CLOSED: Tibits

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 180 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

12-14 Heddon St, London, England, W1B 4DA

Offers a food boat of savory vegetarian and vegan entrees as well salads. Help yourself to what you'd like, and a staff will weigh your plate. Food is served until 30 minutes before closing. Fresh juices and takeaway containers available. Reservations taken for group of 4 or more. Affiliated with Hiltl restaurant in Zurich. Reported closed September 2020.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, International, Western, Buffet, Salad bar, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out, European, Breakfast

180 Reviews

First Review by marybheine

sm1102

Points +67

Vegan
07 Jul 2020

Yummy

I wish we had tibits in the states! Such a large selection. My brother particularly enjoyed the amount of fried options. I loved the salads - the pasta salad, the couscous salad, everything...

Like all buffets, some stuff is better than other stuff. But that’s a given.

Pros: Well marked vegan options, Tasty options

TejD

Points +210

Vegan
21 Apr 2020

Good selection and popular with omnivores

Based on the original model from Swiss restaurant Hiltl, tibits offers a range of hot and cold dishes where you pay according to weight. The dishes are clearly marked and allergens labelled well. Really good if you avoid things like onion / garlic. I have found this place to be popular amongst many omnivore friends as there is always something for everyone. A little on the pricier side hence why 4 stars. I used to pop in for a take away of the vegan mango and coconut slice if I was ever in the area but this has now been discontinued. Another personal favourite is the green bean and walnut salad which always takes up a healthy part of my plate!

Happycolour

Points +156

Vegan
19 Apr 2020

Convenient, central, diverse selection!

Last visited Tibits a couple months ago. Great location - central but hidden away from the bustle. Lovely creative food boat always well presented with a diverse selection of all food types. Particularly like their lemon drizzle slice, sticky toffee pudding and range of salads. Definitely recommend!

Pros: Large selection , Items all excellently labelled

Cons: Slightly overpriced

Advertisement

Lenene

Points +549

Vegan
08 Mar 2020

Central, tasty

Took many friends and family there as the buffet always has a range of delicious options. I always end up paying quite a lot because I pile too much on my plate...
The place is huge so it can get a bit loud but it's well decorated and the dim lighting in the evening still makes for a nice chilled place.
They really should go fully vegan though!

Pros: Sooo many veggie and vegan options, Free matches given, Good location and decor

Cons: Can get expensive depending on your appetite, Usually busy, Not 100% vegan

vegansheep

Points +637

Vegan
24 Feb 2020

If it went fully vegan would be the best restaurant ever!

I visit Tibits regularly, and it’s probably my favourite restaurant ever. Highly recommend for anyone in London (either branch is good).
It’s a buffet format and you pay by weight. It is quite expensive, so worth being careful but the choice and taste are incredible.

My main gripe is I just wish they’d go vegan. They are all vegan on Tuesdays and provide options like vegan cream every day so I don’t understand why they don’t do it all the time. They’re clearly capable of creating vegan food that’s absolutely as delicious as their animal containing food so why not let everyone eat all the delicious food all the time?

Other than that, can’t complain.

SzabóBernadett

Points +162

Vegan
17 Jan 2020

Buffet with great options

One of my favourite place in the city. I have been there three times already and each time the food was fresh and tasty. This year during January they serve only vegan food which is an extra bonus and a must visit. Highly recommend to everyone. The only thing what they could improve is to give one napkin/ person only as we ended up with 3 by the end of our courses. As we had 3 rounds of food and each time when you pay they just give you an extra. 🌷

Pros: Fresh food / huge variety of food , Great atmosphere, Good vegan desert options

Cons: To many wasted napkins

DrRaj

Points +51

Vegetarian
03 Oct 2019

Vegan, delicious, expensive

The wide variety of food here is a vegan’s dream. It’s delicious. The pricing is dons by weight of food and ends up being very expensive - but it’s central London! What do you expect?! Despite this, I highly recommend this place.

Pros: Vegan, Great food

Cons: Expensive

philipandglenn

Points +20

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Love Tibits!

Great selection of vegan and vegetarian food and the deserts are amazing!!! The sticky date as well as the chocolate pudding are to die for! Interesting system where you pay by how much the food weighs and the prices are reasonable. Great atmosphere and lovely staff. Very central location.

Pros: Lots of vegan options. , Very central location just off Regent street.

richardspencersmith@h

Points +15

Non Veg
21 Sep 2019

The best place ever!

Food and ambiance are absolutely top at Tibits. There's a great variety of vegetarian and vegan dishes displayed on the central buffet and it's difficult to resist piling the lot on your plate! We normally spend about £20 a head on a main, a dessert and a drink such as the cold or hot lemon and ginger, so it's about average for a high-quality, satisfyingly filling meal in London. We also find you can feel sufficiently private even though the tables are close together. And we recommend the ground floor area rather than the basement, which doesn't have quite the same feel but is good for very large groups.

Updated from previous review on 2019-09-20

Pros: Excellent tasty, fresh food. , Great staff, Loyalty card, which gets you a free drink

Giacomo25

Points +42

Vegan
08 Sep 2019

Average taste/silly vegetarian options.

