Vegetable Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 33 reviews )

Japanese style vegan cafe located 10 minutes from Kamakura station. Est. 2014. For lunch it serves onigiri set, risotto set, karaage set, and daily plate. Also offers scones and cake. Formerly known as Kokusai Cafe Sorafune. Last order is 3:00pm. Open Mon-Tue 11:00am-4:00pm, Fri-Sun 11:00am-4:00pm. Closed Wed and Thurs.

Categories: Vegan, Japanese

33 Reviews

First Review by Nancy Cadet

lilahh

Points +108

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

Classic teishoku in a stunning restaurant

Vegetable Cafe, also known as ソラフネ is located only 10 minutes away from JR Kamakura station. Despite located by the busy street, this restaurant offers a quiet dining experience inside an old-style Japanese house.

This beautiful grandma-style house offers teishoku type dishes. At the time, there are only four lunch items on the menu for the main dish; fried soymeat, tofu burger, onigiri set, and brown rice 'reset'. However they have an extensive drink menu and you got 200 yen off if you ordered the drink with the set dishes.

I ordered the fried soymeat teishoku, which came with a bowl of brown rice, miso soup, fresh leaf salad, a blob of potato salad, and some small dishes of mushroom and root vegetables.
The potato salad was my favourite part of the teishoku; probably because I haven't had one for a long time. The soymeat has similar texture to the one I had in Whitley (chewiness that reminds me of chicken leg/thigh), and not as greasy. In terms of taste, it is lacking in seasoning, but it's still great to eat it with the perfectly cooked, fluffy, brown rice. It was also great when paired with the potato salad. I also enjoy the mushroom add ons that refreshes the palates from eating the fried soymeat.

Although it was a bit pricey - 1500 yen for the teishoku, I think this is a great experience if you want a relaxed, quiet, hearty, Japanese-style lunch while being back in time.

Pros: Friendly staff, Stunning restaurant

Cons: A bit pricey

GrayHorwitz

Points +945

Vegan
23 May 2021

Beautiful set lunch in traditional Japanese house

Tasty, varied flavors, and filling, this is a must visit if in the area! Superb experience all around.

FruitMonstar

Points +1103

Vegan
22 May 2021

芯まであったまる

This place exceeded our expectations. Staffs are super nice, the ambiance is perfect and the food is heavenly.
Ordered karaage set and hamburg set, then brown rice scones and double chocolate cake. All the delicious. Soy late was the only disappointment.

Would love to come back again!

Pros: Great karaage, Wonderful atmosphere , Nice staffs

Advertisement

サンドラ

Points +282

Vegan
17 May 2021

What an amazing place!

Food was awesome!
Just a bit pricey

Updated from previous review on 2021-01-08

Pros: Super delicious karaage set, All vegan

Cons: Bit pricey

KatrinTsukimi

Points +557

Vegan
09 May 2021

Cozy traditional Japanese Restaurant

Very cozy little restaurant only a few minutes away from kamakura station. The food was light and delicious. The view into the small backyard and the relaxing music were very calming.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-09

Ve-miho

Points +121

Vegan
08 May 2021

Delicious food in old style Japanese house

I was impressed by the traditional house.
I had a today's set meal and a chocolate cake. Both the dishes were delicious and amazing!

Pros: Delicious, Relaxing space

megu_o

Points +44

Vegan
26 Oct 2020

本当に美味しい!

本当に美味しいです!
日替わり定食をチョイス。
カボチャとおからのサラダが甘くて美味しかったので、店員さんに話したら、「素材の甘みかも?!」とのこと。サラダも新鮮で美味しく
ご飯もとっても美味しく、メインからデザートまでペロリでした😋(デザートは別注文です!こちらも、生クリームが甘すぎずvegan仕様でとっても美味しかったです。)

Pros: 選択肢が豊富にあります, デザートまで全てplanet basedで安心, 趣がある店外、店内です

misaki.y

Points +84

Vegan
29 Jun 2020

鎌倉に来た時は是非♪

一軒家の居心地の良いヴィーガンのお店です。
全てのメニューがヴィーガンなので、安心してどれでも食べれます。
私は豆腐の揚げ物の日替わり定食。友人は大豆ミートの唐揚げ定食を注文。
付け合わせにこんにゃくや佃煮など、ヴィーガンでなくても健康に気を使っている自然食品派にも満足かと。
鎌倉駅から徒歩で7分ほどです。

YanabeMasahiro

25 Jul 2020

日本語でのコメントありがとうございます。

loophole

Points +36

Vegan
27 Oct 2019

Delicious

Finally an authentic Japanese Vegan Restaurant. Fully satisfied with the limited menu and every part of the meal was delicious. $20AUD for a standard set was good value. All in a quaint traditional Japanese building.

