Vegan Chay

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 75 reviews )

Find

Volkartstrasse 70, Munich, Germany, 80636

Vegan restaurant serving Vietnamese cuisine as well as vegan sushi. Est. 2019. Pho, fried tofu, curry, mock duck, stir fried udon, and rice paper rolls are among the savory options. For dessert try cacao mochi or banana sticky rice.
Note May 2020: confirmed open for outdoor dining and delivery.
Note December 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Mon-Fri 11:30-14:30, Mon-Sat 17:00-22:30, Sun 13:00-22:30.

Categories: Vegan, Japanese, Delivery, Take-out, Asian, Vietnamese

75 Reviews

First Review by HannahvonW

clarebear0324

Points +54

Vegan
25 Nov 2021

Best panna cotta

Overall tasty food and friendly staff. We tried a few different sushi rolls and a dish with vegan duck. Their best items that I was really impressed by were the desserts.

InesLöhr

Points +84

Vegan
23 Nov 2021

Extrem gut!!

Die Suppen und das Sushi (alles Vegan) sind perfekt.

meejisu

Points +351

Vegan
23 Nov 2021

It was good

Too many similar menus, a bit salty for me but vegan duck and shrimp was interesting to try

Pros: All Vegan, Difference Vegan protein options , Friendly staff

Cons: Food is good but not amazing

Advertisement

PatrikBird

Points +289

Vegan
23 Nov 2021

yum but nothing too crazy

quite tasty and big menu. especially the mock meat variety is huge! I don’t mind paying more if the food is worth it… but I felt it’s a bit too expensive for what you get.

Pros: very quick, friendly staff, a lot of mock meat

Cons: pricey

Pawel

Points +20

Vegan
22 Nov 2021

The food is good, but not exceptional.

Start accepting card payment or at least update Happy Cow to inform customers in advance.

Pros: Good mock duck

Cons: Don’t accept card payment

ViolaWi

Points +192

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Great!

Had a very tasty mango salad as a starter and a tofu/vegetable main dish. The food was fresh and delicious. Service was great. In summer it had nice outdoor seating.

Updated from previous review on 2019-06-04

LucasRodi

Points +169

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

Delicious

We ate here in Oct. 21 and had delicious Asian meals and a pleasant evening.

Pros: All vegan, Nice staff, Good food

gregorbttp

Points +110

Vegan
12 Oct 2021

Amazing vegan food

Easily one of the greatest places I've ever been to. Fully vegan with an astonishingly big menu to choose from. I went for the vegan duck and was certainly overwhelmed.

Pros: Amazing food, Big menu, Outdoor seating

SophiaAnna

Points +206

Vegan
08 Oct 2021

Vegan duck curry and plenty of options

As the reviewers before said, the vegan duck is fantastic. I never had real duck but apparently it comes close to the original. They serve a lot of different curries with different protein to choose from (Vegan duck, vegan beef, tofu...), so there are really a lot if options. We chose the peanut curry which was tasty but a bit to thin for me. Summer rolls were also good

canshnee

Points +240

Vegan
14 Sep 2021

Einfach klasse

Lecker, schnell, gemütlich. Sehr empfehlenswert!

SimonTheVegan

Points +32

Vegan
05 Sep 2021

Perfekt von Anfang bis zum Schluss

Hammer Essen und sehr freundliche Kellner*innen! Die vegane Ente war erstaunlich lecker und knusprig.

Pros: Extrem viele vegane Gerichte, Keine langen Wartezeiten

Cons: Etwas teurer aber noch ok!

switlana

Points +338

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Super lecker

Ein gemütliches Restaurant mit viel Auswahl an veganen Speisen. Das Restaurant is jedem zu empfehlen.

Pros: Viele vegane optionen

FrancescaDante

Points +80

Vegan
16 Aug 2021

Overpriced

We ate good food but not worthy the money. Maybe we chose the wrong things... The vegan chicken and the tuna/salmon in the sushi were very tasteless.

gearsforqueers

Points +848

Vegan
14 Aug 2021

Great food!

It's been a couple of years since we were last here but this was one of our favourite places we ate in Munich. The food was fresh and well cooked and the mock meat was incredible.

MarinaFeurer

Points +80

Vegan
07 Aug 2021

Authentisch & super lecker

Sehr leckeres veganes Restaurant mit großer Auswahl. Die vegane knusprige „Ente“ ist sehr zu empfehlen.

aniiita

Points +81

Vegan
14 Jun 2021

Opening hours are wrong! It IS open at lunch time!

Nice and friendly service, great food, everything vegan. Next to a street but it’s very quiet

Pros: Everything is vegan!, Food tastes great , 3 lunch options for about 7-8€ including starter

Cons: Dinner meals are somewhat expensive

LilacHippy

30 Jun 2021

Hi, thank you for the information, I have corrected the hours. Sending in an update in to us is usually the best way. :)

TsaarVan

Points +15

Vegetarian
13 Jun 2021

Delicious & Charming

My sons and me ate starters, main dishes and deserts on a mellow summer evening outside. The dishes were all delicious, the staff friendly, the clients nicely mixed, and everything quite charming. I will come back!

