Vegan
Raw
Western
Juice bar
Gluten-free
Indonesian

Vegan restaurant set away from the main road. Serves local vegan dishes as well western style food, including smoothie bowls, pancakes, and other breakfast items. Confirmed reopened June 2022. Please send an update to HappyCow to confirm if the map marker is correct. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Vegan Soul Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

94 Reviews

First Review by felipereis

RunEatWorld

Points +2898

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Must visit

If you're on Nusa Penida you MUST visit here. A beautiful hilltop location with a nice breeze coming through. Huge menu of both Asian and western food. The tofu curry was amazing, and my husband, who only wanted something plain, loved the avocado toast. Juices were perfect. Great place for a chilled out meal or afternoon.

Advertisement

DevGoonesh

Points +158

Vegan
15 Dec 2023

Hidden Vegan Gem

Vegan Soul in Nusa Penida is a jackpot for vegans and foodies alike in Nusa Penida. Their menu? Oh boy, it's like a treasure trove of mouthwatering, healthy vegan options that'll make your taste buds dance with joy.

The prices won't burn a hole in your pocket, which is a huge plus considering the quality and variety they offer.

But here's the deal: Getting there by scooter in the late afternoon or evening might seem like an adventure, but trust me, getting back could be a bit of a challenge. The road is all forested and can get pretty gnarly, so keep that in mind before you set out.

However, if you're up for a tasty vegan feast and a little bit of thrill, Vegan Soul is totally worth checking out. Just remember to plan your return trip wisely – safety first, always!

Pros: Amazing tranquil garden, Super tasty vegan dishes, Average price range

Cons: It's middle of nowhere, No delivery

snozwanger

Points +280

Vegan
28 Nov 2023

Great food! Go during the day!

Portions were quite large, really delicious. We went at night but I would recommend going during the day because id imagine it would be a stunning view. It would be great on the way back from crystal bay. I had the budda bowl

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-28

marv_forever

Points +154

Vegan
01 Nov 2023

Go during the day

We’ve been there twice during our stay on Nusa Penida. The first time was after sunset and it was incredibly hard to find. Nearly turned back but we found it. The view is stunning and the food is good. Go there when on the island.

Pros: Vegan Burger

pestri

Points +2074

Vegetarian
17 Oct 2023

Coziest vegan restaurant ever

Awesome place in the heart of Nusa Penida, far away from the crowd. I loved the spot and its calm. Just for this worth a visit.
Menu is fairly extensive, including local dishes, bowls, and all day breakfast. I chose the tofu curry by recommendation and it was great, so was the orange and turmeric juice

vandermost

Points +1100

Vegan
17 Oct 2023

Heavenly

Such a nice location and good vibes! Smoothie bowl was yummy

HelgeStyler

Points +58

Herbivore
01 Oct 2023

Hidden gem with great sunset view

We found this hidden gem coincidentally. The staff is super lovely, they make great vegan food, they have a great view over the jungle - especially for sunset - and the prices are still very moderate for good portions (25k for Balinese Ice coffee with coconut milk and juices, 45-65k for main courses). We came back for dinner and breakfast 5 times. We can recommend the Ice Coffee, Juices, Smoothies, Bowls (both sweet and savory), toasts, as well as the Indonesian food (so everything we could try)

Pros: Western and Indonesian food, Nice view, Friendly stuff

Cons: Sometimes a bit too much sugar or salt

kirstyconnery

Points +713

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

serene

the venue, staff and food are all unreal! couldn’t find a fault and gutted i can’t go back! little bit out of the way but so worth the drive!!

Nathiii

Points +552

Vegan
20 Sep 2023

Nice location for Sunsets

The location is really beautiful and perfect for nice sunsets.
The food is delicious and the staff friendly.
Take away is also possible!

So if you’re in Nusa Penida you must visit this restaurant!

haus.reif

Points +362

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Great it's vegan, sad it's lame

We saw it on the map and were hyped for a vegan restaurant on nusa penida.
Lot of choices, fair prices, sadly not really special...
Good food anyway!

LivvyCropper

Points +400

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

An absolute gem

So glad we visited here. Surely must be the best vegan food on Nusa Penida. We enjoyed our breakfast so much that we returned for food in the evening too. Brilliant selection. Try the pancakes and the traditional indonesian food! Just gorgeous. The service was so friendly and the views at sunset were divine. I want to live here.

Pros: Delicious food, lots of options, Beautiful views, Reasonable price

bryonyhickson

Points +931

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

Worth the journey

Thoroughly enjoyed the veg noodle soup, lots of flavour and massive portion. Views and staff both incredible.

dalstonian90

Points +88

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Really disappointing, would not return

I really don’t enjoy giving a vegan place a bad review (especially one somewhere like Nusa Penida as it’s great to have the option) but my partner and I truly did not expect it to be so poor after checking out the reviews. We ordered the onion rings, which were strangely pungent and sweet. It might have been something in the batter, but whatever it was, it made them inedible. I tried picking off half the batter to see if they were more palatable that way, but the taste was still overwhelming. For mains I ordered the burger, which was okay (but the chips had that strange funky sweetness to them too) and my partner ordered the tofu curry. It was the blandest thing we’ve ever tried while eating out. Just severely underwhelming and poor quality overall, except for the iced coffee.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-08

Pros: The coffee, The views

Cons: The flavours , The quality of the food

Purposely_Vegan

Points +1254

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Best vegan restaurant on the islands off Bali!

