V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 116 reviews )
Contact
+44-1618393883
Find

20-26 Edge St, Manchester, England, M4 1HN

Vegan cafe, bar, grocery and record store. An all-vegan junk food diner serving burgers, hot dogs, mac 'n cheese, drinks and much more. Also has sweet treats. Previously 'V Revolution' on Oldham Street, moved to it's new, larger premises in November 2016. Now also serves fries and a range of alcoholic drinks. Gluten Free available. Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm. Kitchen shuts 9pm. Closed due to flood damage - please send updates.

Categories: Vegan, American, Organic, Western, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Bakery

116 Reviews

First Review by CottageCupcakeCo

fantastic vegan restaurant - Edit

We love eating at v rev . The food , place and staff are excellent. The burgers are so tasty and they have an excellent choice of drinks . We booked before we went and glad we did as it got busy on a Saturday afternoon.

Pros: everything , burgers , draft beer

Cons: nothing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Currently closed due to flood damage! - Edit

As of September 28 2017, these guys are closed due to flood damage. Check their social media before going to see if they've reopened!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

another AMAZING junk food vegan place! - Edit

The thing that stood out the most was that it was table service - most places with a similar vibe are all 'order at the counter' style service. The people here are all really lovely and go out of their way to make you feel welcome!
The atmosphere was buzzing and the food was next level.
It was absolutely incredible, we had a chickn burger and I the 'beef' with cheez, mac n cheez sticks and some amazing milkshakes on the side.
Easy to find too
Lovely place

Pros: Really qwerky setting , City Centre location , they sell ALCOHOL

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/edajoir">edajoir</a> <br/>YAAASS <br/> September 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/307681'>Report</a>

YAAASS

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/edajoir">edajoir</a> <br/>Omg <br/> September 24, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/307680'>Report</a>

Omg

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Place. Great Food - Edit

This has become my favourite hangout place in the heart of Manchester city centre. Really good fast food diner with helpful and friendly staff. It was reassuring to be told that everything on the menu was vegan and to enjoy truly guilt free eating experience. I wish every place was this good.

Pros: great food, great staff, relaxing atmosphere

Cons: sides

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Non vegan review - amazing! - Edit

I'm not a vegan, but if all vegan options tasted like this then I definitely would be! It was soooo good , very filling. Definitely recommend anyone to try this vegan or not vegan

Pros: Food, Filling, Atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointing - Edit

I went on Sunday afternoon for lunch with my bf and was very disappointed. I've been vegan for 5 years and eaten in my fair share of vegan places and the food here was pretty shocking. Don't understand how it's got such good reviews?!

We ordered the chick'n and fake beef burgers and loaded chips and they were so greasy, sauces were too sweet and my seitan chicken was underdone - like squishy and unappetising. Disgusting and at almost £10 for a meal for one, outrageous prices.

So many other delicious places to eat in Manchester. Not recommended.

Pros: service, location, speed

Cons: price, taste, cooking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Proper dirty vegan fast food... Mmmm - Edit

This is my bf's favourite place so we end up going here quite a lot... The menu has changed a bit recently, with some tasty new options added like the popcorn chkn and deep fried mac n' cheez balls - both very tasty. But the best things on the menu are the long standing burgers. Basically any of the burgers are delish, but the chkn ones tend to have a bit more flavour because they're deep fried :D lol

They have lots of milk options for coffees, lattes, milkshakes etc, including oat, almond and rice milk.

Cakes and brownies are delish - IF they have them, as they are quite often sold out by the evenings.

This place is also dog (and cat) friendly!

Pros: Pet friendly - take your pooch!, Tasty food - proper dirty burgers, Always adding new items to menu

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/Libbytes">Libbytes</a> <br/>Stuffing his face! <br/> September 12, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/303617'>Report</a>

Stuffing his face!

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/Libbytes">Libbytes</a> <br/>Chkn burger (Guac one) <br/> September 12, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/303616'>Report</a>

Chkn burger (Guac one)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

almost too realistic vegan meat - Edit

this place is pretty cool. it looks like an american diner and also smells like one. they have many classic junk food options to choose from, all vegan of course.

i tried the singer (chicken) burger and the ribs. I haven't eaten meat in 16 years, so I might not be the best too judge, but for me the meat was VERY realistic. even too realistic. so it's a great place for vegan meat lovers.

Updated from previous review on 2017-09-06

Pros: cool decor, openly pro lgbtqa+, very realistic fake meats

Cons: the meat might be too realistic for some people

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/pyza">pyza</a> <br/>jerry zinger + fries
ribs + mac and cheese <br/> September 6, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/301639'>Report</a>

jerry zinger + fries ribs + mac and cheese

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cool everything! - Edit

I loved the food as much as the interior. Great vibes and a good menu selection. Perfect place for anyone who loves vegan junk food. I'm only here for a few days and I plan on going back at least once.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

woow - Edit

Very cool place

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Northern Quarter treat - Edit

Great cafe for a lunch when shopping in Central Manchester, based in the trendy up and coming Northern Quarter, V Revolution holds its own with all the other places. The menu does confuse, but once you realise that it's all Vegan, the ordering is simple. Great food, but slightly pricey.

