CLOSED: Veg Art Natural Food

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 21 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

Calle Los Cancajos, Aptos Las Olas C3, Breña Baja, La Palma, Canary Islands, Spain, 38712

Small cafe and health store. Offers vegan lunch food and snacks to take away or to eat on the terrace. Confirmed closed, July '20.

Categories: Vegan, Juice bar, Take-out, Bakery, European, Spanish

21 Reviews

First Review by SageCanaday

KasparsWorld

Points +17

Vegan
11 Jul 2020

Permanently Closed

Since June 2020 the restaurant is permanently closed. So sad.

Sven365

Points +41

Vegetarian
18 Feb 2020

Loved it!

Very nice cafe/restaurant with tasty meals. We had salads, spaghetti, gazpacho and desert and we loved it. Healthy food and very kind owner. We recommend eating there!

Pros: Tasty , Healthy , Organic

MathiasHäbich

Points +34

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Great vegan food, nice owner

This place offers a great range of warm and cold vegan dishes (not sure if it is 100 % vegan). I absolutely recommend the Amazing Wrap and the Bread Combo! The owner is very nice.

When we were there, the owner wasn't able to open the bistro on time because of an emergency which — I suppose — also prevented her from preparing some things in advance, which in turn was probably why we had to wait some time for our orders to be taken and delivered.

Pros: great range of vegan food, very tasty, nice owner

Cons: not sure if 100 % vegan, might take some time

Advertisement

ElHectorLatino

Points +42

Vegan
04 Oct 2018

Pequeño pero grande! / Small but big!

Al visitar el restaurante nada me dejo indiferente. Desde el primero momento la recepción fue calida y agradable. Me sorprendio que un sitio aparentemente sencillo pudiera tener una carta tan extensa. Me sente en la terraza y decidi por la baby salad, fresca y ligera, el pate de pesto, sabroso sin estar fuerte y la lasagna, quizas la mas digestiva y ligera que haya probado nunca. Acabe lleno pero no pude irme sin probar la tarta de fresa y comprar unos dulces para llevar :). En la medida de lo posible todo es ecologico, natural y hecho a mano por eso lo recomiendo tanto si eres vegano como si no. Y de paso tu salud y la de los animales lo agradezceran!

After visitig the cafe, everything got my attention. From the begining I was received warm and kindly. I felt surprised about how such a small place can have such a wide range of products. I sat on the terrace and chose the baby salad, fresh and soft, basilicum pesto, tasty but not salty, and the lasagna, soft and digestive. I got full but couldn't leave without purchasing some sweeties to take away😄As long as It is possible all the products are organic, natural and homemade, that is why it is recomendable even If you are not vegan. Also not even your health but animals will appreciate it :).

Updated from previous review on 2018-10-04

Pros: 100% Vegan (excepto algun cruasan, caramelos,...), Amabilidad, Variedad

Cons: Ubicacion (En un sitio mas céntrico seria una mina, Pequeño en el interior

Veggae

Points +23

Mostly Veg
01 Jun 2018

The One and Only Vegan/Vegetarian

The lady running the place is full of passion about (mainly) vegan and vegetarian foods. She offers many dishes and still is always in the process creating new ones. She serves warm and cold dishes and will provide you with fresh sandwiches the next day when you will need it for some day excursion. I can recommend many of her dishes , but what comes to my mind spontaneously is the chick pea burger and the lasagne. I wish her, her assistant and vegart all the best and hope they can keep up the vibe for many years to come.

Pros: Fresh and Tasty Meals, Super Friendly

Cons: A Bit Slow

Luapske82

Points +240

Vegan
31 May 2018

Very nice, and as good as 100% vegan

Very friendly owner, who deserves to be supported in her mission to get the locals to eat more vegan! We're hoping she will succeed!
The menu is large, maybe too large. It was difficult to decide on what we wanted. But the owner helped us out.
Food is almost 100% vegan. There is only one cake on the menu that has egg in it, but the rest is fully vegan. Big plus!
One downside, hence the 4 star rating: there is too much salt in the food. Plant food is so delicious without the added salt!
Salad and smoothie were great though!
Price/portions ratio is very reasonable.

Pros: (almost) completely vegan, only vegan place in the eastern part of la palma, friendly owner with a mission

Cons: too much salt used, menu is a bit overwhelming

Tururú

Points +167

Vegan
05 Apr 2018

Ok for once...

Food was ok but prices are not canarian standard. We payed 27€ for two persons eating very light lunch and desert. Portions are small and the menu wasn't clear enough, neither prices or ingredients as they use what they have/want not what is written on it. Smoked salad with tofu wasn't smoked neither were tofu on it.... dressed very simple.
Staff really tried to be nice but in my opinion they weren't focused and a bit messy. Missing some serious dedication

Pros: Only vegan in the area, Terrace

Cons: Price, Portions

richhorn

Points +70

Vegan
09 Mar 2018

Fantastic

Lovely little place serving delicious food.
Imaginative menu, prepared with great care.
Good prices and portions.
Nice cakes too.
More a cafe than a restaurant.
The lady that runs it is very passionate about her food and attentive.