This is an amazing restaurant. A wide menu with amazing offerings. The smoothies are unreal as well so definitely check them out!

Ponto

Points +70

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

Mit Abstand bester Laden in Penida

"Vegan Soul Kitchen" ist wirklich mit Abstand der beste Laden in Nusa Penida. Der Laden liegt etwas abgeschottet, wodurch man einen wunderschönen Ausblick und vollkommene Ruhe hat.
Die Auswahl ist riesig - von ausgefallen bis hin zu altbekannten Klassikern liefert der Laden ab.
Die Preise sind bei der Qualität in Penida unschlagbar und man hat meist den ganzen Laden nur für sich.

Von allen anderen Läden in Penida war ich maßlos enttäuscht und war wirklich kurz davor, die Hoffnung aufzugeben... bis ich diesen Laden entdeckt habe. Ein Must-Try in Penida!!!

Pros: Faire Preise, Tolle Aussicht, Große und gute Auswahl

marshininamina

Points +680

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

Amazing vegan place

We went there so many time during our trip.
We had the pumpkin pancakes almost every day 😂 there are absolutely delicious, the best ones we had in Indonésia. There are very soft and tasty. The banana pancakes were also good but not as good and soft as the pumpkin ones!

The juices are very nice as well

We also tried some dishes, the tempeh burger is 10/10, delicious!
We were very disappointed by the mac n cheese, there were the worst pasta I’ve ever had.. 😞 couldn’t find the cheesy taste at all
The gado gado was nice and the tempeh satay was ok

The prices are not so expensive in comparison with the others restaurants and the staff is nice!

Pros: Fully vegan, Pumpkin pancakes : must try

vegonugs

Points +1506

Vegan
12 Jun 2023

a must try on the island!!

well worth the drive since we were an hour away on the island, great location surrounded by beautiful jungle. order at the window and then it is made fresh for you! lovely structure made out of bamboo with great food , service , and friendly staff😄thank you for being the only vegan place in nusa!!! much appreciated

Nandini

Points +169

Vegan
11 Jun 2023

Lovely views and great food

A beautiful location with a bit of a detour but well worth it. Great views. Friendly service and plenty of choices on the menu.

The tempeh satay is worth trying.

Pros: Lots of options, Great views, Friendly service

gerrardould

Points +3303

Vegan
08 Jun 2023

Chill vegan restaurant

This restaurant is in the middle of the island and is so chill, away from the main roads and noise. So peaceful. Great food.

Pros: 100% vegan, Chill setting, Great food

JessDownard

Points +328

Vegan
18 Apr 2023

Fully vegan

So nice to come across a fully vegan resto on the island. Sooo much choice both western and Indonesian dishes. Decent prices and nice view! Husband had pesto macaroni which was really nice. I had the gado gado which was yummy but so much food it could have done with a little more sauce for the amount of food you get with it

Pros: Fully vegan, Nice setting, Loads of choice

BrittaScheid

Points +313

Vegan
14 Apr 2023

Best vegan food place on Nusa Penida

Here you get very delicious food with a nice view. I don’t understand why it hat 3 Dollar Signs, I felt like it was cheaper than the most other restaurants on Penida

Melinusch

Points +195

Vegan
13 Apr 2023

Loooooved it and the view is amazing! (Go by day 🌞)

This little hidden fully vegan restaurant is just so nice wirh an amazing view through the jungle till the ocean:
Our favourites are the buddha bowl with an amazing cashew pesto dressing, all the salads (so fresh!!!) and juices 🤩🤩🤩 and the pasta with pesto, as well as the satay.

The burger and sandwich were also nice but not as good as the other ones (our taste).

The staff is so kind 💜

If you are in Nusa Penida GO!!!

Pros: Fully vegan, Lots of delicious option, Nice staff

quirino

Points +1049

Herbivore
19 Mar 2023

Loved it

Very nice food and great location. Tempe satay is incredibly good… please don’t add sugar to the coffee without asking 😜 other than that, perfect.

JeroenBorghuis

Points +74

Vegan
16 Mar 2023

Beautiful place, lots of delicious vegan food

Great view on the subset and tropics

Selina_nsw

Points +3489

Vegan
07 Mar 2023

Worth the way

What a hidden gem surrounded by pure nature. It's a bit off the path but still easy to reach. We came here only 2 times but definitely would have come more often if it was more in our area. In total we had 5 dishes. Pumpkin soup, BBQ tempeh sandwich, and tofu curry are all decent but our absolute recommendations are the dragonfruit smoothie bowl and the Gado Gado. My boyfriend, a non vegan, said the dragonfruit smoothie bowl was the best one he has ever had. The Gado Gado was the first one I've ever tried and it was amazing. Dipping the fried tofu and tempeh in the peanut sauce was an explosion of taste. You can't miss going here during your stay in NP!

HappyPineappleKix

Points +1070

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

Awesome spot

Worth the drive to get there as the food is amazing and location is awesome. Everything is also very well priced.

Mxpet

Points +437

Vegan
25 Jan 2023

Good and ok experience

First day we were here the food was amazing. First time in SEA that spaghetti with pesto really tasted good. Second time I had the fried tofu and this was really not tasty...
Staff is very friendly, cool location ( but far from the main road) and Overall good food.




This page has been viewed 10104 times.