Please bring back the Helvis Presley

Updated from previous review on 2015-02-19

Pros: Easy reach of City centre, Friendly

Cons: a tad expensive, but not massivly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great vegan junk food - Edit

Came here with two other vegans for dinner, it's small and quite busy so recommend booking a table. The burgers were really nice, and had great desserts too.

Pros: good food

Cons: slow service

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/tiggyh">tiggyh</a> <br/>burgers, fries, coleslaw and mac n cheese <br/> August 23, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/296151'>Report</a>

burgers, fries, coleslaw and mac n cheese

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan American in Manchester - Edit

This is a great american fast food place and is my go to in Manchester.
The burgers are always top notch at V Revs, and the chips are always crispy on the outside fluffy inside. The milkshakes are sooo good, way to big for me on my own so i usually share between two people :)
and their bbq sauce is off the charts.

It's not quite the same as it was before it moved from Oldham street... The vibe is very different, feels more corporate I guess? Depending on what day you go the staff can be hit and miss with how genuine they feel. It doesn't have that grungy Manchester feeling in the mix so much any more which is a bit of a shame. Maybe just go at a less busy time?

With all that said you definitely should go, because even if you have to wait a tad longer for you food at the busiest times of the day and even if you get a waiter/ress that seems like they aren't trying their hardest, the food is still the best vegan junk food i have had in the world. (so far :P)

Pros: Best vegan food in Manchester?, lgbtq+ friendly toilets, still good food

Cons: service is hit and miss at new location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice selection - but not over the top burgers - Edit

I stopped by during my visit in Manchester as it was so highly rated and I longed for a good vegan burger (which is surprisingly hard to come by in my current home town Copenhagen).
After a 45 min wait (for which the waitress started to apologize after 30 min and offering a free drink) I finally got my 'BBQ without U'. The burger was ok, albeit everything was a bit lukewarm. Similar the fries - I felt the had been sitting in the basket for a while, waiting for the burger to be prepared, getting a bit cold and limper than they might have been at the beginning (but since they must have started off pretty great, they were still very ok).
The only thing that really bothered me, was the taste of the ketchup and mustard on the table. Both of them tasted somewhat.. off... too vinegary maybe..
I imagine some of the shortcomings in preparation quality was due to the busy kitchen (although the restaurant was not completely full when I came in).
Unfortunately, I didn't find the 'over the top' burger experience that other reviews had been promising - but it was good enough and quite filling. I guess coming a little off-peak hours might have improved the experience :-)

Pros: Big all-vegan selection of burgers, (In principle) great fries

Cons: Long wait (when busy), Lukewarm food (when busy), Weird ketchup..

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan junk food heaven! - Edit

Ordered the Mac dog, and the ribs with Mac and loaded fries, everything was so delicious and realistic to what I remember non vegan junk/fast food tasting like! Also got the Oreo milkshake which was more like Oreo milk cause it was kind of watery, but still delicious. Just be warned, you will not feel your best coming out of this place... vegan junk food is still junk food!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food heaven - Edit

Oh my Glob, the food in this place really is something else. Absolutely delicious! I had the BBQ ribs with mac and cheez, which was the best meal I've had in a long time. My other half had the Jerry Zinger burger, which was equally delicious. The milkshakes are to die for and their cocktails are tasty and very reasonably priced. Service was great and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Manchester.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-10

Pros: Great selection of dishes, Lovely staff, Tasty cocktails, good selection of drinks

Cons: There isn't a branch in Edinburgh

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/fords">fords</a> <br/>The Dude Abides (vegan White Russian) <br/> August 10, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/291185'>Report</a>

The Dude Abides (vegan White Russian)

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/fords">fords</a> <br/>Chocolate Oreo milkshake <br/> August 10, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/291184'>Report</a>

Chocolate Oreo milkshake

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/fords">fords</a> <br/>BBQ ribs, mac and cheez, rainbow slaw <br/> August 10, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/291183'>Report</a>

BBQ ribs, mac and cheez, rainbow slaw

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

holy sh*t - Edit

Honestly, the best vegan food I've ever had. The menu was quite big and the food was simply amazing! The first place I'll be going when I'm back in Manchester!

Pros: the food , the atmosphere

Cons: the service (dirty glasses, rude staff)

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/JadeO%27Neill">JadeO'Neill</a> <br/>hot damn  <br/> August 7, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/290083'>Report</a>

hot damn

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The tits - Edit

I've been here many times and I love everything, it's basically vegan law to go here please and thank you

Pros: Tasty food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome! - Edit

American style food with none of the guilt.
Everyone is super friendly and the place has a super cool vibe!
Humorous menus makes you wanna try them all!

