Vegan
International
Juice bar
Take-out
Bakery
Ecuadorean

An all-vegan restaurant serves fresh & well presented savory & sweet food. The menu is small, but imaginative; some dishes are vegan variations of local Ecuadorean dishes. Also has ice cream, fresh juices, a choice of coffees (and be sure & try the cakes). The staff are welcoming and tolerant of foreigners trying to speak Spanish. The ambiance is one of calm, with locals and foreigners hanging out for a while. Open Mon-Fri 12:00pm-5:00pm. Closed Sat-Mon.


Venue map for Vegano De Altura
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by HGM

SteveDixon

Points +132

Vegan
23 Oct 2023

Tasty Friendly & inexpensive

I had the Tikita and it was tasty and filling. While the menu was limited the food was good, prices very reasonable and service excellent. I will return 😀

Pros: Tasty food , Reasonable prices , Great service

Cons: It was cosy but that wasn’t a biggie

Advertisement

Enid

Points +95

Vegetarian
25 Apr 2023

sabroso

el lugar es muy colorido y acogedor, todo muy limpio y ordenado. la atención es muy buena. solo probé la hamburguesa y aunque era pequeña era muy sabrosa y contundente. muy buena relación calidad - precio. repetiré.

pidpad

Points +63

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

Me gusta

I liked the kind staff and the delicious food. I had the taquito vegano, a green tea and a dessert (cheesecake crumble with blueberrys). I will definitely come back to try the vegan ceviche!

Edit:
Came back for the tofu sandwich and the vegan ceviche and was not disappointed.
Visited almost everyday after spanish school.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-15

Pros: One drink is included in the meal, Very delicious, Very kind staff

Cons: The meals are not big, but its enough.

Velo

Points +2797

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Delicious, but small sizes

We tried their sandwich and burger, both of which were delicious, but the sizes are quite small for the price. People who do not get full easily will find this place very expensive.

happylittlevegan

Points +1471

Vegan
17 Feb 2023

Delicious food!

We tried the tofu sandwich, chickpea burger, kombucha, strawberry juice and an Argentina chocolate coconut cake dessert and everything was DELICIOUS! The sandwiches came with small salads and chips and two super yummy sauces to add onto our dishes. Super friendly service as well, definitely a spot to go for lunch if you are in Quito

Alli_H

Points +63

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

(Probably) Best Ecuadorian vegan Food in Quito

This restaurant is amazing! The food is delicious (we had empanadillas and ceviche as well as a cheesecake-like dessert). I would highly recommend to go there. Nice atmosphere and very lovely, open people working there. They are also selling some chocolates and desserts for to go. Don’t miss this cute cafe/restaurant, when you are visiting Quito!

mikkancso

Points +46

Vegan
20 Jan 2023

Amazing food

We had lunch here with a cake and cafe and everything was super delicious.

Pros: Very good taste, Kind staff

Cons: Kinda small servings

KerenPaola

Points +38

Vegan
06 Oct 2022

Deliciosos

Hamburguesa de garbanzo y cake de chocolate

Pros: Varias opciones , Delicioso, Económico

gabrieller

Points +198

Vegan
18 Sep 2022

Quito vegan food

Is great. We had only 2 days and enjoyed a wonderful vegan lunch.

SamMorris99

Points +141

Vegan
08 Sep 2022

deliciosa!!!!

me encanto el café con jengibre. todo fue fenomenal y las dueñas eran tan amables

Pros: 100% vegano , deliciosa , buenas ondas

marissandtim

Points +1582

Vegan
05 Jul 2022

Delicious vegan food

Really enjoyed their food. They have a small menu including a chickpea burger, a tofu sandwich, vegan ceviche, vegan tacos and a few more items. They also sell vegan cakes and cookies as well as peanut butter, jam and some other goods. Only small downside for me was that their portions aren’t the biggest but the food tastes really good.

Pros: Completely vegan , Friendly staff

Cons: Not the biggest portions

zoeyk100

Points +85

Vegan
13 Oct 2021

Still open, great coffee and dessert

This place is thankfully still open. Very nice staff, good dessert, good coffee. We'll be back to try the savory food.

vegan_ryan

Points +3865

Vegan
28 Feb 2021

Friendly but not our favorite

The staff here are really friendly. It's all vegan.
Despite that, it wasn't our favorite.

