• Van Leeuwen Ice Cream - Rock Center

  • (24)
    36
    Loading...
  • Ice-cream Ice Cream

Ice cream company found 2008 in Brooklyn and operates parlors and trucks in multiple US cities. Advertises both dairy and vegan ice cream, which you could get in a shake, sundae, cone, or as ice cream sandwich. Uses cashew and coconut as base. Some of its outlets also sell baked goods and coffee. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Van Leeuwen Ice Cream - Rock Center
© OpenStreetMap contributors

24 Reviews

First Review by Poundie

iamdavidjung

Points +172

Vegan
07 Feb 2024

Many really tasty flavors

lots of delicious different flavors. I had "Choc chip cookie dough" and "churros & fudge" with the "hot fudge" topping. It was incredibly delicious!

Advertisement

croffi

Points +531

Vegan
06 Jan 2024

More vegan options than non-vegan; delicious ice cream!

Van Leeuwen thoroughly impressed me with the large menu of vegan items as well as with the fact that all of the toppings are vegan, including vegan whipped cream. The price is a bit high (e.g $11 for sundae with two scoops of ice cream), however, not outrageous for NYC. Staff was very friendly and let me try as many flavors as I wanted.

Pros: HUGE list of vegan ice creams , Seating inside , Unique flavors

Cons: A bit pricey

kakkar

Points +47

Vegan
04 Dec 2023

Van Heawen 🍦

The biggest problem with this place is that you're so spoilt for choice that it's really difficult to decide. Seriously though, the staff was super patient with us (I'm especially impressed because we're in the heart of NYC) and even allowed us to sample from their many vegan flavors 🫶🏻

Pros: The Staff's Patience 🙏🏻, The Sheer Choice 🤌🏻

Cons: Dairy is Scary 🐮, Sugar Crash 📉, $6🍦

acd-ott

Points +62

Vegan
14 Oct 2023

Great Vegan Flavor Variety

We each ordered a vegan sundae. The flavors were really good, there were several to choose from, including the toppings. Sometimes this can be a challenge when an ice cream parlour doesn’t have enough vegan variety or only has sorbets… Our server was helpful and friendly. Really made our day.

Pros: Variety of vegan flavors, Friendliness of server, Location!

Cons: Very sweet, had to walk it off!

NayeliAbrego

Points +2261

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Best ice cream

Love all their ice cream and been to so many locations 😆 Love their Planet Earth flavour.

Pros: Delicious flavours, Great texture, Good portions

chicagodesi

Points +31

Vegetarian
12 Jul 2023

Great place

Had Sicilian pistachio and vanilla bean! Great vegan menu

Pros: Vegan options, Tasting, Lot of flavors

Cons: Small, Not enough seats

maharg

Points +51

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Vegan friendly ice cream

Lots of vegan flavors and toppings. I'm not big on ice cream but the sorbet was delicious.

Pros: Lots of locations

JemiB

Points +280

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

Delicious and refreshing

It’s expensive, but wow is it good!! Super creamy and lots of choice.

ChelaLandau

Points +1440

Vegan
26 May 2023

Wow!!! Just went on a sugar high!

This is so worth the calories. After having watery vanilla ice cream at Blossom we came here to find some really good ice cream and we were not disappointed. Try the vegan cookies and caramel swirl, you will not be disappointed.


Updated from previous review on 2023-05-26

Pros: Delicious vegan ice cream and toppings, Large vegan selection

Cons: Not entirely vegan establishment

keanuluvr

Points +153

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

BEST VEG ICE CREAM!

stumbled upon this place when wanting to kill time. although it’s not a fully vegan ice cream place, it has a ton of options (like 11-12ish) with a lot of variety. i got the seasonal flavor… blueberry w matcha cake chunks!! ugh so good! also has vegan whipped cream topping which is rare to see

Pros: lots of vegan options , very good , rotating menu

7thSonOfA7thSon

Points +87

Vegan
09 Mar 2023

Delicious vegan milkshakes

Loved the milkshakes, and there's a huge selection.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options

Cons: Milkshake was a bit small, Fairly pricey

ScottCline

Points +2699

Vegan
28 Feb 2023

Shake!

