Vege Creek 蔬河 - Yanji St

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 31 reviews )

Find

2, Lane 129, Yanji St, Da'an District, Taipei, Taiwan

Build-your-own noodle meal with emphasis on fresh vegetables. Choose your ingredients (vegetables, tofu, faux meat, noodles), then the staff cooks it into a one-pot soup wonder in just minutes. Or have your order served dry. Style is a blend of East meets West, with modern design concept striping the space down to the bare essentials and a long wooden communal table in the center of the dining area. One of several cafes in Taipei, this is its flagship branch, est. 2012. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-2:00pm, 5:00pm-8:30pm.

Categories: Vegan, Chinese, Take-out, Taiwanese

31 Reviews

First Review by JesseD

PrayforWorldVegan

Points +43

Vegan
22 May 2020

A good idea can make a good business

Noodles are not special, soup is so-so, the price is not cheap, but the freshness of veggies makes the food difference. You can pick up the veggies and noodles yourself, and then bring them to the counter; the staff will cook it for you on the spot.
There are 3 branches in busy areas. They are top rated on many websites. Bravo!!!

Walterwide

Points +1341

Vegan
29 Mar 2020

Awesome concept and delicious food

I really like the style and the way they cook your food, I have been at Vege Creek several times and the staff and the food has always been so tasty and full of flavours.

suf

Points +44

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Just excellent

We ate here nearly every day for lunch. It’s a well balanced healthy meal. One portion costs about 200TWD depending on how much you get. There are loads of them in Taipei, cool concept, you grab a tote bag and fill it up with items from the fridge (veg/ tofu/ vegan meat) and pick your noodles. Hand the bag over, pay and collect it within 5 mins once it’s been cooked. Really healthy and all completely vegan.

Pros: All vegan, Well priced, Healthy

Cons: It’s mall eating, grab a table in a food court

Advertisement

rowanimogen

Points +27

Vegetarian
16 Oct 2019

Delicious and healthy

Amazing concept for a restaurant. Grab a tote bag and fill it with your choice of fresh vegetables, tofu, soy meat, and fresh greens (beautifully displayed on the wall), choose your noodles, and the chef will cook it all for you with a lovely, light vegetable broth. Everything is vegan. Lots of additional toppings and dressings; the sesame oil ginger and the miso-sesame dressing are especially good. The design of the shop is beautiful, and very conveniently located near Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall Station. We visited twice in our five days in Taipei! A little more pricey for Taiwan, but totally worth it for a delicious meal.

Pros: Everything is vegan, Beautiful interiors

VeganExpression

Points +1694

Vegan
02 May 2019

Serve Your Self Vegan Noodles

You don't feel like you've chosen a lot of ingredients here. My dish is oversize and I like the decor here, the simple design with a long wooden table. It feels great!

visit date: 2019-03

denn

Points +553

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Awesome place

Cheap, quick, easy and great healthy food.

belindachim

Points +30

Vegan
10 Mar 2019

Yummy and cheap

Good vibe with nice designs, the bag for veges are compostable so it’s good.

Pros: Cheap , No msg

ErnestBerlot

Points +204

Vegan
02 Feb 2019

Go there

It is worth. Vegan. You choose what you want to have in your soup/ramen. The pictures say everything.

Pros: Choose what vegetable and noodles you want, Dont nees to long wait, Taste great

Cons: -

KimSora

Points +34

Vegan
24 Jan 2019

제발 가세요 (Plz plz plz go vegecreek)

한국에서는 (아직) 볼 수 없는 재미있는 컨셉의 비건 식당입니다. (2019년 기준) 요즘 서울에서 유행하는 마라탕집 스타일로다가 넣고 싶은 채소랑 면 종류 고르고 계산하면 끓여서 나오는데요. 컨셉이 재밌습니다. 장바구니에 소분된 채소를 넣고, 면 종류가 써있는 스틱을 고른 다음에 계산해요. 개당 20달러이고, 저는 "이거 투머치야?"라고 물을 만큼 여러 종류를 고르고 계산했는데 170달러 나왔어요. 전혀 맵지 않고 담백하고 매장에서 한약냄새 같은 것 나는데 육수 재료 때문인 것 같습니다. 그런데 육수에서는 한방향 안 나요. 정말 재미있는 곳! 꼭 가보세요.

