Vegan Picnic

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 17 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

1977A Union St, San Francisco, California, USA, 94123

Vegan deli offering hot and cold sandwiches and groceries. Uses plant-based replacements. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-7:30pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Fast food, Take-out, Bakery

17 Reviews

First Review by kristianbauer

over priced - Edit

Absolutely a gimmick. Small portion for mega money. Tastes was ooo kkkkk. Don't waste you money.

Pros: vegan, cool location , friendly staff

Cons: small portions , over priced , not fresh tasting

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Guiltlessly Delicious and Addicting - Edit

Just love The Crispy Chicken and VP Meatball. I should try the other sandwiches, as soon as I get over my addiction from the two.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan dream - Edit

amazing food served by amazing people!!! A place to feel comfortable to enjoy your food love it and totally recommend it

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

incredible! - Edit

Loved this place. I got the salami sandwich with the macaroni salad on the side and it was out of this world. Their jelly filled donut was really good too. The cole slaw wasn't my favorite so I'd recommend getting the macaroni. Boyfriend got the crispy chicken sandwich and it was ok - a little heaven on the sauce. The grocery portion is awesome too. They have hippeas which are my fave. And vegan jerky that tastes great and has good texture. Super nice staff too!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

'egg sandwich' - Edit

As a non vegan on holiday with my vegan boyfriend I have been trying out as many vegan places to eat as possible and my eyes have really been opened. This place was fantastic, I can't believe my 'egg' sandwich was not egg. Tasted so fresh and the portion size was amazing. The caramel cookies were a dream.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AMAZING!!! - Edit

Every sandwich I have had from Vegan Picnic is so good! The chicken sandwich and caprese in particular are out of this world. They also have a great selection of pantry groceries and cold groceries. Great feeling to be able to pick out anything on the shelves knowing it's vegan. They also have gluten free items.

Pros: great sandwiches , great selection , staff is very friendly

Cons: none!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Absolutely amazing - Edit

I'd love this place! They have the best burgers I have ate ever. I couldn't believe it's vegan.

Pros: taste!, nice look

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/Micha%C5%82Szulczewski">MichałSzulczewski</a> <br/>Chrispy chicken <br/> September 2, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/300262'>Report</a>

Chrispy chicken

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow, so delicious. - Edit

Straight to the point, their crispy chicken sandwich is now one of my favorite sandwiches in SF. It is impressively delicious, I am really in awe of how well curated the meat replacement is and overall the amount of flavors packed into this guy. For those making the transition to a vegan diet (like myself), their menu is loaded with familiar picks from traditional non-vegan cuisine, therefore allowing for a more comfortable, anxiety-free offering.
Now to the real kicker. My significant other is very much a meat lover, and still taking her time to transitioning to the vegan lifestyle. Previously she was a HUGE fan of gourmet crispy chicken sandwiches like the one served at Salumeria in Mission. She was extremely impressed with Vegan Picnic's alternative take.
I highly recommend checking out Vegan Picnic. I look forward to trying their special Chicken and Waffle sandwich and cupcakes!

Pros: Less than 5 minutes wait for food, Familiar cuisine, Very friendly service

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/EricMiller">EricMiller</a> <br/>Crispy chicken sandwich. Incredible! <br/> August 28, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/298069'>Report</a>

Crispy chicken sandwich. Incredible!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Perfect lunch - Edit

Great spot for a filling lunch, kids are well. Deserts were excellent. Price was typical for good vegan food.

Pros: portion size

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

BEST FISH FILLET EVER - Edit

I wish I could have gotten more food here because the fish fillet was SO good. My non vegan family even said they couldn't tell it was vegan. Along with the sandwich was a side of macaroni salad which had little bacon bits. I also got a donut which I had been craving for two weeks. This was the highlight of my visit to San Fransisco.

Pros: Inexpensive, quality food., Friendly service.