Pros: Good Value, Delicious, Nice building

ItzaRovira

Points +17

Vegetarian
28 Sep 2019

Delicioso!

El lugar es muy lindo y tranquilo y la comida es realmente buena. Lo mejor es que es cocina tradicional! Es caro, pero lo vale.

Pros: Todo el menú es vegetariano

Cons: Caro

lewisjc

Points +218

Vegan
25 Jun 2019

Very authentic

This was a good surprise, very authentic Japanese restaurant where you sit on the floor and need to take your shoes off. Atmosphere was very chilled. Loved this place.

Pros: Food excellent , Very welcoming friendly people, Good price

Cons: No alcohol

Livxo

Points +62

Vegan
04 Jun 2019

Well worth the trip from Tokyo

This place is so special that it was well worth the trip all the way from Tokyo. The atmosphere is so calming and the traditional old building is just lovely. Both set-menu options were DELICIOUS (if you go with a friend, make sure you order both options). Be sure to top it off with their homemade brown rice scones with soy cream and jam. I'd recommend choosing one of the the tatami floor seating areas for the authentic experience.

Pros: Wholesome and delicious food, Beautiful old building & garden

Cons: parking is very difficult

kattgrover

Points +236

Vegan
26 May 2019

Delicious food in beautiful surroundings

If t wasn’t for google maps I think we might have struggled to find the place because it’s down a little alley, hidden from the Main Street. This slight seclusion only adds to the magic when you do at last find the restaurant, which is based in a traditional Japanese building with tatami mats.

We ate the karaage (fried soy meat) set lunch and it was incredible. If vegan karaage is on the menu then my husband and I always try it because we love it and are becoming connoisseurs. This is by far the nicest karaage we’ve had. The texture was the perfect amount of crunchy and chewy and the flavour was both savoury and ever so slightly sweet (which the best vegan karaage always is). It was a delight to have brown rice served along with our lunch rather than the standard white served most other places. I feel like my gut appreciated it. There was a weird veggie jelly that was not to my taste but to be honest I dislike all jelly - the texture freaks me out - but my husband happily gobbled mine up.

Lastly, the staff were friendly and welcoming and the ambience of the place was very zen-like and calm. We felt at home and relaxed.

Pros: Healthy, Delicious, Beautiful surroundings

Cons: Can be tricky to find

ReiAmber

Points +2881

Vegan
07 May 2019

Great food in a nice atmosphere

Very tasty karaage (fried "chicken") set with an excellent soy latte and nice chocolate gateau. The "cream" with the chocolate gateau was okay. The building was atmospheric. Would definitely visit again!

The pin seems to be slightly off, but Nancy Cadet's instructions for getting there in her review are accurate. It's basically across the street from the large fabric shop "Swany," down a small path. Give yourself a bit of extra time to find it- I've walked by there dozens of times with no idea a vegan restaurant was there.

There's also a charming pottery shop hidden at the back of the road. The entrance is just past the restaurant entrance.

Another review lists the opening hours as 11:00 to 16:00 on normal days and to 17 on sundays and holidays but we went on a holiday during Golden Week and last orders were at 3- we just made it.

Would love to go back!



Updated from previous review on 2019-05-07

Pros: atmospheric, great food

Cons: last orders at 3 so don't be late

tastyvegaina

Points +86

Vegan
08 Apr 2019

Nice Japanese restaurant

We had a great lunch in here! They had some lunch sets to choose from and some sweets. We tried 2 different lunch sets and sweets and everything tasted great. Be advised, the opening hours are wrong, as they open from 11:00 to 16:00 on normal days and to 17 on sundays and holidays. Mario y Aina.

Pros: Nice and tasty food, It was so cozy and well decorated, They were super kind

Avatar Claremveg

Claremveg

Points +601

Vegan
03 Jan 2019

Wonderful😄

Skittles walk out of the main centre but totally worth it, at the back of s nice little courtyard, the food was delicious, ambience really nice (traditional Japanese setting and futons) and the lady who runs it was lovely.
I got the fried tofu set and it was all delicious. This was our second day in Japan and we were already learning the difficulty of finding vegan food, so this was totally worth looking for and eating here. We also had a little vegan scone to share, which came with jam and a vegan cream, it was sticky and sweet but tasted good.

