Vegan-friendly
Chinese
Take-out
Bakery

Originally established 1905, and at this space since 1956. Seats 60 upstairs, take away dim sum and bakery downstairs. Has English menu. Nearest MTR - Wan Chai exit A2. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-10:30pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Tung Fong Siu Kee Yuen 東方小祇園
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by JohnnySensible

Banani

Points +1220

Vegan
07 Dec 2023

Full Meal

Easy to choose from english menu, kost of options and quite tasty. Although it didn't taste anything like the non-vrgn version it tried to.imitate. Price is reasonable. You'll have to wash the dishes in typical yum cha/ch canteen fashion. This place is always pretty full during eating hours, reservation is recommended.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-07

Advertisement

running

Points +15

Vegetarian
04 Sep 2023

Good place.

Clearly labeled English menu. One of the waiters is good with English

veganangiep

Points +483

Vegan
27 May 2021

Veg food any time

This vegetarian restaurant has been around for many years. They have a stall that sells dim sum and rice takeout by the entrance, though not necessarily fresh and appetizing all the time. The restaurant menu is not marked whether there is egg or dairy but it still deserves a 4 star with the opening hours (not just during lunch or dinner hours), service, option of smaller portion in terms of bowl, and location. Accepting Octopus, a touchless and cashless payment, is a big plus during times like this.

TomOtley

Points +120

Vegan
14 Feb 2020

If you have a Cantonese-speaking friend

We had lunch from Tung Fong Siu Kee Yuen at our office.
Really great food, though they had to order since there was no English spoken.
Open since 1905, apparently - very popular.
We had several dishes, including Buddhist vegetarian fried noodles and Ma Po tofu.
I'd happily eat this sort of thing every lunchtime (or evening)

Pros: Delicious, Not expensive, Been around since 1905

Cons: No English spoken, Busy at lunchtime

PaulVeg85

Points +97

Vegan
25 Jan 2019

Lovely local food

Nice atmosphere.

Pros: Delicious food, Good-sized portions, Very reasonably-priced

Cons: Staff don’t speak English too well , Chinese food only

austintay

Points +82

Vegan
13 Oct 2016

Hk veg flare

An institution of HK veg food. Nice varieties and best to go with friends. Been here many times and always enjoy the food here.

Pros: Lots of varieties and inexpensive

kaibun

Points +792

Vegan
07 Apr 2016

Bad service

Average food, too high prices and some of the worst service I have ever encountered

Stevie

Points +11765

Vegan
18 Jun 2015

Tung Fong Sui Kee Yuen - Hennessey, Hong Kong

Just a minor update to this. I ate here again last night as part of the meetup group mentioned below. At the end of the evening one of the girls in the group bought a take away that she could take to work for lunch today. Clearly she also endorsed the vegetables in Portuguese sauce since that's the dish she ordered.

As per another comment made last night, the decor in this place upstairs is nice. Quietly tasteful in an understated sort of way.

They did a good job catering for the group. 16 of us over 2 tables, food was great and service efficient. All that food to share at 120 hkd each person was good value, I'm happy with that.



Updated from previous review on Monday June 08, 2015

I've eaten here a few times now. I've eaten here on my own, with one other and also as part of the Meat Free Hong Kong group in meetup.com. Every time it has been perfectly pleasant. If you're eating in try the vegetables in Portuguese sauce.

The take away downstairs is as good as any I've tried around Hong Kong.

I'd be happy to eat here again (sit in or take away) any time I'm nearby.

Updated from previous review on Friday August 15, 2014

Pros: Vegan friendly, Big portions, Good take away counter

vegan herbivore

Points +167

Mostly Veg
29 Jul 2014

True Chinese

We had lunch here at an off hour (around 3 o'clock), so the dining room was empty and forlorn. The wait staff was also on break (one fellow bedded down in the dining room), so service was poor. The dining room has a certain old world, Chinese charm, but more dowdy than lovely. The food was fine, and seemed authentic. Our impression might have been entirely different had we visited during a mealtime.

Pros: Old world dining room, Authentic Chinese cuisine, Large selection

Cons: Dowdy, Slow service, Not as clean as some establishments

sglcklch

Points +2815

Vegan
26 Nov 2011

Usual fare

Nothing really exciting about this place. Yes, portions are huge and they can serve you your food pretty fast. The two of us ordered three dishes and it must have taken only 5-10 minutes from ordering to having all of them on the table. Food was OK but bit on the salty side. Could also use less oil. That said I felt the prices were very reasonable especially if you come as a bigger group.

Pros: huge portions, prompt service

Cons: greasy, salty

Deborah3000

Points +65

Vegetarian
23 Mar 2011

ordinary

The food was very average although the portions were quite large.

Pros: large portions

Raydoggy

Points +349

Vegan
15 Nov 2009

Only go to the 241 Hennessy Rd address

Love this place. It's very clean, fresh and tasty ingredients and good service. The menu is extensive and the prices very reasonable. You really can't go wrong with this place. The Restaurant is up one flight, and you can also get very cheap take away downstairs. they have an English menu.

Pros: Cheap, Tasty, Fresh

Cons: Staff don't speak English

philjdomm

Points +945

Vegan
28 Dec 2007

take out

never had chance to sit in and try food but got some take out. vegan or vegetarian bakery...yes!

Pros: easy

comida

Points +216

Vegan
14 Sep 2007

Authentic food and excellent bakery downstairs

Amazing congee. Took my parents here, and they loved it. Very good e-fu noodles. The staff were nice and friendly. JohnnySensible is right, the portions are huge. The bakery downstairs has one of the few truly vegan and E number free moon cakes in town. Really easy to find.

Pros: Yummy food., Friendly service, Clean place

JohnnySensible

Points +7596

Herbivore
29 May 2007

Venerable

Well worth a visit. For myself it is wonderful to experience a veggie business that has survived & thrived for 4 generations. I always receive smiles / very friendly service. For the single diner be careful when you order - portions tend to be large. The best selection of vegan dim-sum in Hong Kong. Nearest MTR is Wan Chai. Remember to ask the staff not to use MSG if you are affected by it.




This page has been viewed 7789 times.