Cons: Navigating San Francisco., Opens at 11:30 AM

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/rowley.poly">rowley.poly</a> <br/>Fish fillet and macaroni salad <br/> July 27, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/285680'>Report</a>

Fish fillet and macaroni salad

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/rowley.poly">rowley.poly</a> <br/>Fish fillet <br/> July 27, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/285679'>Report</a>

Fish fillet

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/rowley.poly">rowley.poly</a> <br/>Donut <br/> July 27, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/285678'>Report</a>

Donut

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good (Not Great) Food, But . . . - Edit

I'm so glad to have a vegan option in that part of San Francisco. Yay! And the food is good (but not great), particularly the "chicken" sandwich.

But . . . the food is pricey for the serving size. In particular, the sides that come with the sandwich (either coleslaw or potato salad) are tiny - a couple of bites total. Given the prices, I shouldn't leave hungry. But I did.

Also, it's annoying to eat in. They don't have plates and don't offer water. So you're trying to eat your sandwich out of this little bag - good luck if it starts to spill.

I really hope this places makes it. Please increase the serving size and make the in-dining experience better.


Updated from previous review on 2017-06-30

Pros: Good Food

Cons: Pricey for Serving Sizes, Poor Dine In Experience - No Plates, No Water

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

These are some REAL sandwiches! - Edit

Great spot for a seriously good sandwich--whether you want hardcore veggie "meat" or something a little more tame, this place has you covered. Only open since Feb 2017, they've already got a great following with vegans and non-vegans alike in the fashionable Union Street neighborhood. We opted for their two biggest sellers, the mock chicken and the mock steak sandwiches, both served hot with great toppings and amazing hallah-style sandwich bread. All I can say is yum! The store also has a full selection of gluten free sandwich options, as well as a great selection of all-vegan groceries, juices, and ready-made fresh items. There's only seating for about 6-8 people so it's mostly take-out but a very cool space. We love to support vegan restaurants, especially when they are this good!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious! donut stole the show... - Edit

Such a tasty and bright little spot. I had a "steak" sandwich with both the sides (mac salad and cole slaw) and a custard donut to go. Holy moly! The sandwich was very good, with a tasty horseradish sauce, and the mac salad took me by surprise. But the donut was mind blowing! Apparently they come from another bakery named Frena. I will absolutely be seeking that place out before I leave SF. Such a delicious lunch!

Pros: everything was very tasty!, dear God the donuts

Cons: pricey, I think I gained 3 pounds

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/kgrizzle">kgrizzle</a> <br/>custard donuts ? <br/> June 9, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/267159'>Report</a>

custard donuts ?

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sandwiches are to die for - Edit

These gluten free and vegan sandwiches were to die for! I had the bomb and caprese sandwich. They also stock a range of vegan products on their shelves as well.

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/Carla.Rowe23">Carla.Rowe23</a> <br/>Sandwich <br/> June 6, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/266183'>Report</a>

Sandwich

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good for Gluten free - Edit

Vegan Picnic is perfect for anyone eating gluten free they have a wide selection of gluten free items on the menu and they use a bread called Bread SRSLY which was the best gluten free bread I had ever tasted. Overall the food is good and the staff are friendly. The one downside is the lack of seating.

Pros: many gluten free options , good sandwhiches , friendly staff

Cons: very little seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great - Edit

Working across the street from here for the day. Had the crispy chicken sandwich. Lots of lettuce, tomatoes and sauce on it. Looking forward to coming back.

Photo of Vegan Picnic  by <a href="/members/profile/Forman">Forman</a> <br/>Crispy chicken sandwich all vegan tho <br/> April 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/87046/250099'>Report</a>

Crispy chicken sandwich all vegan tho

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great for a quick bite - Edit

Got a chicken sandwich with mac salad side. Ate at the front on 1 of the 4 stools overlooking Union St. Great meal and relatively inexpensive. Would def come here again!

Pros: Easy to grab a quick bite

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to San Francisco Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegan Picnic closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1124 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support