Vegan
Thai
Delivery
Take-out

Opened June 2012, this vegan restaurant serves Thai food and is child-friendly. Its other location in Lincoln Park changed management and name to Vegan Plate. Relocated from 1605 W Montrose Ave. Open Mon 4:00pm-9:00pm, Tue 11:00am-9:00pm, Thu-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


57 Reviews

First Review by 路X路

dbfullon

Points +188

Vegan
27 Nov 2023

The power and glory of Urban Vegan!!

Wow!! Super fresh and yummy! 10 out of 10 on the fresh and yummy scale!!

Pros: Steamed curry dumplings, Pad see ew, Red chili dumplings

Advertisement

rjmarciniak

Points +502

Vegan
07 Nov 2023

Perfect for takeout Thai food

Urban Vegan is excellent for when you are craving a quick, easy, and delicious takeout meal. The potstickers and spring rolls are especially good, but everything that we have had on their menu is excellent. Definitely a place we keep on coming back to.

sconroy

Points +196

Vegan
04 Nov 2023

Best Vegan Food in the World

Seriously. There is no better place on the planet

kmolchen

Points +56

Vegan
18 Oct 2023

Delicious food, quick service

My friends and I enjoyed an amazing meal here. I got the pad Thai, I love the noodles and the flavor was so good ! The waitstaff was so nice and our food came out fast !

Pros: Pad Thai, Veggie Dumplings (pan fried), Jungle Noodles

michaelchasecooper

Points +93

Vegan
18 Oct 2023

Genuine Thai with a lengthy vegan menu

You鈥檒l find genuine Thai flavor in their dishes, with so much to choose from. I went with the Jungle noodles and they were smacking. Don鈥檛 skip over this spot

kale_queen

Points +363

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Fantastic

So good; love the Thai iced tea & fries tofu!

asnurse12

Points +18

Vegan
13 Aug 2023

Great Dine In

Tried the jungle noodle with pepper steak. It was absolutely lovely!

DisaLaring

Points +394

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

Literal perfection

Everything was amazing. The soy chicken was on point. The orange chicken regained its crispy texture despite the sauce and the portions were very large. Large enough that we filled up a take out box and it didn鈥檛 look like we鈥檇 had a single bite of it. A lot of food for the price. Nice servers. Quick service and tasty food. Drinks at a cheaper price than most Chicago restaurants too. 10:10

Pros: Large portions , Nice staff , Clean bathroom

DavidDainko

Points +132

Vegan
30 Jan 2023

Literally perfect

Had to double check the name several times to make sure what I was eating was vegan. It was fantastic

Thekatchats

Points +53

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

Always a treat

I love this place. My husband and I have now come here twice and are always blown away by the selection. The orange chicken is the best, but the eggplant basil with the soy pepper beef is a close second. I can鈥檛 wait to eat my way through the whole menu!

anir117

Points +408

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

So many options!

Lots of choices and not just Thai! They have sandwiches and wraps as well. Food is delicious and not too salty either.

VegosaurusVagabond

Points +3008

Vegan
24 Oct 2022

Always wonderful

A Chicago staple for years, their food never disappoints. I don't think there's a wrong way to go when ordering, but their curries are amazing!!

JenniferPooch

Points +239

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2022

Fantastic Thai

In addition to having a fun, varied menu (as well as tried and true classics, of course) and an adorable storefront, the food is truly stellar. I had the Pad Thai with Tofu and we ordered the Steamed Curry Dumplings as an app. Both were fantastic, but the dumplings are what I can't stop thinking about. The portions are big so I've got enough Pad Thai left over for a second meal, which I'm looking forward to. Wish it was closer to us because I'd love to go here more often!

Pros: 100% vegan menu with lots of options, Very cute atmosphere and friendly staff, Big portions at affordable prices

Cons: A bit of a hike from the Western suburbs

BradleyWallace

Points +233

Vegan
17 Sep 2022

Excellent Thai

This place was fantastic. My fiancee and I split the steamed curry dumplings and they were delicious. I got the stir fried bok choy (spicy) with the soy pepper steak, it had just the right amount of kick. My fiancee got the pad Thai and I was able to try some of that. Everything was excellent

Pros: Reasonably priced , Great menu

Kallday

Points +301

Vegan
16 Sep 2022

Now I have to try the whole menu

I thought Chef Kenny鈥檚 was the best vegan Thai/Chinese restaurant in the US but boy I was wrong! Urban Vegan has definitely taken the #1 spot. I鈥檇 say Chef Kenny has a little bit better Chinese style dishes but Urban Vegan kills them in the Thai style dishes! Although the Orange Chicken was a bit sweeter than expected, I鈥檝e never tasted anything like it!

My goal now is to try everything on the menu haha!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-16

ECDLR

Points +531

Vegan
10 Aug 2022

All vegan thai

Urban Vegan has so many all vegan options it鈥檚 hard to chose! Their menu is expansive with different types of foods from wraps, burgers, curry, traditional Thai dishes, smalls and deserts. There are multiple protein options to chose from. Each entree can be customized.

The pad see ew wasn鈥檛 as saucy as others I鈥檝e had but very flavorful and we enjoyed that it didn鈥檛 leave you feeling overly bloated after eating it.
The PET was good but I鈥檇 order something different next time.

