Vegan Joe's

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 16 reviews )
Contact
0289053723
Find

Rua de Portugal 47, Loule, Portugal, 8100-082

Vegan restaurant offering a concise, weekly changing menu. Est. Feb 2017. Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-2:30pm, Fri-Sat 7:00pm-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Western, Take-out, Portugese

16 Reviews

First Review by sussexbunny

Vegan choices - Edit

Restaurante acolhedor, muito bom atendimento!
Tem várias opções Vegan, tem sempre um prato especial todas as semanas!!
As sobremesas.. São deliciosas, em especial o lava cake 😍

Cons: Not expensive

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 09 Mar 2018 - Olá João. Obrigado pela classificação e pelas palavras agradáveis! Até breve  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

definitely go - Edit

Fabulous food, great service, cute atmosphere, and inexpensive. Highly recommend!

Pros: all vegan and delicious

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 05 Feb 2018 - Hi! Thank you very much for the review! Hope to see you again  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful meal, highly recommend - Edit

Lovely meal, great staff and delicious all around. We had veggie tempura, 'crab' cakes, burger and it was some of the best vegan food we had visiting portgual.

Looked like most people booked but we showed up at the right time.

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 29 Jan 2018 - Hi Sarah! Thanks a lot for your review and kind words! Hope to see you again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great meal - Edit

You have to try the lava Cake. Everything was well done. We ate the vegan burguer and the soy chili. I recomend.

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 13 Jan 2018 - Hi Miguel! Thanks for the review and for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing meal! - Edit

It was a really nice diner! We had two starters that were incredibly tasty the spring rolls and the tempura vegetables. The main dishes were the menu of the week, which my boyfriend referred like “eating clouds” cause the chickpeas and the purée were so smooth; I ate the joe’s wraps which were good with nice crispy sweet potatoes fries, only wished that the wraps were warm! To finish this delicious meal two deserts, the apple crumble that was good but a little cold like it was out of the fridge and the avocake that was absolutely perfect...couldn’t taste better, really!! An overall amazing, tasty and chilled meal!

Pros: Food quality, Surprising dishes , Cozy ambience with a selection of books to read!!

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 06 Dec 2017 - Hi! Thanks a lot for your review and kind words! Hope to see you again soon!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

Nice vegan restaurant in Loule - Edit

I came across Vegan Joe’s when I was searching for a vegan restaurant as it was one of the few options in the nearby. It is run by a nice Portuguese couple. Their place is located in center of Loule. The space provides a cozy, relaxed environment to have a simple lunch or a romantic dinner.

They have a nice selection of different dishes on menu, from traditional Portuguese remakes to Mexican “chili sem carna” to burger to delicious desserts. The burger with sweet potato chips is my favorite! They sell fresh fruit juices and seasonal herbal teas as well. I wished there was a raw meal on menu and if they had English menu. The staff speaks perfect English so that is not an issue though.

Pros: friendly, English speaking staff, WIFI, good value

Cons: Portuguese menu, No raw meal option

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 08 Nov 2017 - HI. Thanks a lot for your review and comments! We are glad that you enjoyed your Vegan Joe´s experience. We will deffinetely work on some raw dishes. Hope to see you soon  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ok, not very good - Edit

Cheap prices, but plates are somewhow unbalanced - i.e. I ordered the Vegan Grill and seen no greenies on my plate - only onion.. Tofu had a "strange" taste, as if it was expiring due date soon. I was hoping a lot better.

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 27 Sep 2017 - Hi Miguel. Vegan Joe´s chef and owner here. Thanks a lot for your review and your opinion.

That seems strange, as our Vegan Grill comes always with grilled Curgete, Onions, Mushrooms, Yellow Peppers and Tomato so it adds such colours as white, green, yellow and red to the caramelized Tofu, Seitan and Soya seasoned with mustard BBQ sauce. As our standarts are pretty strict I find that your Vegan Grill didn´t had any of these things pretty impossible. Have you kept any photograph so I can have a word with my staff?

Tofu stays for a day on a 3 citrins marinate (orange, lime and lemon) with a little bit of agave. Maybe that´s the kind of flavour that you are trying to describe as "strange".

Was there any other dish that you have found to be "unbalanced"?