It's one of those restaurants where they take dishes you're familiar with and make big changes to them. I'm typically not a fan of that.

I love tacos, but I didn't love their tacos. My wife got a pasta dish that she saw someone else ordering, but she didn't love this either.
The carrot cake was pretty good. My wife's favorite dessert is tiramisu, and she said this one was just mediocre.

If you're looking for super healthy food that bears a resemblance to foods you ate as a kid, this is your place.
If you're looking for vegan versions of foods you love but don't want someone making big alterations to the recipe, this isn't for you.

Pros: All vegan, Friendly

Cons: Changed the recipes too much

LisaSpykers

Points +6750

Vegan
24 Feb 2021

A really cool cafe with tasty food

I had an excellent latte here while I waited for some take-away lunch. They have a great music selection and a really colorful and comfortable space. The food is on the pricey side compared to portion size but it tastes pretty good, especially the taquitos. The opening hours are a bit odd for lunch though: open from 1.30pm.

Pros: Cool cafe, Great coffee

Cons: Not many lunch options , Opens late for lunch

OskarKappland

Points +727

Vegan
27 Jan 2021

Amazing!!

The tofu sandwich and the desserts we had (tiramisu and carrot cake) were all awesome! Best find in Quito so far.

NonstopDan

Points +1397

Vegan
27 Jan 2021

Great surprise!

The tofu sandwich is spectacular! It doesn’t sound too special, but you must try it. Lovely marinated tofu and sun-dried tomatoes. For dessert, the tiramisu was among the best vegan tiramisu I’ve had. Loved this place!

Pros: Fully vegan, Affordable

Cons: Limited open hours

AntonTeplyy

Points +337

Vegan
17 Mar 2020

Amazing

This place is a diamond of the vegan food! I try only few things, and they were delicious! I will be back!

Pros: Vegan, Vegan desserts, they direct part of money to help animals

maryed

Points +16

Vegan
12 Dec 2019

Excellent

Quinoa pesto salad excellent - and well worth my walk from the historical district!

robertodb

Points +302

Vegan
20 Aug 2019

BEST PLACE IN QUITO - 10/10!!

I've been in Quito over 2 weeks and tried all the vegan/vegetarian restaurants on Happycow.

This place was BY FAR better than anywhere else, I would put it in top 5 vegan places I've eaten at in the world.

The food was fresh, extremely high quality and packed full of flavour. Everything I ordered was amazing and the vegan chocolate sponge cake was the best I've had anywhere in the world. Tofu sandwich with avocado and salad was so delicious, spicy bean salad just perfect, tuna style sandwich was one of the best sandwiches I've ever eaten anywhere on amazing bread, mind blowing peach cake and hand made chocolates that were the best ever eaten.

The place itself is lovely and clean, the staff are great people and there is a good energy. It's just a shame I found this place at the end of my trip otherwise I'd have been there every day. Well worth the 4km walk from where I'm staying!

Can't believe there aren't more reviews singing the praises of this incredible little place!! I can't wait to go back!!!

Pros: Amazing quality ingredients , Good pricing, Great staff

Cons: None

Angelifras

Points +181

Vegan
27 Jun 2019

Best vegan cafe in town!

Delicious lunches, the best desserts, great coffee! Family owned. Friendly and helpful staff. Good music!

Pros: Lots of vegan desserts. , Dishes consider nutritional needs and flavors! , Local, organic, fair trade, no food waste.

HGM

Points +236

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

My favourite cafe in Quito

This is my number one café in the La Foresta area of Quito which has a good selection of eateries for the vegan. Have a look at their Facebook page for more information and photos of cakes.

Este es mi numero uno café en La Foresta barrio de Quito, cual tiene un bueno seleccion de restaurantes vegano. Ha mirado sus Facebook de mas informacion y fotos de postres.

Pros: As all points listed above. Lovely staff., Toilets/Banos , Wheelchair/ mobility- issue friendly

Cons: No Wi-Fi




This page has been viewed 4685 times.