Urban Soul

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 10 reviews )
Contact
+1-440-856-1060
Find

7502 Mentor Ave, Mentor, Ohio, USA, 44060

Restaurant offering southern style comfort food and soul food. Open Tue-Wed 11:00am-8:00pm, Thu 11:00am-8:30pm, Fri 11:00am-8:00pm, Sat 1:00pm-9:00pm. Closed Sun - Mon.

Categories: Vegan, American, Take-out

10 Reviews

First Review by DaMarial

mmf1123

Points +38

Vegan
15 May 2019

Delicious and Allllllll Vegan! - Edit

I’ve been vegan for 9 years, eaten at many vegan restaurants around the country, and I have to say Urban Soul has some of the best scratch-made vegan food I’ve ever tasted! The menu options are abundant, and you can’t go wrong no matter what you choose. We had the Mexican Soul Rolls to start. The two large rolls were very flavorful and came with a yummy spicy chipotle aioli. Then we tried the BBQ Jackfruit Sandwich and Sauced Up “Chicken Sandwich”. Both were out of this world. Full of flavor and completely home made. We rounded everything out with a side of fresh cut fries, a bowl of macaroni and cheese, and an order of cornbread. All were fantastic, but the fries were some of the best I’ve ever had...vegan restaurant or not. Everything was cooked/fried to perfection and the sauces were all on point. I can’t say enough positive things about this place. You need to go. Just don’t be swayed by the unassuming location and ambience of the restaurant. The food speaks for itself!

Pros: All vegan and plentiful menu options, A lot of food for your money; well priced, Friendly staff

Cons: Decor and ambience need some TLC

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

bitnezman

Points +15

Mostly Veg
13 Jan 2019

Truly amazing - Edit

This place just has darned good food! I drive 90 minutes to eat her Philly 'beef' sandwich and I'm not even vegan. The flavor and texture of the moch meat is better than beef and the cheese sauce is out of this world.

Pros: Flavor, Quality, Healthy

Cons: None

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

TinaLattimer

Points +30

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

Amazing- a MUST for great food - Edit

The food is so amazing. My husband and I willingly drive an hour to enjoy the delicious food. YES it is worth the drive.

Pros: Everything is vegan.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

jenny203k

Points +24

Vegan
14 Oct 2018

Everything my husband and I had was delicious! - Edit

The Philly steak sandwich is like no other I have had! So tender and the cheese sauce is wonderful. We also shared the seafood platter. Crab cakes and fried banana blossom fish were both wonderful. Well worth the 1 1/2 hour drive!

Pros: Terrific menu, reasonable prices.

Cons: Too far from home. No real cons!

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

VeganUSA

Points +489

Vegan
01 Sep 2018

100% vegan menu - extensive, ambitious menu - Edit

Urban Soul Grille has been open about a month at the time this review is being written. The restaurant is running beautifully - no service or preparation glitches during our visit.
The menu is amazing. We tried the jackfruit BBQ sandwich- delicious and filling.; the Phillie cheese steak sandwich - great sauce; and the BBQ ribs. The ribs were made from homemade seitan (prepared in house), and came as a huge, generous portion of about three large, chewy cutlets. The sauce on this was spicy at the right level.
Service was very good. The space is large: You can enter into a large dining area through one front entrance, or into the kitchen, carry out area through another front entrance. The establishment is located in a modest, strip shopping center, not far from the highway exit.

Pros: 100% Vegan Menu, Soul food angle offers different vegan tastes , Extensive menu.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

TCat

Points +32

Vegan
27 Aug 2018

Vegan Soul Food! - Edit

Mentor Ohio is so fortunate to have an all vegan restaurant, and a great one at that! Ebony and Kelvin really know how to make delicious vegan soul food. I've tried many items, and highly recommend the Mac n cheese, ribs, crab cakes, fried green tomatoes. And fried pickles. And chicken and waffles. This restaurant is dine in or take out, and is conveniently located near Rt. 306 and Mentor Ave.
The fried items are crispy and crunchy, never greasy like many places. There are plenty of gluten free options; the "pulled pork" sandwich, the bbq jackfruit sandwich and others that are clearly marked on the menu.
Once you try this place, you will be back many times to try out the entire menu.

Pros: Everything vegan. The Mac n Cheese., Excellent vegan soul food. The ribs., Great variety; vegan ribs, fried green tomatoes

Cons: no

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Shivad100

Points +23

Vegetarian
19 Aug 2018

Most awesome - Edit

OMG. This was the best vegan philly steak sandwich I ever tasted. Succulent!! (Note: in the pic I posted, I had put a lil slaw on the left corner) The coleslaw was scrumptious. It was not very creamy, but that's the way I like it! The mac n cheese was ok. I've had that type before and I think something happens to it when it's reheated the next day. I tasted my aunts peppered steak. Even though it's made of the same stuff as the philly, it had its own distinct taste and texture! We both loved that too, and she's not veg. We had the peach drink. Just the right amount of sweet. And it was served in a nice size glass. We finished with the peach cobbler. It didn't have a regular flour like crust, but still good. And like the drink, it had just the right amount of sweet. They make there own cheese and mayo! The whole staff, from the people cleaning to the owner, was very nice. The time to get our food was reasonable, however I wonder how the service would be if there was a higher demand. Run to this place to be amazed!!!! I think I'm goin again today!

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

CyndiClarkReilly

Points +25

Vegan
09 Aug 2018

Great comfort foods - Edit

Ordered tons of food today, loved all of them

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lib

Points +16

Vegan
08 Aug 2018

Awesome! - Edit

Amazing place! And I would never have expected it in Mentor. Vegan or not this place is great and I would recommend it to anybody! The prices are great and the people are nice! Stop by sometime!

Pros: Whole menu is vegan, Delicious food, reasonably priced, Nice people

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DaMarial

Points +60

Vegan
05 Aug 2018

What? Vegan in Mentor, OH? - Edit

Urban Soul Grille just opened in Mentor, OH with only vegan options on the menu. I told my wife it would never happen in Mentor and here we were sitting down to try what Urban Soul had to offer. The restaurant just opened up in a former pizzeria, therefore decor and ambiance was lacking but we hope it will be improved soon. I had the chicken and waffles with fried green tomatoes that were awesome! My daughter tried the bean burger and scarfed it down. We will be coming back to try the other menu items for sure. 4/5 stars for great tasting food but the restaurant itself needs some updating and love and care.

Pros: Lots of options on the menu, Great tasting food, Helpful and courteous staff

Cons: Just opened, Some menu items not available , Decor and ambiance basic

TCat

08 Aug 2018
Yes, in Mentor!
I have a group you can join, Vegan in Lake County and Beyond, to find out about vegan options in our area. I worked on helping Urban Soul Grille open in our area, and I'm so thrilled to have an all vegan cafe right in Mentor.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/VeganInLakeCountyandBeyond/
Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Mentor Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Urban Soul closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 948 times.