Tofunia

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 18 reviews )
Contact
02-27557380
Find

19, Lane 38, TongHua St, Da'an District, Taipei, Taiwan, 106

豆腐尼亞, at 大安區通化街38巷19號, is a vegan restaurant that opened in summer 2016 near Xinyi Anhe MRT station exit 3. Serves primarily western style food like pizza (its specialty) plus pasta, quesadilla, burgers, and ratatouille. Beverages are coffee drinks, organic black bean tea, smoothies. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Pizza, Western, Take-out

18 Reviews

First Review by JesseD

great desserts! - Edit

This super friendly and family run restaurant is your go to
for the best desserts. You must try the blueberry lemon cheesecake and chocolate cheesecake.
Also the chocolate peanut butter shake is incredible. And maybe even slightly healthy? ;)
The in-house made cheese is great. Skip the green pasta. Burgers are good, and the quesadillas were yummy.

Pros: sweet atmosphere , amazing desserts

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 16 Apr 2018 - Hi, this is Lori from Tofunia. Thank you very much for your review and for the kind words. We are glad that you had a nice time with us. and that you liked our desserts so much. Thank you also for being vegan. We are sending you our warmest thoughts and nothing but the best.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love this place ~ - Edit

I love Tofunia, the food and beverage are always amazing! Friendly service too. Enjoy sitting by the window, looking out the street.. Love the Quesadilla, as well as the Soy Cappuccino.

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 16 Apr 2018 - Hello, this is Lori from Tofunia. Our whole team really appreciates your comment and encouragement. We will try to always have good options for vegans and we want to thank you for supporting us and for being such a passionate vegan. From Tofunia, best regards.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan friendly - Edit

Pizzas(vegan cheese), and chocolate cheese cake are my favorite.
Monday-Friday, from2-5pm, small cake slice coffee/tea or sandwich coffee/tea only 120NTD

Pros: quiet environment , delicious food, nice service

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 16 Apr 2018 - Hello Dai, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. On behalf of our team I would like to thank you for your support, good review and for choosing to eat vegan. We wish you all the best. With appreciation, Tofunia team.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SO delicious - Edit

Everything tasty and well served. Nice ambiance, vegan painting on the wall. Generous for the vegan cheese on pizza delux. Very creamy. I tried mac and cheese pasta and burger. The burger have many stuff, red cabbage, sprouts, salad, hand made Patty, white cream....very good.

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 24 Feb 2018 - Dear Laetitia, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. Our team is very happy that you liked the food and the atmosphere and would like to thank you for our support and for making the world better by choosing to eat vegan. We appreciate your comment very much and we wish you all our best. With love, Tofunia team.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

whole food options abound - Edit

Wow, I cannot wait to go home and try a mushroom lentil burger recipe. Everything on my plate was out of this world, right down to the homemade vegan mayo. We wanted to lick the plate after finishing the chocolate cheesecake and the black coffee was outstanding with beautiful crema on top. Other note, my meat eating boyfriend mentioned wanting to consider vegetarianism for “health reasons” while we were here so I will always fondly remember Tofunia for this conversation. 🤣

Pros: great selection, all vegan , plant based, whole food options

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 04 Jan 2018 - Hello. This is Lori, the manager and chef of Tofunia. I can't say how much that means to us, knowing that your boyfriend is more open to vegetarianism now, because we are a team of mostly vegan staff whose goal is to show everyone that being vegan is easy and tasty and that you can still have your favorite foods even while being vegan. Thank you very much for your support and have a safe trip home! With love, Tofunia team.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great - Edit

I love the Hawaii pizza, the spring pizza, the tempeh burger, the falafel burger, the bacon mac and cheese, the tacos and the enchilada. Also the cheesecake, the royal salad and the chocolate peanut butter milkshake. The portions are big. This is what I recommend.

Pros: Big portions, Great special taste, Vegan for animals

Cons: More desserts would be great

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 04 Jan 2018 - Hello, this is Lori, the manager and chef of Tofunia. Thank you very much for your review and for your recommendation. We now have more cakes, the blueberry lemon cheesecake being very popular now. Thank you again for your support and have a warm winter. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow - Edit

Found this when hungry, ordered a pizza, a mac and cheese with bacon and a milkshake and I took home half of the food. Huge portions, delicious. I left satisfied. I will return.

