16 Reviews

First Review by Brit_in_nature

Superb - Edit

Outstanding food. Great drinks list. Lovely staff. Agree with previous reviews that decor is harsh. It doesn’t encourage you to linger (which may be the point!). But highly recommended for everything else.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

Cannot fault this restaurant. Everything is vegan and awesome. Food arrived quickly and staff were friendly. A million stars.

Pros: Amazing food, Great service, Lovely environment

Cons: Nothing, Nothing, Nothing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Do it! - Edit

This place is 100% vegan. Amazing food! I eat there regularly!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan fiod - Edit

This is a great vegan restaurant in North Hobart. Modern, relaxed atmosphere, although decor is a little harsh and industrial and could do with some softening up. It has great food however. I ate here a few time when visiting Hobart and everything I tried was delicious. Lovely friendly staff too. Highly recommended

Pros: Yum food!!!, Some really healthy options, Friendly staff

Cons: Industrial devor, Cold because of decor, No other cons

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, but style over substance - Edit

My partner and I ate at Veg Bar for a celebratory meal, as it seems to be one of the most popular vegan places open for dinner in town. When we entered, we were struck by the decor. A lot of thought has clearly been put into the design of the place and it's definitely something a bit different.

The process of ordering was easy (though we were a bit disappointed one of the specials we were hoping for was sold out) and the food came out quite quickly.

While the burgers we ordered definitely tasted very nice, there was a noticeable element of style over substance in the food. To give the most obvious example, the burgers came on coloured buns. While this is cute and not, in itself, a problem, the buns of one of our burgers was a little bit gummy (for lack of a better word), and both could have used a bit of toasting.

The prices weren't particularly expensive, they were what I would consider to be standard restaurant prices, but there are certainly better value vegan options around.

Overall, I'd recommend Veg Bar not just for the food, but for the overall experience, but I don't think I'll make it a regular part of my dining repertoire.

Pros: Good food, Funky ambiance, Good location

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/necius">necius</a> <br/>Chocolate tart at Veg Bar Hobart <br/> September 13, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/303876'>Report</a>

Chocolate tart at Veg Bar Hobart

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/necius">necius</a> <br/>Burger at Veg Bar Hobart <br/> September 13, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/303875'>Report</a>

Burger at Veg Bar Hobart

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/necius">necius</a> <br/>Burger and fries at Veg Bar Hobart <br/> September 13, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/303873'>Report</a>

Burger and fries at Veg Bar Hobart

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not good first impression - Edit

I came in at a not busy time. I found the menu confusing and the ordering process was not clear. The prices looked high and I wanted to ask what the meals consisted of. I was looking around for staff to help but the only two people I could see were busy chatting to each other and not paying any attention at all to what was going on in the restaurant. I left without ordering anything. I might go again one day who knows but sheesh when you are new restaurant in town you really want to greet every person who walks in the door and make sure they are on the page.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Unhappy vegan Cow - Edit

Sad to report we didnt enjoy our meals. The meals were very expensive for the content and quality. Staff didnt genuinly want to hear feed back, had loads of poor excuses. Was noisy annoying 'music', not a place to relax, read, or have a conversation wirh a friend. pretty much hype that doesnt deliver. Such a shame, we really wanted to enjoy it but felt conned out if our money. Have to order at counter and pay when ordering, felt a bit like a fast food factory.

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-23

Pros: Promise of vegan food, Good location, longish hours

Cons: Expensive for quality, Ordering at counter stressful. discourages questi , staff just doing job and dont care about problems

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hobart's top vego spot - Edit

Extensive and varied menu with something for everyone ranging from satisfying comfort food (burgers and fries/sweet potato chips) to wholesome and healthy bowls. Relaxed and informal dining make it an easy choice for a casual dinner with friends and family. Service is fast and friendly and meals come out really fast. Flavours are great and meals are always satisfying. Nice sweet treats too as well as cocktails. No bookings and always ample seating.

Pros: extensive menu, satisfying meals, ample seating

Cons: a bit pricey , North Hobart parking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Loved it! - Edit

I LOVE this place. The nachos were my favourite.

The only downside is there are so many things to try, and I got too full to eat it all!