The curry with tofu was phenomenal. They provided a wild rice type that was so hearty and delicious.

The two BEST things were got we鈥檙e the chicken satay skewers (app with the most incredible peanut sauce) and the mango sticky rice. Definitely order those!!

Pros: Huge menu , Multiple protein options , Healthier options

NoFussVegan

Points +339

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Made to order, fresh and flavorful!

Tentative review:
Now, I heard quite a lot about this place before visiting, and it didn鈥檛 disappoint. Well, only slightly.
The green curry had that real Thai curry deep flavor, as in: spot on! However a little on the sweet side, which was a shame. Rice paper rolls where quite good, and the fried dumplings a must.
The service was probably the best I鈥檝e had in Chicago, and you genuinely feel welcome here.
The only cons that kinda lost them the full five stars was the music, and the fact that I鈥檒l have to order a second time to see, if this really is their consistent quality. If so, I鈥檒l edit the review to five stars, no doubt.
As for the music: it鈥檚 quite sad that an otherwise pleasant and absolutely delicious meal in a fun restaurant is corrupted by something as easily fixable as the music. Way too loud, and I just don鈥檛 want to have Justin Bieber, Charlie XO and whatever generic pop-names are in at the moment, shoved down my throat (and ear canals) along with my food.
Tip: turn it down a notch and maybe play some of the absolute abundance of great Thai music instead of the garbage you hear everywhere else.

Pros: Delicious!, Service second to none, Fair price point

Cons: Unbearably poor music, Curry slightly on the sweet side

ricobabyface

Points +372

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

DELICIOUS

i think this was my favorite Vegan Thai food ever! absolutely delicious flavors and seasonings. wow 馃挊

ktmast

Points +363

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Excellent Thai food, well seasoned and spiced.

Staff was friendly, attentive and efficient. Food was delicious. Spice levels were good. Vegetables were very fresh. Lots of choices.

Pros: All vegan. , Very fresh vegetables , Good portion sizes.

mcca0282

Points +29

Mostly Veg
03 Apr 2022

Delicious!

My family has a mixed bag of eaters, 2 almost veg, 1 vegetarian, 1 vegan. This place has high praise from all of us. Curry dumplings were amazing, with tender dumplings in a slightly spice sauce, pad see ew noodles savory and the chicken delish, spring rolls tasty though nothing special, yellow curry with great flavor and vegan son liked that sweet potato was added to the dish. My vegetarian son got broccoli and tofu which is his go-to for Asian food and basically guarded his plate from the rest of us and ate the whole dish himself. We ordered online, picked up ourselves and on a busy Saturday night it was ready in 20 minutes, just as they told us. Many protein options, we tried chicken and tofu in our dishes, each was good. We are visiting Chicago so I鈥檓 guessing the prices are on par with other Asian places in the city.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Super tasty, Fast service

Cons: Broccoli in Pad see ew overdone

riceandbeanes

Points +157

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Amazing Food

I got their spicy noodle dish which was wide, flat noodles with mushrooms, basil, tomato, peppers, and tofu in a spicy sauce. It was so delicious and I鈥檝e been craving it afterwards.

Pros: Fully Vegan, Great Flavor, Tasty Tofu

Cons: Wanted Bigger Serving, Plastic Container

Ashvegan02

Points +148

Vegan
20 Mar 2022

Vegan Thai!

Food is just amazing here! Totally worth the cost. I order at least once a month. My go-to place!

vegansupreme

Points +34

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

Lovely Thai

When the chicken pad Thai is good, everything else follows. Great orange chicken too!

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-19

Pros: 100, %, Vegan

AdamMcMath

Points +50

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

The impossible basil is to die for

I end up ordering the impossible basil often because it is just delicious #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan and all good , Great prices

veggie_htx

Points +2076

Vegan
09 Jan 2022

Large menu

Three and a half stars. I have ordered here several times for takeout. The menu is large and everyone will find something they like with a mix of vegetables, tofu, and mock meats. I have loved a few things and thought others were not my favorite preparation of the dish (the seafood tom yum soup was spicy and sour, but also rather sweet). The Thai iced tea is delicious!

davyswalker

Points +99

Vegan
07 Dec 2021

Spring Head

Pad Sew Ewe is and always will be my go to for trying out any new Thia place.

The noddles were fine. Broccoli a little under cooked. Tofu a little soft and tasteless and noodles maybe a little too sugary but good enough. I enjoyed my experience.

It gets another star though because the SPRING ROLLS ARE SMAZE.

- The Mad Cow

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-20

WiderVistas

Points +1581

Vegan
10 Nov 2021

Forgotten flavors

It's always great to be able to choose anything on the menu! We started with the grand tempura which unlike other places we go, included pumpkin and vegan shrimp. Both were amazing additions to the plate. I had a sweet and sour chicken and was excited for a taste I hadn't had in many years. My husband had a green curry with fish. He said the curry was fantastic but the fish protein wasn't a good combination with it. The Thai iced tea was sweet and thankfully didn't taste like coconut, which they sometimes do.

Pros: Healthy rice, Food gave us lots of energy

Cons: A little greasy, Cluttered decor




This page has been viewed 17550 times.