I loved the gingerbread shake made with oat milk. I am so glad that Van Leeuwenhoek has vegan ice cream and shakes!

Pros: Vegan ice cream options- can be made into shakes

Cons: Pricy

christinara123

Points +105

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

Amazing ice cream sandwich

The ice cream sandwich is so yummy! Their cookie is vegan by default and they have lots of vegan ice cream flavors!

woodlewis

Points +441

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

Incredible sundaes

I love the variety of vegan flavors as well as how they use a mix of coconut milk, cashew milk, sometimes oat milk, to make a really creamy, great texture. Big fan of the mint chip, and cookies and cream caramel. The mini sundae is a good deal comparatively, still all expensive. Love the hot fudge, whipped cream, and cookies and cream crumble as my 3 toppings- other great options. Pints to go as well. Can ask for a kiddie scoop (not on menu) so that you can get dessert but not be too full.

LLO

Points +211

Vegan
08 Nov 2022

Great flavor options.

Great flavor options. Line wasn’t too long. Highly recommend the pb honeycomb

Pros: Lots of vegan flavors , Sundae options

veg-ann-again

Points +147

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Creamy and good

Had cookie dough vanilla and something with chocolate

Pros: Good vegan options , Authentic ice cream

Cons: Expensive , No vegan waffles or cones

trouvien

Points +289

Vegan
05 Apr 2022

Lots of options for vegans!

They have a separate menu board with a good variety of vegan flavors, including special limited-time flavors, which is nice to see. I ended up having a sundae, but it was hard to choose against options like a shake, cone, or float. It was surprisingly busy for a late, chilly night, but there's never a bad time for ice cream. Recommend checking it out!

vandalsence

Points +148

Vegan
03 Apr 2022

Not a fan

Not very good taste, place isn't very clean, staff wasn't very friendly. Okay at most

debizg

Points +237

Vegan
26 Sep 2021

Delicious plant based flavors

Absolutely scrumptious! Love the options and creaminess.

SybilMitchell

Points +66

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

So many choices!!!

Equal amounts of vegan vs. reg flavors!

Pros: So many vegan options , HOT FUDGE!!!!!

Cons: None that I can see

zombiegutz

Points +239

Vegan
24 Jun 2021

cute location

love grabbing some ice cream and walking around 5th ave. very happy they are continuing to cater to vegans in both their stores and with their grocery store pints

Pros: lots of yummy flavors

mzlanna

Points +191

Vegan
25 May 2021

Great vegan ice cream selection

Was craving ice cream for my scenic walk back to hotel and stopped here. Was quite surprised the variety of vegan options they had. Oatmilk and cashew based and I think almond. I also like how they let me sample because a lot of places back hone have stopped because of covid precautions. I opted for the oatmilk brown sugar hunk and Pb Brian honeycomb. I more of a vanilla with nuts type of gal but I decided to go all out why not!! A tad sweet for me but still very good. The only negative is they don’t have the oks school
regular flaky wafer cones the ones that u can wait to get to bottom. Yeah those they don’t have only the waffle cones Which I did buy but not as good

Pros: Great variety of vegan flavors

Cons: No flaky wafer cones

lise.nox

Points +235

Vegan
19 May 2021

delicious sundae

the vegan options were so good. i got the two cookies flavors, cookies and cream, and chocolate chip cookie dough — the sundae called for coconut whipped cream and chocolate sauce on top. they ran out of walnuts that day so they replaced them with rainbow sprinkles. so good! you can even bring ice cream home with you, since they have ice cream buckets to sell to-go.

Pros: delicious vegan options

Poundie

Points +13066

Vegan
24 Oct 2019

Ice Cream in Rockefeller Center

This is a chain ice cream store with a bunch of vegan flavors. The ice cream tastes real good, and there is a (limited) seating, though I suppose most tourists to NYC would rather buy a cone and walk around the area.

Pros: Good vegan ice cream, friendly staff

Cons: Seating is merely functional.




This page has been viewed 2840 times.