Pros: Big portions , Delicious , Good price

Cons: The air con was a little too hard for me

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 04 Jan 2018 - Hi Vanessa, This is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. Thank you very much for recommending us. I'm really happy that you loved everything you tried here and thank you for being a huge supporter of veganism. Take care!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ate wayyyy too much. Worth it. - Edit

My friend and I went there on my last day at Taiwan, at a very odd time between lunch & dinner(and also on a weekday) because we spent the rest of the day sight seeing. and as a result the restaurant was almost completely empty; better for us. They had english menus, english speaking staff, and nice vegan posters all around. We ordered the veggie pizza, the taco party, the choco cheese cake & a peanut butter chocolate smoothie. Initially we thought it was quite pricey, but the food was so much that we didn't have to eat dinner. The pizza was flavourful. The cheese was tasty, but had a slightly odd smell & a bit too sticky(stuck to the teeth rather than stretchy). The taco was delicious, fullstop, no way to improve haha. Similarly the smoothie was also totally yum. The cake however was not yum, it was mind-blowingly delicious, especially for my crazy huge sweet-tooth. My friend found it a bit too sweet. But if you like sweet things, you will go crazy over this. My god I want to keep eating again and again.

There were so many options we were struggling to pick haha but I'm totally not complaining, it's a huge privilege because usually as a vegan I always have 1-3 choices. Loved this restaurant.

I should say this however, I don't know how this place would be when it's crowded.

Pros: Delicious & Filling, Reasonable Price, English Speaker Friendly

Cons: Too many choices(JK this is a pro)

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 27 Aug 2017 - Dear Raad, this is Lori, the chef and the manager of Tofunia. I feel so glad that you and your friend had a lovely stay with us and that the food kept you full for the whole day. Myself and the Tofunia staff are happy that you liked the food and we wish you all of our best. Thank you for supporting us, for being vegan and for changing the world!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

HOLY COW - Edit


After living in the city for about a year, my partner and I have scoped out all of our favorite vegan spots (or so we thought) because Tofunia is a gem which I wished we had discovered much earlier.

....Let me just indulge you in this meal....

Like the sensible adults we are, we ordered a chocolate peanut butter milkshake first -it was this thick, creamy, beautiful thing with whipped cream on top, in a mason jar. Need I say more?

Then, we got a green pizza - which was loaded with veggies, and topped with delicious cheese - and a bacon mac n' cheese, which was melt-in-your-mouth cheesy wonderful, with thick slices of bacon, and crunchy broccoli on the side.

All in all, we had enough food to take home (which never happens to us in Taipei) and we didn't cry sad, vegan tears over the bill (which was, given all the food we got, incredibly affordable!!)

The menu offers a wide variety of drinks, burgers, pizzas, and more, which had us already talking about what we wanted to order next time!

Wonderful place - we can't wait to come back!

Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, Cozy restaurant with great upstairs seating , Highly detailed English/Mandarin menu

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 27 Aug 2017 - Hello, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia., and the chef. Reading your review warmed my heart and all our staff is happy to know that you and your partner liked the food. Thank you very much for your support and for making the world a better place.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the quality of food bounce back and forward - Edit

I've tried the gluten free pizza and it's really not ok. But my friends said that it didn't taste like this last time they tried it. Their food was ok but there's much more delicious vegan restaurant in Taipei.

Pros: Vegan, space

Cons: the quality isn't stable, expensive

2 Responses
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Hello, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. Thank you for telling us about this problem you've encountered. In order for us to investigate what happened, can you kindly let us know the date when your friends had the gluten free pizza, and the date when you had it? If you have other suggestions, feel free to share with us because we care about you having a very good experience with us. Sending you my best, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Han-ChiYang 22 Jan 2018 - Hi Lori! Thank you for responding my review! I couldn't tell you exactly when was the date but it was last summer! We ordered takeout for dinner to eat at home and found out that it tasted like nothing...
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Loved it! - Edit

I've been to Tofunia twice, and both times I really enjoyed it. I loved the Mac & Cheese, Vegetable Pizza, Tempeh Burger, and Special Strawberry Milkshake.

I also liked the fact that they don't provide plastic straws and instead use stainless steel ones.

The restaurant is small but cozy, clean and bright. Highly recommended!

Updated from previous review on 2016-12-10

Pros: Amazing food, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Dear Hailey, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. I would like to personally express how glad we are to hear you've had a delicious experience and we will try to offer you more tasty food in the future. Thank you for letting us know how you feel and have a great summer. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

An okay option - Edit

I had the quesadilla. It was okay, but the guac, cheese and sour cream they put on top hardly had any flavour. I would be willing to go back at some point to try something else, but I worry that the pictures of the food, which look excellent, are better than the food itself.

Another thing is that there is something about the food that seems very... watery. And oddly enough, as I was leaving the owner asked me what I thought of the food, and while I was thinking of my response for a couple seconds he asks me "too watery?" He managed to read my mind.