Great for casual dinners with friends or colleagues.

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/TamaraNadine">TamaraNadine</a> <br/>Veg bar wall <br/> July 9, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/278133'>Report</a>

Veg bar wall

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/TamaraNadine">TamaraNadine</a> <br/>Vegan burger <br/> July 9, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/278132'>Report</a>

Vegan burger

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/TamaraNadine">TamaraNadine</a> <br/>Cocktails <br/> July 9, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/278131'>Report</a>

Cocktails

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cool furnishings, decent meals. - Edit

Nice place, liked the decor and atmosphere. Friendly staff and quick service. The meals were good if not amazing. The serves are unevenly sized - the burgers are small for the price while the bowls are pretty large, some sides will be necessary here, doggy-bag needed there. The flavours are good but not really strong enough. The coloured buns are fun, but not especially flavoursome. It's pretty new, think it'll be great in time.

Pros: Tasty, nice place, good staff, good food.

Cons: Uneven meal size, not always great value, could be

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Interesting Choices - Edit

Friendly staff with a lot of variety. The place is a really cool set up. We liked our vegan options and thought the flavours were great. However not everything is vegan unfortunately.

Pros: Bright and modern.

Cons: Not everything is vegan.

1 Response
Read More

HeidiLumsden 15 Oct 2017 - Everything is vegan lol you need to read the menu properly  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

disappointed - Edit

Wish i could rate only 1 star.
Over priced.
Lacks in taste and size.
Run by meat eaters.
Serve cow milk in coffee on request.
Not completely Vegan.
Very disappointing.
We won't be back.

1 Response
Read More

Rosiecow 23 Jul 2017 - Saw this yesterday and should have listened. i thought i would take a cgance and try myself. Was terrible!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veg bar - Edit

Not vegan they serve animal products.

Pros: okay staff.

Cons: Super expensive.

1 Response
Read More

HeidiLumsden 15 Oct 2017 - It is vegan, you need to read the menu properly :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wanted to love it but it fell a bit short - Edit

The place look awesome. Great vibe, great decor, interesting menu. Unfortunately myself and my 2 friends were disappointed with the flavours of the food. I had the kale ceasar salad which had delicious kale chips on top but the salad itself had too many dried olives on it and made it really salty. Another friend got mac cheese but it seemed to be too sweet and not made with nutritional yeast to give it that nice cheesy flavour. She also had the buffalo cauliflower which was really oily but spicy dipping sauce was awesome. My other friend had the gumbo and it really was just rice and stew. We would give it another go and hopefully the flavours improve as they get feedback and are open longer

Pros: All vegan, Its got a cool design inside, some really interesting sounding dishes

Cons: Flavours just not quite right

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Funky and delicious - Edit

This place is great - very large with a funky vibe. Food is all plant-based (except honey-mustard sauce?) and delicious. Loved the 'southern' (cauliflower) burger and cauliflower 'buffalo' wings. Great drinks too. Not just for vegans - everyone will love. And very welcoming staff. Be sure to try it.

Pros: burgers, welcoming staff, delicious drinks

Cons: having to order at the counter, honey is not from a plant

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Finally!! - Edit

A fun, bright new restaurant with an incredible menu filled with an array of burgers, bowls, finger food, cocktails and smoothies. Everything I have tried, I have loved. Having veg bar normalises vegan dining in Hobart.

Pros: A range of healthy foods that feel satisfying, Bright modern design, good location

Cons: No smoothies after 1700, Could do with a bigger dessert menu

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/Brit_in_nature">Brit_in_nature</a> <br/>Mexicali bowl, nachos with pulled jackfruit, cauliflower buffalo wings <br/> April 7, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/245577'>Report</a>

Mexicali bowl, nachos with pulled jackfruit, cauli...

Photo of Veg Bar Hobart  by <a href="/members/profile/Brit_in_nature">Brit_in_nature</a> <br/>Mexicali bowl, loaded fries with pulled jackfruit and cauliflower burger <br/> April 7, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/89286/245575'>Report</a>

Mexicali bowl, loaded fries with pulled jackfruit ...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hobart Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Veg Bar Hobart closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 627 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support