Pros: All vegan, Friendly , Nice atmosphere

Mad_Hatter

Points +16

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

Lovely, friendly, quiet

I had a set meal, all of which tasted fresh, light, and good. The place is a wonderful retreat from hectic, touristy Japan around - in a backyard with view onto a garden. Music is on low volume, which I really appreciated (seems to be hard to find elsewhere in Japan ).
The staff didn't speak English butwere very welcoming and friendly and there's an English menu.

Pros: All vegan, healthy, macrobiotic,, very friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Cons: Staff didn't speak English, , so asking about ingredients would be tricky

sianfletcher

Points +28

Vegan
14 Sep 2018

A must-go for Kamakura!

Found this on google maps just looking for generic vegan-friendly cafes and it turned out to be an amazing find, its a bit hard to spot (google map directions worked), just look out for the building with the red awning once you get on final street and its right next door:) The food was all-vegan, reasonably priced and traditional, so if you want to experience authentic (vegan) japanese food then this is a fantastic place to do so!! Not only that but the cafe itself was so calm and relaxing. The staff are also friendly and helpful and speak pretty good english too!!

Pros: Authentic japanese food and setting, Super relaxing, Friendly staff

dokujoy

Points +82

Vegan
25 Jul 2018

Lovely place in Kamakura

The place is lovely and very cozy, and the food was one of the best vegan meals that I've had in Japan. They have an English menu.

Pros: Delicious food, Lovely place, Kind and friendly staff

Cons: A little bit hard to find

oasisisao

Points +276

Vegetarian
13 May 2018

Cute, nice atmosphere and good food

This is a very chill place to eat, which I love. Vegan Japanese teishoku style meals near Kamakura station for a good price. You don’t feel heavy and you can have one of their desserts after your meal! The ladies there make the food and are very friendly. The restaurant is a Japanese style place with tatami and beautiful garden. You need to walk around 10 minutes from the station, and will need Google maps since it’s not the easiest to find, but I didn’t have any problem at all. Totally recommend!

Pros: Vegan , Affordable, Nice place

Cons: No cons!

Marlasai

Points +54

Vegan
25 Oct 2017

Good place to stop

The place was hard to find, address is wrong here but Google Maps directions are more accurate. The place is cosy and located in an old traditional Japanese house. It has three different menu options, Japanese food style: miso soup, brown rice, pickles, greens, main... Just what we were looking for.

Pros: Yummy vegan food in Kamakura near the station.

Cons: None.

GeoffSypitkowski

Points +61

Vegan
06 Aug 2017

Outstanding Authentic Japanese Vegan

A truly authentic Japanese dining experience that was completely vegan. The kara-age was phenomenal, reminiscent of the days when I used to eat chicken. The tofu beef tasted more like any imitation that I had previously tried.

Pros: Authenically Japanese, Delicious, Great service

Cons: No alcohol

aibababye

Points +125

Vegan
27 Apr 2017

amazing

It's a little hard to find, but it was worth searching for. We ordered the lunch special, which was hayashi rice, and it was amazing. First meal in Japan and it didn't disappoint at all! It has a really great atmosphere, tatami and sitting on the floor.

Pros: tatami, delicious, English menu

Cons: a little hard to find

maganns1

Points +17

Vegetarian
25 Jan 2017

Excellent food - Very Calm Environment

The food was great but the location was amazing. Very calm and beautiful. The staff was friendly. Highly recommend. It can be difficult to find but worth the effort.

Pros: Great food, Excellent Facility, Calm

Cons: Tough to find

lcren644

Points +17

Vegetarian
02 Nov 2016

Hard to find, delicious food

Took me a while to find the place-- it is offset from the road through an archway into a courtyard. But once I found it-- goodness it was good! I got a late lunch tray-- chose one of the two options. It was around $15 USD for the whole thing-- and well worth it. There were at least 6 different small dishes-- salad, bean patty, two kinds of pickles, mashed parsnips (?), miso soup. All absolutely delicious and actually very filling. The waitress was friendly, the atmosphere very relaxed-- it was not an awkward place to eat alone.

Definitely recommend, just make sure you really know where you're going before hand!

Pros: easy menu, excellent Japanese food, cozy environment-- big window

Cons: small-- wouldn't be great for a large group

NettaVegan

Points +23

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2016

disappointment!

The dish was very small and expensive. The service was really bad, the waitress behaved like she just want me to leave the place (it was 16 and they were closing at 17) and she was so rude!I'm sure I'll never come back to this place.

ritzelratzel

Points +59

Vegan
27 Sep 2016

delicious japanese food

This nice little restaurant/cafe was really cosy on a rainy day. The people there were friendly and the food was great.

Pros: cosy atmosphere, delicious food, nice staff

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kamakura Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegetable Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8463 times.