• Tony Boloney's Hoboken

  • (8)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pizza, sub & salad restaurant. Has hummus and avocado, plus veggie toppings such as corn, broccoli rabe, potatoes, cactus and huitlacoche. Offers five vegan pizza pies, available in small and large and one of them is usually available by the slice. Also has three vegan salads and subs. All vegan items are clearly labeled. You get 5% off when you order online. As of Oct 2017, has one other location (Atlantic City). Please note it was previously stated they had Daiya mozzarella vegan cheese, but HappyCow has been told they do not. Open Mon-Wed 11:00am-11:00pm, Thu 11:00am-2:00am, Fri-Sat 11:00am-4:00am, Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Tony Boloney's Hoboken
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by archbishop

BeelaHaque

Points +22

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

yummy

i got the squash da beef sub and the vegan pinky (both labeled vegan as is)! i throughly enjoyed both. the vegan pinky was basically a pepperoni pizza and i really liked the pepperoni used. i wish it had more of a kick but still yummy nonetheless. the squash da beef was an eggplant “meat” ball sub and was super flavorful. also i noticed after i ordered that they have vegan wings (i’m assuming they are seitan) they have a handful of things that can be made vegan so i’m excited to try those when i go back!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-25

Advertisement

TwoRabbits

Points +305

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

Not what is used to be

Vegan slices are expensive but solid and not always available by the slice

The sandwiches are what I prefer. The Vegan ole used to be fantastic. Very filling and tasty, however they seemed to have changed the recipe in the last year or so. They used to use shredded seitan which was great - top notch texture and flavor. They switched to seitan chunks which are subpar.

If I go again I’ll have to see if there other sandwiches are worth it. Eggplant meatball has been solid in the past - but not sure if they changed the recipe there too

Pros: Several unique flavors , Variety of options - sandwiches and slices

Cons: Expensive, Quality has gone down hill majorly

SusieQuick

Points +23

Vegan
04 Oct 2022

Flavorless and Sneaky

I'm giving two stars solely because they even have vegan anything. We ordered three different types of vegan pizza slices and two sandwiches. They waited until our delivery driver got to the restaurant, 40 minutes after we ordered, and had him call us to tell us they were out of all of them. Then attempt to replace them for a basic slice that was 1/3 of the cost of the famous taco slices we had ordered. They didn't even close for another 6.5 hours and it's still available for people to order them even after they knew they were out. So we ended up with just the sandwiches. We were still excited for them though because they sounded great. When we got them we were VERY disappointed. They had almost no flavor at all. They also never refunded us the 27 dollars worth of slices we didn't get. Maybe the pizza is great but we wouldn't know and we won't go back. If you want pizza you should NOT order online. Going in is your best bet but I wouldn't recommend anything with the eggplant meatballs. Simply a ball of mush. Don't go out of your way for this place but if family/friends are going then you definitely won't be as deprived as you might be elsewhere.

VeganbyChoice

Points +1408

Vegan
25 Apr 2022

Vegan Pizza and More

I’ve been here many times. I keep coming back because I am never disappointed. They have many pizza options that can made Vegan. They also have many sandwich options that can be made Vegan. If you are just stopping by, they have an OG Vegan pizza option that is available by the slice. Parking is hard to find and you have to pay or have a local parking permit. There are a few tables available if you choose to dine in.

Pros: Various Vegan Pizza Options, Vegan Sandwiches available

Cons: Only 1 vegan pizza available by the slice

GabiDykema

Points +22

Vegan
13 Oct 2021

perfect for a pizza night or cheat night

they never claim to be healthy, it’s a pizza place, but the buffalo chicken pizza is awesome, a little spicy, and the vegan garlic knots are to DIE for!! great place to take my non-veg friends. tons of options!!

Pros: different vegan options, customizable

kiwig

Points +43

Vegan
20 Nov 2019

Interesting pizza options

Nice place if you're in the mood for oily/fried foods or inventive pizzas. They have ~5 vegan pie options that change over time as well as a couple of vegan subs. My favorite is the "O.G. Vegan" pie with eggplant meatballs! You can also build your own pie with vegan cheese.

Pros: Has both vegan pizza and sub options

Cons: Some of the pies are very oily

ciscofresco

Points +38

Vegan
28 Apr 2019

Expected better

Very pricey, very oily pizza, a lot of vegan options.

Pros: A lot of vegan options

Cons: Expensive, Hard pizza crust , Very oily pizza

archbishop

Points +114

Vegan
23 May 2018

Inventive Vegan Pies, But A Little Off

I feel like Tony B’s approach to their three vegan pies is how car companies approached hybrid and electric vehicles back in the day, and still do — make them very different from the “normal” versions. And that turns a lot of people off, both those who aren’t necessarily interested in the alternatives, as well as those who are. I wish they just did a plain vegan cheese pie with a build-your-own option to add toppings as you wish.

Pros: Three Vegan Pies On The Menu

Cons: No Vegan Cheeses, No Vegan Meats, No “Normal” Vegan Pies




This page has been viewed 2992 times.