Thanks and hope to see you again  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really disappointing - Edit

It's been a while since food was so bad I refused to pay for it, but at Vegan Joe's it happened. It started well with a starter of dips, which wasn't bad at all... BUT then I decided to surprise myself with their 'typical Portuguese dish', which is officially fish with salad (consisting of carrot and some other raw stuff) and deep-fried stick-chips... I expected a vegan replacement for the fish, but nope... they left the fish entirely out! What is left then is a plate full of shredded carrots and some deep fried stuff. Are you kidding me? If I'm at home and I don't feel like cooking I come up with something better than this.

I explained this to the staff and they felt embarrassed and agreed with me not paying... but I really hope they took this as a lesson and will grow from there. I'm happy Loulé has a few vegan options and I'm the first to support any vegan initiative, but we gotta focus on quality too.

Cons: Food really bad, The place lacks atmosphere and decoration, No outdoor seating

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoe'sRestaurante 07 Sep 2017 - Hi. Vegan Joe's chef here. First of all thanks a lot for your review and for your visit. I am very sorry that you didn't fully enjoyed your experience. Althought, I think you didn't understand the dish which is called Alho Francês Á Brás.

Typically this dish is made with cod and this recipe calls for leek, which has the same depth of flavour as the cod do. This is not a Michelin star dish, nor a special, neither a Vegan Joe´s signature dish. This is a dish which was veganized, and yes, very easy to make and also a lighter option for our clients who are not very hungry or don´t have much time on their lunch break, and actually non vegan people love it. For this reasons, and mainly in this case, I don´t think it´s fair to judge a restaurant based on one dish.

Also, our staff didn't feel embarrassed, neither do I for having a simpler option on my menu. I am actually happy that you didn't payed for the dish that you didn´t like, I wouldn't too. But I think things could have gone in a different direction if you had talked to us about it the moment you realised you were not happy with your meal. Our staff is trained to advice depending on our clients tastes.

Again thanks for your review, and hope to see you again.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sitio excelente - Edit

Restaurante muy acogedor, los trabajadores muy agradables, ya que no hablabamos el mismo idioma hacian todo lo posible y con humor por entendernos. La comida buenisima y muy bien de precio!😋

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

We went back for a second time! - Edit

Friendly staff and tasty food. Each time we visited we had at least two mains, dessert and wine for around 26€. The food is beautifully presented and with lovely flavours. We recommend the bruschetta and the quinoa burger, it was pretty impressive. An extra perk it's that the wine is great too.

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-19

Pros: 100% vegan, Great choice, Friendly staff

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoes 19 Jul 2017 - Hi! Thanks a lot for coming back and for this amazing review! Hope to see again soon some time!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely vegan restaurant - Edit

Very friendly staff, very clean restaurant. Excellent starters, mains a little too large (vegan is also about consuming a little less). Deserts are delicious. Well presented. Recommend 100%

Pros: lovely vegan restaurant

1 Response
Read More

VeganJoes 19 Jul 2017 - Hi! Thanks a lot for you visit and review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

loved it! - Edit

The food was really good, I'm not a fan of beetroot but I even ate the salad with beetroot. Nice staff and great dishes.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A treasure - Edit

Great food. Great atmosphere. Great staff. You must try this place.

Pros: All vegan. Well designed menu. Helpful staff. Very

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely! - Edit

The place is really nice and peaceful (not the hippie type). We got take away and the food was ready in about 10 minutes. I found everything to be very tasty.
Would recommend to anyone in the area, specially because this one is fully vegan! :D

Pros: Nice atmosphere, Friendly staff, Tasty vegan food!

Cons: None that I remember

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +24

Best vegan restaurant we've found in Algarve! - Edit

Lovely food, nice staff, very reasonably priced, and the town of Loule is worth a look whilst you're here. We've eaten from here 4 times in a week so would definitely recommend!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Beautiful Vegan Restaurant - Edit

Things are really looking up in the Algarve.
Vegan Joes is a lovely new restaurant in Loule.It is welcoming,the staff are kind and friendly and they all speak perfect English.They are happy to take time to talk to you and to explain the menu.
The food is delicious,prepared with great care. And reasonably priced.
Everything is home made.A varied choice of about 4 starters and 4 main dishes.We ate a tasty lasagna plus a regional dish,adapted to become vegan.Both highly recommend .lovely wines and dress juices.
Can't wait to return!!

Pros: Imaginative tasty well prepared food, Welcoming English speaking staff, Reasonably priced beautifully decorated restaurant

Cons: NONE!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Loule Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegan Joe's closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1185 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support