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/ShannaMendon%C3%A7a">ShannaMendonça</a> <br/>Strawberry Milkshake  <br/> September 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/306726'>Report</a>

Strawberry Milkshake

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

junk food at its best - Edit

Just love this place ! Try the return of the mac !

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

what a burger! (chicken) - Edit

Awesome little place.
The staff were super friendly and the draught beer really works!

Pros: cool vibe, intimate, excellent vegan American diner style

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

decent fast food - Edit

the staff was friendly and attentive, food was good and served quite fast although the place was busy.
tbh i expected a bit more options, the menu was quite small but that also made the choice easier ;)

they don't have cakes anymore though, which was a bit of a disappointment for me but we had an oreo milkshake to satisfy our sweet tooth. ;)

i really liked the atmosphere, especially the wall art and the fact that their toilets are "all gender", so the owner(s) seem really lgbtqi+ friendly :)

Pros: nice staff, loved the atmosphere, creative dishes

Cons: no cakes :(

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

super friendly staff - Edit

Went on a saturday, place was packed out with a queue. Staff were great from start to end. Very welcoming and good customer service throughout. There was a slight issue with the food timing (believe they had missed out order off sequence in the kitchen) but the staff communicated this well and we were offered complimentary milkshakes (which at over £4 a pop were greatly received!). Would definitely come again when we visit Manchester !

Pros: friendly staff, awesome shakes, communication throughout from queue to bill

Cons: very busy at weekends (would be worried if they we

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worst restaurant I've ever been to!! - Edit

If you want to be ignored by chattering girls, wait an hour and a half for your food (for it to then be brought out cold) and the have to wait again for them to replace it then this is the place for you. Place was filthy, dirty bar with dirty glasses all over, wasn't asked if we wanted drinks once. We actually had to get a waitress twice for drinks cause they were too busy gossiping. Worst meal I've had in a long long time... absolute hole!

Pros: none what so ever..

Cons: cold food, useless staff, dirty restaurant

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bit disappointed - Edit

This place has an absolutely amazing menu so I was really excited to try it. I left a bit disappointed though to be honest - I thought it was all quite bland - v heavy on the creamy and fried stuff, but not much else to cut through that. I think this place could be amazing if they just ramped up the flavours a bit more. The seitan chicken burgers just didnt really deliver in terms of texture or flavouring for me. The menu like I said is phenomenal, I just think it needs to pack more of a punch flavour-wise, even if that means cutting down the number of options. Although saying that the place was packed and it was mid afternoon, so it's clearly doing very well. So give it a go by all means. It's not a bad meal by any stretch of the imagination - it's just perhaps a bit more underwhelming because the menu promises so much

Pros: Very good menu, Clean toilets

Cons: Bland food, Quite rubbishy on service front, Big emphasis on aesthetic, not enough substance

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the old v rev place was far better. - Edit

the burgers arent the same. really not a fan of the seitan burgers. hel vis Presley and a chikn burger werent good like before. the cookies n cream milkshake was good thou. Also the being seated and waitress taking order i dont really like.

Pros: everything's vegan

Cons: being seated like sardines.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good value and exciting - Edit

It's refreshing to be able to choose ANYTHING you want from a menu and none of that be salad.

I had the Buffalo 'chicken' seitan burger with loaded buffalo fries and a shared side of deep fried pickles. My friends and I then shared 3 desserts between all of us.

The food was good, the seitan tasted nothing like chicken but was nice in it's own way. The loaded fries were great, really generous toppings and the creamy buffalo ranch was the best I've ever tasted.

The cakes were HUGE (I've uploaded a picture to the gallery) so we took loads home and ate it the next day.

The general atmosphere was great - brightly decorated and inclusive signage in the bathrooms.

My only dislike was that the staff were very disorganised and fairly unprofessional when I visited. It felt like it was everybody's first day.. they were nice enough but little things like on my way to the bathroom I was barged past by a staff member on two separate occasions in two separate places. The person waiting our table had been told by the manager (presumably) to try and upsell us cocktails (specifically long island ice teas) which I found a little rude given that we were spending a lot. We spend a long time there mostly because the food took over an hour.

If you're not in a rush to eat, I'd recommend it as we spent £16 per head on food, sides, soft drinks and dessert which I think is pretty good.

Pros: Lots of choice, Fun decoration, Tasty sides

Cons: Unprofessional staff, Long waiting times

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/jennyjoya">jennyjoya</a> <br/>One of each dessert of the day - priced at £3.50 each (the cakes were HUGE) <br/> June 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/271839'>Report</a>

One of each dessert of the day - priced at £3.50 e...

Photo of V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed  by <a href="/members/profile/jennyjoya">jennyjoya</a> <br/>Burger with buffalo loaded fries <br/> June 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/32339/271838'>Report</a>

Burger with buffalo loaded fries

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Manchester Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has V Rev Vegan Diner - temporarily closed closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 23315 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support