Juice bar

Offers acai bowls, smoothies, juices, and coffee. Open Mon-Sun 6:30am-7:00pm.


Venue map for Ukku Acai Bar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by GalenLoram

yumchadong

Points +4905

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

Meh

Vegan options are not labelled but service was friendly and provided guidance. Food was very random and underwhelming in terms of design, flavor and presentation. We did not enjoy either of the dishes we ordered. There are better options in town.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-18

Advertisement

BrightonMD

Points +1227

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

Great Food - More than Acai Bowls

I had a salad with soy steaks (they call it soy meat). The soy is very soft and pliable, different texture than I have experienced. It tastes good, with the flavor of soy sauce. To top the meal off, I ordered vegan cookies which were very good.

One morning, I ordered the Açaí bowl which was also delicious, being able to choose among many options of fruit and toppings. The Açaí itself was slightly frozen and tasty.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great tasting food , Nice people and nice environment

Cons: On the expensive side, Could provide more food

Tada

Points +230

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

The bowl was great, the staff were super kind

I spent several hours here waiting for a ferry. The staff was so nice and friendly and I really liked the bowl which was super filling.
It cost 13.5 dollars which isnt cheap, but I ate it at noon and skipped dinner I was so full

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-11

purplevelvethorse

Points +151

Vegan
13 Feb 2022

Best vegan options for breakfast in town!

This place has the most vegan options for breakfast and lunch on Santa Cruz. They understand veganism and have vegan dishes that are specified, but you can also substitute vegan options for other menu items. Their cookies were phenomenal! The vegan waffles were hearty and flavorful, and the acai bowl is a delicious and filling meal any time. They close at 430 pm.

Pros: Several vegan options, Great acai bowls and smoothies, Amazing vegan cookies!

theveganroo

Points +120

Vegan
01 Jan 2022

Great veg & vegan

Super cute cafe. Not exclusively vegetarian or vegan but have many many options including smoothies, bowls and even vegan waffles! Returned multiple times as it was so good! Menu in Spanish & English and staff speak both languages.

hgor

Points +428

Vegan
19 Feb 2020

Love this place!

So nice to get actual fruit on the island!! I went here 3 times in 2 days. The vegan waffles for breakfast are delicious and the acai bowls are really good too. Lovely, friendly staff & very good wifi!

klarajeam

Points +114

Vegan
13 Nov 2019

Lots of homemade vegan options

Modern open air cafe with lots of vegan options.

Pros: homemade vegan options , Nice setting , Friendly Service

Cons: Not open when their Facebook site says, SLOW Service

ZuzanaC

Points +580

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

My fav place in Galapagos

Ukku was definetely one of the places where we came eat several times. Servise is good and their açai bowls are super delicious. They also have vegan waffles, sandwich and wraps with option to choose their own home-made soy meat or local one.

Pros: Cozy place, Nice servise, Good price

Cons: Quite “far” from a center

RobBohmer

Points +249

Vegan
06 Apr 2019

Vegan acai bowls

Only mainly vegan place in Santa Cruz serving acai bowls but also great vegan waffles and smoothies, only place around that uses almond milk, highly recommended. Inside decor could do with some plants to break up the space and improve ambience!

Pros: Mainly vegan

Cons: Noisy when blenders in use

chelssjh

Points +299

Vegan
10 Jan 2019

Finally, some fresh fruit!

While in Puerto Ayora, I had difficulty finding the fresh fruit I was used to finding at home. I loved this place, so many different flavors and a great way to kick start your active day!

Pros: Customizable, Excellent food, Friendly staff

Cons: Expensive

voyegan

Points +2089

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

delicious food and drink

This became one of my favourite places during my stay in Puerto Ayora. I tried a regular smoothie, the açai-smoothie and the brand new whey protein smoothie. Furthermore I had two açai smoothie bowls and a vegan cheese cake. All of it was delicious, except the cheese cake had strange taste and consistency. And they understand the word smoothie more as milkshake, like in so many other places in South America, than a smoothie. The staff is ambitious and the atmosphere trendy. You can even charge your phone, when you bring a cable, there are usb-plugs as well as normal ones, which invites to work.

Pros: lots of combinations, work places with plugs

Cons: expensive, still use dairy

GalenLoram

Points +231

Vegan
07 Aug 2018

Delicious açaí bowls!

Offers a great alternative to the most common breakfast on the island (fruit) - really tasty acai bowls for $9. You get to choose your fruit, toppings, syrup, and superfood. Smoothies are $3-4. Great service! They also have really cool wooden bowls (pretty :) ) it's also one of the few vegan places that opens at 6:30 - right on time to grab a bite before driving or a day tour




This page has been viewed 1978 times.