Vegan Flava Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 12 reviews )

Find

306 W Franklin St, Ste G, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA, 27516

Menu offers dishes like curried lentils, kale salad, sweet plantain, red beans and rice, potato salad, and faux fish cakes. This is the 2nd location of this cafe, located in the Blue Dogwood Market. Black-owned. Open Thu 3:30pm-7:00pm, Fri 2:00pm-7:00pm, Sat 1:00pm-7:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-4:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Organic, Fast food, Take-out, Catering

12 Reviews

First Review by hollybarney1

Vegan_ACL

Points +1250

Vegan
15 Nov 2021

Super accommodating

We came with a group of 25 people and they couldn’t have been more accommodating or quick with our large group. What’s better? The food was AMAZING. He is a magician in the kitchen. Highly recommend!

zmvuillermet

Points +40

Mostly Veg
20 Sep 2020

so yummy!

all the food is so good, i love the coconut rice and the bbq jackfruit! my family isn’t vegan or vegetarian, but they loved it!

lanasmom1993

Points +137

Vegan
01 Aug 2020

Wow so delicious

I got the mock fish cakes on coconut rice with the kale salad (one of the Saturday specials) and WOW it was so tasty and flavorful and interesting, I will be going here much more often

Advertisement

pritchstan

Points +5256

Vegan
27 Jun 2020

Over 1hr wait for a to-go order

Decent food, love to support black owned businesses, decently priced.

The only downside is it took over 1hr (when they told us 40min and we arrived late) for our lunch order on a Saturday. We are pretty certain they forgot about our order. We hope they are able to work out the issues and get a more reasonable wait time. We would not return for this type of wait time.

$11 Fish cakes with quinoa and coconut rice (half and half) and a side kale salad
        FIsh Cakes: Only available on Friday and Saturday. We were told they are a popular item. We have never had fish cakes before and they were good.
        Quinoa and Coconut Rice: We asked for half and half bc we weren't sure what we'd like better. We preferred the coconut rice.
         Kale Salad: This came as a side with the Fish Cake special. We really enjoyed the kale salad. It had a good flavor.

$8 Large Mac & Cheese (listed as $7 online) : We were disappointed. The mac & cheese is flavored with a curry seasoning or something and it doesn't really taste like Mac & Cheese.

$6 Berry Flava 16oz: Disappointing, not a lot of flavor, didn't finish.

$6 Island Flava 16oz: Better than the Berry, but main flavor is bananas.

The smoothies have 'alkaline' water in them and it tasted like there was seltzer water in the smoothie which also diluted them.

*They use paper straws, paper bags. Other containers are plastic cups and to go containers sadly

If we return we'd like to try the tacos or taco supreme salad.
Parking: There is a lot near Jimmy John's which is also shared with the market.

Pick Up/Payment: Due to COVID-19 when you arrive for your order they ask that you call. They bring out your food and use an iPad for payment. However they don't have wifi in the parking lot so they take your card and run it. We would prefer a different system such as calling in the card number or at least have the option.

Pros: Price

Cons: Slow wait times

DietraDalton

Points +22

Vegan
29 Jan 2020

Delicious!!!

Great atmosphere and amazing customer service! So many options to choose from and everything was delicious. I will definitely be back and hope the open a location in Fayetteville!🤞🏾

BallroomVegan

Points +204

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Yum!

What a great find! I had an incredible meal with great service in a very cool setting. Highly recommend!

Pros: Delicious food, Warm and wonderful owners, Interesting setting

OliyDany

Points +86

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Best Mac n cheese!

Service and food are great, I highly recommend the Mac n cheese

Pros: 100% vegan, Great service , Mac n cheese

AndrewYu

Points +17

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2019

Excellent!

Great place with excellent food and wonderful service. The gentleman that made my meal really wanted to know how the food was and actually gave a free sample of a dish he was making. Really hope that this pace makes it.

penguin066

Points +42

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Hip Location with a Variety of Food Options

Very nice people here and delicious food. Will be going back to try different dishes, so many choices! I had the three tacos filled with all sorts of delicious vegan things and beans. They were very filling, I should have stuck with just two. A few different vegan options in the same little shopping spot. Good if you have some picky people with you.

Pros: Other options close by for picky eaters

Cons: Butcher in the same vicinity

SamanthaBarber

Points +59

Vegan
04 Jun 2019

so good and friendly owners

their cheesecake was delicious!

RavenousRabbit

Points +271

Vegan
22 Sep 2018

Fast, friendly, healthy & tasty!

We’re in Durham for a wedding and decided to make the trip to Chapel Hill area for this new spot. Glad we did! Mother in law gave us a newspaper article (c’mon, she’s 70 something) about this place and it did not disappoint! Good portions, rich flava for being so healthy. Felt energized, but satisfied. Recommend the faux seafood wraps (wrapped in Nori) and faux fish cakes.

Pros: VEGAN, Fast, Friendly

hollybarney1

Points +16

Vegan
25 Aug 2018

Very good!!

It was yummy!! There was a butcher shop with raw meat in the viewing area right next to it, if you’re sensitive to that. Yet, they were very nice and serve samples of the food. Also there are many vegan restaurants and options around this area! Btw, it’s inside of the dogwood market.

Pros: Their vegan fish tacos are very good! , Very nice people running it!, Lots of different vegan options around this area!

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chapel Hill Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegan Flava Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2598 times.