Updated from previous review on 2018-03-09

StephaneRuf

Points +23

Vegetarian
23 Feb 2018

bonne adresse restaurant et épicerie vegan

Très bon accueil et conseils,les plats sont bons et vegan
Je recommande

nonnawood

Points +41

Vegan
03 Feb 2018

Great place

Owner is super friendly and can customize every dish to your likings. Great food and atmosphere!

Pros: Many vegan options, organic and local products.

Cons: No longer vegan. Sells baked goods with butter and

gary@fullworks.com

Points +25

Vegan
29 Nov 2017

oasis on an oasis

Simple cafe but great selection
It's important to know it opens from 10.00 until 17.00

Not 11.30- 16.00 as stated

Pros: food very fresh and nice selection, nothing a problem when I wanted to swap different , great juices

Cons: not open in evening as it's the only Vegan place I

AngelineMarsland

Points +18

Vegan
30 Aug 2017

WOW

Made an account just to write this review!!
The woman was so kind and really creative with my request. I had just come off a long fast and this was the perfect indulgence, I ordered so much I had to take some things to go!!

Pros: Very healthy, real food, Affordable price, Great atmosphere, close to the beach very relaxing

Cons: Slowish service (but worth it)

WholyGoodness

Points +41

Vegan
15 Mar 2017

A haven for Vegans on La Palma

If you've made it to the beautiful island of La Palma be sure to give Veg Art a visit. We tried many things on the menu and our favourites were the Tortilla, GF pizza and the antipasti plate. It was also great to stock up on chocolate and snacks for our adventures around the island. Check google for the most up to date opening hours.

Vegantraveller2016

Points +16

Vegan
18 Jan 2017

Brilliant

Had a really good hot meal here. Excellent food enjoyed at a quiet table outside. Can't recommend it too highly. Just a shame that I only managed to go on the way to the airport which is nearby and very convenient. Will certainly visit several times next visit to the island.

MariaMaria1607

Points +60

Vegan
04 Jan 2017

Great place with delicious food

perfect place with delicious cakes, hummus, sweets etc. with very friendly personnel

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

30 Dec 2016

Excelent vegan food!

We had the chickpea buger with a delicious salad, the calzone, lasagna, tortilla, the Russian potato salad, some smoothies and some pastry (carrot cake, brownie, raw cake), in two visits, and liked it very very much! The pricing is very reasonable.

The owner is a very nice lady with whom you can have a nice conversation! The store itself looks very nice and products that are gluten free are clearly labeled.

It's very nice to see a 100% vegan place at La Palma, I would absolutly advice you to pay her a visit!

AnaEatsPlants

Points +1578

Vegan
08 Aug 2016

Beautiful vegan food in their cafe

Absolutely delighted to find this place. At the time of writing it is the only 100% vegan place on the island, so a real gem of a find! It's within walking distance of the main hotel areas - set back of the main (quiet) road.
We popped in here on the way to the airport and bought a salad and quinoa/beet burgers to go. Really tasty and beautiful energy. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. There is a small, but lovely selection of freshly prepared cooked and raw vegan food, both savoury & sweet. I was thrilled that they offer mainly gluten-free options too. My husband did have a homemade spelt bap with his and I had raw crackers.
They have a small health food store, which is really handy.
Can't wait to go back soon.

Pros: 100% vegan, beautiful energy, great location

AudreyF

Points +13

Vegetarian
08 Jul 2016

Great veggie burger and fresh fruit & veggie smoothies.

I'm here in the Canary Islands on a combination vacation/work. First time I stopped in I knew I'd be a regular while I'm still in town. When it came time to leave the island, I chose some specialty vanilla, spices and olive oils for cooking in addition to special oils for the skin to give as gifts (and to gift my self, too).

Pros: fresh and organic ingredients, quiet peaceful setting on patio, good value, prett, health care & take-home cooking products too.

Cons: small, would not be able to seat dozens of people

MangoEd

Points +16

Vegan
08 May 2016

The vegan place to visit

Happy to find a vegan place on La Palma island. The vegan owner hopes to bring more diversity in the standard diet of the Island. Be prepared to be overwhelmed by the available options. We tried the burger, soup, salad and pizza along with some smoothies and ended up with more snacks in the car.

SandiNypaver

Points +20

Vegan
04 May 2016

The Vegan Gem of La Palma!

Wonderful, healthy, vegan food! It was so great to find this gem while traveling! The owner is also very kind and you can tell she really cares about the quality of the food she serves.

SageCanaday

Points +13

Vegetarian
04 May 2016

The place for vegan/plant-based eating in La Palma

My girlfriend (vegan) and i walked upon this place (much to our pleasant surprise!). Super great selection of healthy smoothies, tapas, salads and full meals including (my favorite) quinoa /hummus burgers with a "cheese" spread and tofu protein options as well. Owner is super friendly, speaks several languages and is passionate about the quality of the food. She also made desserts and other great vegan snacks. We've been there 2 days in a row now and will be back tomorrow!

Pros: excellent selection of plant based food, smoothies and full meals and desserts, friendly and passionate owner

Cons: hard to find and limited seating, food prep took some time

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to La Palma Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Veg Art Natural Food closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3407 times.