Isi_2208

Points +16

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Delicious vegan meal

The vegan meal is really delicious and contains lots of different vegetables.
I would also recommend the vegan cake.

JRoss

Points +606

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

Nearly all vegan

It's only the vegan set with added fish which makes this a non-vegan menu. There are lots of vegan mains like noodle soup, curry, spaghetti dishes etc. The vegan lunch set was great. Smalish portions but you could always have a vegan sugar free cake afterwards!

Lovely owners and a quirky place with lots of charm.

MilenaEne

Points +105

Vegetarian
12 Jan 2019

Very healthy but not filling

The place is very authentic. I had vegan set that was a bunch of very healthy vegetables, rice bowls, rice and miso soup. I liked it, although some were a bit bland in taste. My partner has curry and he was just hungry after it. I gave full rating tho, for a almost fully vegan menu and lovely staff.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Cheep , Healthy

Cons: Lack of taste

miliberlin

Points +640

Vegan
06 Oct 2018

Good food and lovely owners

I loved my stay at Vegetus Sara. The owners have been running this place for 28 years and the entire place feels like their living room. The food was delicious and reasonably priced (1000 yen for the vegan lunch / dinner plate). Definitely would come back on my next visit to Kagoshima!

Pros: Tasty food , Cozy atmosphere , Friendly staff

Rhianna29

Points +36

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Lovely place, highly recommend!

Really loved the food and the man running the restaurant was so friendly and helpful! Would recommend to vegans and non-vegans alike!

Haymehhker

Points +129

Vegan
15 May 2018

Great place, nice people

Great place to have available a vegan lunch in downtown Kagoshima.

selena

Points +362

Vegetarian
03 Apr 2018

beautiful food

Sweet macrobiotic spot with great traditional macrobiotic food. I always get the special plate in a place like this and was not disappointed. The couple has been running his place since the 90s.

Pros: traditional teishoku, cozy atmosphere, reasonable prices

Melinamangia

Points +53

Mostly Veg
14 May 2017

Amazing place

I had the vegeterian curry, which was ultra tasty, and Yuzu juice (must-have!) Lovely couple, cozy restaurant

Pros: atmosphere, taste of food

Cons: none

SaayaM

Points +76

Vegan
02 Mar 2017

Lovely macrobiotic restaurant

Vegetus Sara was established in 1991, and is traditional Japanese macrobiotic restaurant near the Tenmonkan area. I stumbled upon this restaurant while I was exploring Terukuni Jinja, which is a big shrine north of Tenmonkan. They have a small sign that says 作楽 (Sara) the top of the restaurant but it may be a little hard to recognize. Please follow the Google Map or keep walking straight after you turn right in front of Terukuni shrine's torii.
The restaurant itself is very cozy and kind of hippie-style, and is run by one cute couple. One plate (Sara set 作楽セット) and milk chai tea is not vegan (but you can order Sara set without fish, and with soy milk chai tea instead), otherwise other all of the menu is vegan, and it includes fried rice, tomato pasta, a rice ball set and others. But please make sure to tell the staff you are vegan, and then they will understand. I ordered soup pasta (¥750) and my friend got a curry set (¥800). The pasta was simple but very tasty. If you like Japanese veg food then I'm sure you will enjoy their food. They also sell some vegan cookies you can take away.
I recommend you to go here if you are looking for real, trustworthy vegan food in Kagoshima City.

Pros: good value, nice vibe

Cons: difficult-to-find




This page has been viewed 4714 times.