sunnykorea

Points +63

Vegan
06 Nov 2018

Can create your own noodle

You will love this small and clean restaurant. You can choose your own ingredient for your noodle. And it will taste Good whatevere you choose. There are even fresh veggies. Look so nice!♥♥♥ And many delicious sauces are ready for your liking. One time I tried noodle without soup and mixed with many sauces. It was so Good too👍

Pros: Quick. can make a price

MamieLoup

Points +391

Vegan
05 Nov 2018

The taste of the soup💗

I work near by this Vege Creek and love the concept and damn it's freaking delicious !

peasandunderstanding

Points +248

Vegan
24 May 2018

DIY as you desire

Such a fun concept - basically a DIY soup; you pick the ingredients - from noodles to toppings, bring it to the register and they cook it up before your eyes. Like a refined dining experience of the street food stalls; but where one can rest assured everything is vegan. This concept also allows you to be in charge of how much or little you wish to spend on the meal.

And don't be disheartened by the wee plastic-looking bags the ingredients are packed in, they are made from cornstarch and are 90% biodegradable.

Haymehhker

Points +129

Vegan
23 May 2018

Loved it

Cheap noodles meal that you build ingredients yourself, had no idea what I was doing and it still tasted amazing!!!

yovegan

Points +34

Vegan
15 May 2018

Wholesome & edgy

Brilliant ramen pick your own restaurant. Totally customisable and delicious.

RawChefYin

Points +2616

Vegan
14 May 2018

Vegan Lu Wei

One of my favourite places to eat in Taipei. You get to choose your own vegetables, noodles, soup base, toppings.

Nice and clean. Seating is communal style.

Staff are courteous.

Pros: You determine what you want in your dish, Lots of green vegetables, So many choices

RemyWilliams

Points +94

Vegan
31 Mar 2018

Delicious food in a beautiful setting

Vege creek is a small but bustling establishment that has been built and decorated in a beautiful minimalistic aesthetic. Aside from the beautiful setting, vege creek offers a large selection of fresh vegetables, soy meats and other bits which you can hand pick to be put into your soup. The only issue with this is that all the ingredients are individually packaged in plastic, which creates a lot of waste. The noodle soup is very delicious overall, and there are lots of condiments you can add in to heighten the taste, but the stock on its own is not as flavourful as it could be. Overall, Vege creek is a must visit vegan restaurant in Taiwan, offering beautiful food, a beautiful setting, cheap prices and a little bit of fun to its customers.

sousuneautrelentille

Points +327

Vegan
01 Mar 2018

In love with this place

Five stars all the way! Vege Creek is an awesome vegan restaurant where you choose your own vegetables, noodles, and proteins from the side wall (the greens section is particularly awesome), bring everything to the front, and they cook it up for you. The place is classy and modern, and the food is delicious and nutritious! Oh, and the price was incredibly reasonable too! Wonderful all around!

KarenHubble

Points +22

Vegan
18 Dec 2017

Satisfyingly Fresh

100% vegan in a resonable price. They don't have menu coz you'll be the one to pick your veggies and faux meat choices from the rack. All you have to do was give it to the staff and have them cook it for you with your choice of noodles. The staff can speak English and are very nice. There's also a vegan tea shop beside it, I forgot it's name. 😅

RaadBimurto

Points +65

Vegan
27 Aug 2017

Interesting Setup & Hella Cheap

This restaurant had a setup like something I had never seen before. We had to take a bag, fill it with ingredients we want and hand it to the staff. Then they cooked the noodles right in front of us & serve it. Additionally there were no individual tables, rather a big wooden table around which everyone sat. We went on a sunday night & it was pretty crowded, but we were able to find a spot. The food was delicious, very filling & very cheap for me, while reasonably for my friend.

Pros: Interesting System, Reasonable Price, Delicious & fresh

HaileyPoLa

Points +1118

Vegan
21 Aug 2017

Great food

I usually go to another location inside the Eslite Dunnan Bookstore, and yesterday was the first time I visited here.