Pros: Tasty food, Relaxed terrace, Friendly staff & clientd

Cons: None, None, None

Judge87

Points +21

Vegan
13 Jun 2021

Leckeres Essen und zuvorkommende Bedienung

War mit einem Kollegen, welcher zum ersten Mal veganes Essen ausprobiert hat, in diesem Restaurant Wir saßen an einem Zweiertisch vor dem Restaurant in einem ansprechend hergerichteten Außenbereich. Wir wählten eine Vorspeise und als Hauptgang das rote Curry mit veganer „Entenbrust“. Das Essen war lecker und wir konnten nochmal kostenlos Reis nachbestellen. Man hätte beim Essen noch etwas mehr mit den Gewürzen spielen dürfen und die Präsentation bzw. die Anrichtung verbessern können für den letzten Stern. Es war jetzt keine Offenbarung, doch das Preis-Leistungsverhältnis stimmte hier, das Essen kam schnell und die Bedienung (sehr freundlicher Herr mit Brille) war ausgezeichnet.
Mein Kollege war begeistert und möchte gerne wieder vegan essen gehen. Geschmack geht halt immer noch vor Argumente, wenn man andere Menschen für eine vegane Ernährung begeistern möchte.

Pros: Freundliche Bedienung, Kurzfristige Reservierung möglich, Gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

LuciaSophieFiegel

Points +507

Vegan
09 Jun 2021

Delicious food but cash only

Really good food, nice service

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-09

Pros: Plenty of different vegan dishes

Cons: Cash only

vegandesi.res

Points +336

Vegan
05 May 2021

very lovely and fresh food :-)

ordered the first time today and we all loved the food of Vegan Chay. It was freshly cooked and so delicious

Pros: all vegan restaurant , fresh food, lovely meals

ReviloTimchs

Points +136

Vegan
31 Jan 2021

Super lecker zum Mitnehmen

Wir haben telefonisch aus einer großen Auswahl bestellt, es wurde uns in umweltfreundlichen VYTAL-Behältern übergeben. Schnelle Zubereitung, freundlicher Kontakt und das Essen war mega lecker. Besonders die Kakao-Mochi zum Nachtisch.

Pros: Riesen-Auswahl, Top Qualität, Gute Preise

Dandido

Points +1166

Vegan
05 Nov 2020

Delicious vegan "duck"

I went here for dinner with some friends.

The place was pretty small and beautifully decorated with paintings and more. The lighting was normal, so there wasn't really a cozy vibe at all. Nevertheless I liked the atmosphere of the place. 3/5

There were tons of options to chose from on the menu - it was almost a bit overwhelming. We spent a long time deciding what to pick. In the end I had a vegan duck dish, a miso soup and a tuna nigiri - just because I was curious what their vegan tuna would be like.

Vegan Duck with sweet&sour sauce: Tasty! 4/5
Miso Soup: Tasty! 4/5
Tuna Nigiri: Looked nice but had no flavor. 2/5

All-in-all I was satisfied with my meal, and so was everyone else that I was with (all non-vegans).

I'd be happy to go here again sometime and try something else.😄

UPDATE:

Went here again with a friend and was again very satisfied. This time I took the self-rolling Vietnamese spring rolls and the fried banana balls for dessert. It all tasted great! Also, I wasn't sure how rolling my spring rolls worked so I asked the waitress and she was so kind taking her time showing me and even rolled my first spring roll😄Great service!

I am updating my rating to 5/5. I am happy that this place exists and would definitely recommend it.

Updated from previous review on 2020-09-28

a_christina

Points +381

Vegan
22 Oct 2020

Okay

We had the vegan duck in peanut sauce, which was really good. The chicken on the other hand was a little squishy and rather tasteless. The mochis were good, but nothing special.
Overall it was okay, but didn’t meet our expectations.

Umbridge92

Points +62

Vegan
15 Oct 2020

Best Asian Ever!

My non vegan aunty and I went there for dinner! Its a cute little place, the owners are super nice and make you feel very welcome. The Food was just amazing!! My aunty is not vegan, and she is very picky, she usually never really enjoys my food, but she LOVED eveeerything we had. We shared the tom yum soup, spring rolls and gyozas. We both were so excited about all the amazing flavours, the food is SO GOOD, wow! The sauces they make are next level,honestly never had even as a not yet vegan, such delicious sauces! The main meals we had (vegan duck with rice and i think some kind of lemon grass sauce and beef with with some sort of thai basil sauce was just incredible. The beef was nothing special (the only thing we didnt enjoy that much) but the sauces are honestly the best I EVER had. For me its a 10/10 and I will definitely come again. My aunty also said we can go again, so it omnivore apporved 👍

Pros: ALL VEGAN, FAKE MEAT IS REAL GOOD, INCREDIBLE SAUCES

gaia0205

Points +207

Vegetarian
13 Sep 2020

Best place ever

Best vegan meal ever had! The fake duck was INCREDIBLE and even the fake beef was really good. The vegan sushi too was impressive. I had a really great time and I can‘t wait to go back.

Pros: Only vegan options, Staff was really really nice, Really really tasty

goldieB

Points +63

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Vegane ente!

Eine meine top3 fav veg restaurants im München, und Mann kann auch bestellen!, Aber draußen ist nice

Pros: Vegane Ente, Hahn, gamberi, etc, Gesundes essen, Fürveganer und non veganer

Cons: Preise sind ok

KouykSideral

Points +46

Vegan
11 Aug 2020

Tasty !

We were four, had six starters and four main dishes, everything was really good, from the « duck » in peanut sauce to the sushis.
The service was really good, nice and no waiting time (unlike other comments, so maybe it improved !)
The terrasse was really nice, we really had a good time.
I highly recommand !

Pros: Lots of options, Nice terrasse , Tasty authentic food

Cons: Cash only

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Munich Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegan Chay closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9979 times.