Utopia Coffee Lounge

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 5 reviews )

Find

Unit 2, The Royals, Heygate Ave, Southend-on-sea, England, SS1 1DQ

Serves meat, vegan options available. Independent coffee lounge in the town centre which roasts coffee in the shop every morning. Offers a wide selection of vegan sandwiches, paninis and cakes. Serves almond or soya milk as well as vegan whipped cream. Also has over vegan milkshake options. Dog friendly with a children's play area upstairs. Open Mon-Sun 07:00-18:00.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, British, Honey, Non-veg

5 Reviews

First Review by JaiF

Sernicki

Points +327

Vegan
31 Aug 2021

May have changed?

I went into this place a couple of years back, mainly to support the independent tea/coffee shops. At the time I went in for a cup of tea which was £2 but was charged £2.25. The difference being that I wanted soya milk in my beverage. I can somewhat understand the 25p markup if I was having a soy latte but not for a splash of soy in my tea. When I questioned this I was just told it was policy. So from that day I will not go back until they review this policy as it feels like a tax on vegans, lactose intolerance and a bit obscene. Apart from that the place feels very urban and chic.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-31


Updated from previous review on 2021-08-31

Pros: Vegan options, Cosy

Cons: A bit pricey, 25p extra for soy in tea

hmastell421

Points +36

Vegan
30 Aug 2021

Great coffee

Excellent coffees and vegan cookies! Lovely staff too 😊

JamesW76

Points +899

Vegetarian
07 Feb 2020

tasty treats

i had a coffee and enormous flapjack, big enough for two. the place is busy, both customer and decor wise, but it’s just a short stroll with your take out to benches with a view of the pier and estuary.

UtopiaCoffeeLounge

30 Apr 2020

Thanks for leaving your review. We also have an upstairs area if downstairs is too busy.

Advertisement

DL77

Points +59

Vegan
14 Sep 2019

Great for a coffee shop

Decided to check out this little place when I was in the area.

With everything made from scratch, it was understandable that the menu is quite simple, with simple toasties and sandwiches as the main option. No meat alternatives in the sandwich options, but fillings such as vegan cheese or falafel offered a reasonable lunch choice.

I gathered that there is always something sweet and baked to offer vegans too, to accompany the vegan friendly coffees. Sadly, they didn’t have cake on my visit, but a choice of two homemade biscuits provided something for the sweet-toothed.

It was too busy for me (which shows their popularity) but I was able to get what I wanted as a takeaway and was happy with the quality and freshness. Definitely worth a visit, especially if you want somewhere to have a coffee. They also have some tables outside, making it pet friendly.

Pros: Vegan milk choices with coffee , More than one sandwich option , Vegan sweet option - homemade

Cons: Basic lunch menu , Very busy

UtopiaCoffeeLounge

30 Apr 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. No need to sit outside with your doggies though, they are more than welcome inside. We also have an upstairs seating are if downstairs is busy.

JaiF

Points +16

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Cakes & Shakes

Came with the family & there was loads of vegan choice for an independent cafe. We had a panini & cake each as well as there being vegan shakes on the menu.
Will definitely be back!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Homemade, Independent

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Southend-on-sea Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Utopia Coffee Lounge closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 541 times.