Pros: An okay vegan option

Cons: The food isn't as good as the photos look, The food is "too watery"

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Dear David, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. We would like to thank you for writing about your experience with us. The reason why we asked our staff to ask clients if they think the quesadilla is too watery was because we were in the process of changing it and offering the sauces separately, which we are currently doing. While many clients love it very saucy, we found that it turns others off, so we changed it. If you have any other suggestions, please let us know because we are happy to accommodate everybody and create a wonderful experience, especially for our vegan comrades. We are sending you our best. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food and great location - Edit

Tofunia is one of those places that have it all: good original food, warm hearted staff and great location.
I recommend (both kind of) burgers and (both kind of) pizza, and if you see anything Mexican on the menu, you're lucky :-)

Pros: Good food, Location, Staff

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Dear Or, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. We are very happy that you enjoyed our food and we miss you. We hope that you are having a wonderful summer and we are sending you our warmest thoughts. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Too much emphasis on vegan cheese and not enough on flavor. - Edit

I want to leave a good review as the owner and staff were nice and friendly, but I was really disappointed with the food here.

The whole focus of the restaurant seems to be loading vegan cheese onto everything. Unfortunately, adding cheese to something doesn't make it a good vegan meal. The cheese was not good. It stuck to the roof of my mouth. The texture and taste was just off and not enjoyable.

I got the pizza and quesadilla. The sauce on the pizza tasted like it came straight from a can with no thought put into the seasoning. The quesadilla was covered in a vegan mayonnaise which I didn't enjoy eating.

The only good part of the meal was the French fries on the side.

I hope the chef/owner can think more about flavor and not rely on vegan cheese as the main attraction.

At least it wasn't too expensive or I would have been even more disappointed.

Pros: Cheap, Staff were nice, Good location

Cons: I didn't like the flavor or texture of the cheese

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty! - Edit

We went there last februrary. It's a cosy place worth the visit! The food was super good and the owners were very nice!

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Hello, this is Lori, the manager of Tofunia. We are very happy that you had a great vegan experience in Tofunia and we would like to send you our best. Have a great day. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Just wonderful!! - Edit

An amazing place in the central part of Taipei city near the 101 building. They have vegan pizza with generous vegan cheese on it which was probably the best I've ever tasted!! The chocolate cheesecake was also the bomb. A very cute place to sit and the staff are super nice and friendly. One of the best in Taipei - a must-visit for sure!

Pros: All vegan, Fantastic taste, Reasasonable price

Cons: No alcohol

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Dear Lilac, this is Lori, the westerner behind the counter at Tofunia. I would love to personally thank you for your encouragement and kind words and to say that it was a pleasure talking to you, my only regret is that we didn't talk more. I hope that it the future we could do that. Until then, thank you for leaving us this comment. P.S: We did have alcohol, but it wasn't displayed in the menu. I'm sorry. Sending you my best thoughts and hope to see you soon, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Variety, Flavorful & Reasonable Prices - Edit

I think the other reviews did a good job in describing most of the place already. All people from raw food lovers, to Gluten avoiders and Garlictabooists will find respective choices here. So you can have a nice variety from Healthy&Light, to plain indulgent. We shared the Raw Zucchini Pasta as a starter. It was light&fresh, with a cashew sauce. The main dish was the Vegetable Pizza which was very generously decorated with all kinda vegetables and covered by a nicely melted sticky vegan cheese. The dough was crsipy. It had some cumin in it which I did not mind but people not loving the taste should say so. We finished with the cheese cake which was awesome and very rich. But we did expect it to be frozen so we had it served at the same time with the main dish so when we came to the cake the consistency was perfect.
We left with a full and happy tummy yet did not spend an ureasonable price for it (around 300$ per person)

Pros: generous portions, reasoanble prices, all home made and freshly prepared

Cons: We were so full we could not try more

1 Response
Read More

LorenaBoar 11 Aug 2017 - Dear Mark, this is Lori, the manager from Tofunia. I've just seen your comment. We are very happy that you had fun with us and thank you for leaving us these kind words. Sending you my best thoughts. With warmth, Lori.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic new Vegan Spot in Taipei but ADDRESS is WRONG - Edit

There's long been a vacuum for mid-range vegan restaurants in Taipei, and Tofunia takes the tofu - and the pizza, another vacuum to fill - as a perfect place to help fill this void.
This new vegan-owned and operated restaurant serves a range of Western and fusion foods cooked by a friendly and talented European chef. The inside is simple and pleasant, food is healthy and fantastic and prices are very reasonable for food this good in downtown Taipei.
I ordered a Green Pizza, which was loaded up with freshly-cooked green vegetables, tofu and a generous portion of vegan cheese, cooked to perfection. This and a smoothie came to NT400 - excellent value for food this good.

One important thing to note: the address is wrong, because even the almighty Google can't read Taiwanese addresses in English. Please Google the address (searching for Tofunia in English works) or copy and paste the Chinese-language address from the description into Google Maps. It's closest MRT stop is Xinyi Anhe Station. I have updated Happycow, but it might take a few days to come through. I will remove this note once it is updated.

Updated from previous review on 2016-10-15

Pros: Delicious, healthy vegan food, Beautiful two-storey interior, friendly staff and great vibe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Taipei Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Tofunia closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2073 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support