There's a huge selection of vegetables and other plant-based ingredients such as tofu, deep-fried bread sticks, rice cakes, and so on. The condiments are at the counter.

All the ingredients are packaged with biodegradable bags made from corn starch instead of plastic.

The food here is nice as always, and the entire restaurant looks very simple and cozy. The only thing I don't like is that there's only one huge table so no matter what you'll share a table with others (not my personal preference).

Pros: nice food, cozy vibe, uses biodegradable bags instead of plastic

Cons: need to share a table with others

AntoAn

Points +195

Vegan
26 Dec 2016

Delicious and great system

The food was great quality products, cooked deliciously, healthy (no added oil, many whole foods), friendly staff, and really pleasant system of picking your own food, putting it in a basket and watching them boil it in herbal broth. You get to eat exactly what you want and how much of each ingredient which is awesome.

Updated from previous review on 2016-12-26

darkrabbit

Points +240

Vegan
05 Nov 2016

just great!

Great vegan food ... one of my favorites in Taipei.
very quick prepared ... the real fast food but still healthy ;)
also very stylish shop and really friendly staff.
Luv it!

Pros: friendly staff, stylish shop, cheap but delicious

Cons: not many seats

monisonfire

Points +3468

Vegan
09 Apr 2016

oh so good!!!

I loved my food at vege creek! I seriously loved everything about it - the little restaurant with only this one table in the middle that brought people together, the choice of different food (and that you ACTUALLY choose what you'd like), the fresh preperation and finally: EATING. food was absolutely delicious and well seasoned.
staff is friendly and very welcoming.
price is so very reasonable.
would come and eat here anytime again. if only i was in taipei more often :(

Pros: taste, variety, price

Cons: too far away :(

jojoinbrighton

Points +1263

Vegan
08 Feb 2016

Cool concept!

I love this place! You just grab a basket, choose your veggies, proteins and greens and then pick what type of noodle you'd like and they make you a delicious soup. I love how customisable it is and even on hungry days it usually only comes out around 200TWD (£4) which is super reasonable. The only con is that there's only one small table so it wouldn't be great for a group but I've never had trouble finding a seat and they do takeout.

Citizen Wren

Points +283

Mostly Veg
23 Jan 2016

love Vege Creek

this might be my favorite restaurant in Taipei. it's make your own bowl of vegan goodness - add the raw ingredients to your basket and they turn it into a fantastic soup. I usually skip the noodles and just pile on the veggies. they do top it with seaweed so if that's not your thing ask them to leave it off.

Pros: affordable, fresh, delicious

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

10 Jan 2016

vege creek (yanji street)

had some trouble finding the eatery as i didn't have data roaming and gps was sketchy, and lane 129 is not visible from yanji road, at least the side that i was coming from. would suggest printing out the map if you don't have a data plan while travelling in taipei.

i love vege creek's ambience and concept of "shopping" for your noodles, leafy veg and additional toppings with a plastic basket -it's essentially a vegan version of taiwanese "luwei". the interior is warm and cosy, with a communal table that seats 12 (thus great for solo dining), and staff are extremely friendly and patient.

as far as i remember, i had noodles, two types of veggies and four toppings, which came up to around twd200. i'm sure that's way more than what most people would usually order. all was nicely presented and very delicious.

seating was a little cramped when i arrived around 7ish but eased out later.

i highly recommend this place for a simple, satisfying bowl of noodles.

Pros: delicious, well presented, lots of leafy veg, friendly staff

Cons: hard to find without map, toppings are wrapped in plastic bags

HaileyPoLa

21 Aug 2017

I've asked them a long time ago and those are bags made from corn starch (biodegradable), not plastic. :)

nickb

Points +247

Vegan
12 Nov 2014

Cool concept, delicious noodles

I love the concept at Vege Creek, which is a modern version of the traditional Taiwanese food vendor. No menu - simply select your own vegetables, mushrooms, tofu, noodles & chilli tolerance, and in return you will receive a delicious bowl of noodle soup. The restaurant is small with one communal table and a simple but cool, funky design. I love this place.

Pros: Cool restaurant concept, 100% vegan, Great value

Cons: Not located near my house!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Taipei Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vege Creek 蔬河 - Yanji St closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 11114 times.