Sausages that contain milk? I respect vegetarians but it’s so unnecessary to use mock meats that still contain animal products in them. Too expensive for little food that tastes just average. Barely had anything on my plate and paid 16 pounds.

unmond

Points +765

Vegan
24 Aug 2019

Truly wonderful

I love Tibits! So much fantastic food to choose from, and most of it is vegan.
Everything is clearly labelled, so if you can’t stand garlic or have a celery allergy, they’ve got you covered. The signs also explicitly tell you which dishes are vegan (as opposed to just vegetarian).
Their food is lovely, and I believe that there’s something for everyone, even the pickiest eater. However, a word of caution: Be conservative with your portion sizes, or you’ll regret it at the till. (Unfortunately, it’s not cheap…)

SiMa

Points +163

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Great buffet

An interesting concept, buying your food by weight. Fantastic vegan options, and a lot of gluten free stuff too for those whose need that. A plate ends up being about £15 or so. Great dessert options also. The location is lovely too, a nice side street off the hustle and bustle of central London.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

jacquelinekwh

Points +77

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Great Vegetarian Buffet! Yum

Great selection of vegetarian / vegan options but a bit ok the pricey side.

MorganeBe

Points +38

Vegan
12 Jul 2019

My faaaaav place in London!

Vegetarian vegan buffet without the cheap buffet vibes :)

Pros: Vegan options are clearly indicated;, And there are many of them!, Outdoor seating area is very pleasant

sarahep

Points +320

Vegan
12 Jun 2019

Amazing place

Great buffet ! Good quality, low prices. I have been there twice and both times were really good. Also you have free tap water!

Pros: Nice staff, Free tap water, Good quality

RachelJenkins

Points +2088

Vegan
11 Jun 2019

One of London’s highlights

I’m a total sucker for a buffet and the fact that Tibits aces desserts and mains makes it a complete must visit if you’re in the area. The pay by weight is a really fab concept and almost everything is vegan so it’s perfect for veggies and vegans. My favourite savoury option was probably the Egg free salad as egg mayo was a childhood favourite and the desserts were all equally incredible.

Els98

Points +80

Vegan
03 Jun 2019

Love it

Really delicious foods, just be careful not to pile plate too high or it could get expensive! Really nice range of vegan desserts too. Also a nice restaurant- had my birthday dinner downstairs and was a lovely evening, also good for date night!

Topdog

Points +55

Vegan
31 May 2019

Yummy Vegan & Veggie buffet

Great place a little tucked away, my new favorite place to eat in London!

izvegan99

Points +119

Vegan
28 May 2019

Lots of choice and a great concept!

This place is hidden away from the buzz of Piccadilly Circus and features a buffet with an abundance of choice. The food was good but a few dishes felt like they had been sitting around for a bit - this is to be expected from an all day buffet though. A tad pricey but much like many other London eateries!

Pros: Lots of choice , Unique , Nice ambiance

Cons: Overpriced

Chnanis

Points +2322

Vegan
27 May 2019

Absolutely delicious!

Titbits is definitely the must visit restaurant in London for vegetarians and vegans. They have a lot to offer with good variety in the buffet bar. All items are marked clearly if they’re vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, etc. It’s so fun to eat when you can have plenty of options on your plate! Savoury and sweet, all is delicious😄

Pros: Good variety , Pay by weight , Nice atmosphere

Cons: Can be quite packed

Carolynbrown

Points +30

Vegan
25 May 2019

Loved it

Great vegan options ! Loved all the food

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lots of vegan dessert treats , Make your own dish

CristianG

Points +75

Vegetarian
05 May 2019

Terrific selection and quality!

Great selection of food for vegans, vegetarians, and those needing gluten free dishes as well. The desserts were especially great. The cost can go a little high (as it depends on the weight of the food), but the quality and ambience is well worth it.

lulopgack

Points +170

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Great!

Really nice place with a big veg buffet to which you can help yourself and then your plate gets weighed. Everything i tried was yummy and the variety is great.

Pros: Lots of options, Lovely decor and location , Friendly staff

Cons: A bit pricey!

MindaugasZ

Points +15

Vegetarian
13 Apr 2019

Delicious food

Very good food, lots of options to choose from

Pros: Best deserts, Good price, Tasty options

acb49

Points +48

Vegan
03 Mar 2019

Tofu ‘egg’ mayo

Novo salad is so like egg mayo I questioned the staff and chef. Really friendly positive responses and a helpful tip on black salt.
Visited at lunchtime, loads of vegan dishes to try, clearly marked. My plate filled me up all day cost £14.

Pros: New foods to try, Top chef, Friendly

Cons: You pay for the quality to may seem expensive

AntigoniChouri

Points +105

Vegan
19 Feb 2019

Nice place

Cool place, you put whatever you want in your plate, they scale it and that's what you pay. Nice food many vegan options. Lovely ambient.

moniczeek

Points +110

Vegan
13 Feb 2019

Nice food but too expensive

Really nice food and good choice of different tasty bits, but in comparison to most of the places i've been to - expensive.

Very tasty desserts - especially chocolate brownie with vanilla sauce :)

Pros: choice of food, chocolate brownie

Cons: expensive

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Tibits closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 40819 times.