Beer/Wine
Caribbean
Jamaican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. UK chain of bar & restaurants inspired by the beach shacks and street vendors of the Caribbean. Regular menu is meat-based but has a separate vegetarian/vegan menu which also lists alcoholic beverages and soft drinks. Examples of vegan food include sweetcorn fritters, kernel burger, pepper-mushroom wrap, chickpea & callaloo curry, and salads. For dessert get vegan salted caramel brownie and chocolate ice cream. Open Mon-Wed 11:30-23:30, Fri-Sat 11:30-00:00, Sun 11:30-23:30.


Venue map for Turtle Bay
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by NoMeatNick

KateEmmett

Points +3134

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Sunshine on a rainy day

So many vegan options it was hard to choose! Went for the Island Brunch Bowl as it’s a nice mix (Scrambled ackee, sauteed callaloo, curried chickpeas, sweet fried plantain, tomatoes, & roti) which was very tasty and filling and great value at Β£8.60. Staff are lovely

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-24

Advertisement

CharlotteStubbs

Points +258

Vegan
09 Mar 2023

Would like to try more here

Lots of vegan options!
A non-vegan friend wanted to go here and I’m glad they did. I really enjoyed the sweetcorn [fritter] roti roll and, after reading other reviews, I’m keen to go back and try other dishes.
Cocktails were also incredible and all clearly labelled which is refreshing.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great staff

CatherinePalmer

Points +200

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Vibrant restaurant

If for nothing else, definitely go for the 2 for 1 cocktails when the deal is on, they are sooooo good!

I've had the aubergine curry before but this time went for a burger. Both very tasty, a fair bit of heat though so may not be for those who hate spicy foods

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-08

Klarajj

Points +2098

Vegan
03 Feb 2023

Super delicious options

I rate their chicken burger so much - the sweet plantain is a must too. Jerk tofu also banging.

dvb124

Points +191

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Turtley yummy

Visited for brunch.

Spacious bright large open space in the centre of Newcastle. We had friendly attentive service & the place has a colourful, feel good factor. Food was fresh tasting with lots going on. Chilli, avo, melon in the yardbird and crispy sweetcorn fritters.

Photo: vegan yardbird sweetcorn fritters.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-06

Poundie

Points +12795

Vegan
10 Jul 2022

Lively Caribbean place

This is a Caribbean eatery/bar, with piped-in reggae music and people seeming to have a rousing fun time throughout the place. They assured me that the vegan stuff is cooked on a separate grill. I had a β€œmotherclucking” vegan chik’n sandwich and salad, plus a vegan scoop. The portions were good, the prices reasonable, and I liked everything I ordered.

NaomiBrash

Points +762

Vegan
12 Feb 2022

Sweetcorn fritters wow 🀀

I love this place so much! We come here often with my family as it's vegan and Omni friendly. There's plenty delicious vegan options on the menu including aubergine curry, vegan chicken burger, jerk tofu, Buddha bowl and wraps. I have to say the sweetcorn fritters are out of this world, you must try them if you go, even my Omni brother and his gf get them every time, they're so good! Nearly all the cocktails are labelled vegan which is of course great, including a vegan Pina colada (Koko kolada) using coconut milk which is super creamy and delicious! Vibe is lovely here too, perfect place for a bit scran and a few cheeky cocktails πŸ’πŸΉπŸ’–

Pros: Great vegan options, Vegan cocktails, Sweetcorn fritters

Thislittlevegan

Points +726

Vegan
17 Oct 2020

Yaaayy!

So pleased they have vegan options because I love it here! Great cocktails! Quirky! Great atmosphere and vegan clearly labelled

mariamc27

Points +972

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

Delicious

Small plates were delicious, we had roti, plantain and chickpea curry all beautiful

steenmurph

Points +236

Vegan
18 Aug 2019

Really impressed

Had smashed avocado on a roti for breakfast with mushrooms. Was very impressed by how tasty it was!

NoMeatNick

Points +114

Vegan
30 Oct 2018

Love this place

Love the vegan options here.




This page has been viewed 3059 times.