Vegan
Chinese
Take-out
Asian

Gold Coast vegan restaurant serving Chinese and Asian buddhist cuisine. No garlic, onion or added MSG. The vegetable "meats" are protein substitutes made from soy, wheat, yam, seaweed, and/or mushroom. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-8:30pm.


77 Reviews

First Review by Precious

KatieMoore2808

Points +38

Vegan
11 Dec 2023

Lovely!

All vegan! Soooo many different options to please everyone. Tasty vegan food, which is amazing!!! Recommend the crispy teriyaki chikn and dim sims

Advertisement

TBR

Points +356

Vegan
06 Oct 2023

Disappointed

I think this is the same place that my wife and I frequented nearly 15 years ago. If so, we were disappointed now. We had Curry Puffs, Malaysian Hokkien Noodles and Salt & Pepper Tofu. Curry Puffs were ok, noodles were the best dish by far, very tasty. The tofu was not good at all. It was pretty oily and didn't taste anything of salt or pepper, barely tasted of anything.

Pros: All vegan

Cons: Tofu wasn't very good

Kyliewood

Points +894

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

Casual dining fully vegan

If you’re looking for a casual meal then put Tian Ran on the list. The food is tasty and honest. Love there’s no MSG and the ingredients are fresh. The place is clean and staff are friendly. There’s no bar and it’s not a place for a full “restaurant” experience so go without that expectation and you’ll be pleasantly surprised by the food.
Last night we had the roti & curry sauce, Nasi Goreng and tofu in black bean. We were so full that we got to take food home as the portions are nice and generous.

KimSkinner

Points +39

Vegan
23 Apr 2023

Loved it

I had the satay sticks and salt & pepper chicken, it was all amazing! I wish I had time to try more options before we go home.

ellevalso

Points +40

Vegan
20 Feb 2023

Delicious Chinese food!

We loved Tian Rian. We ordered the sweet and sour chicken, fried tofu, satay skewkers and fried calamari.
It was all so delicious and the service was great and came out quickly! Would highly recommend.

Pros: Authentic

ChellyStokman

Points +138

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Ew, why such good reviews ?

I think if you enjoyed the food here, you've never eaten real vegan food before.
So disappointed, it was very expensive for what was rather bland... infact... tasteless food😒

Pros: Lots of options, probably all gross

Cons: Expensive, $15 for 3 tiny bbq buns, The mock "beef" tasted and looked like erasers., Pay for rice separately

Jyd

Points +82

Vegan
17 Dec 2022

Love this place!

Been here numerous times over the years, tried many of the things (not the fake seafood though)

Always got fresh ingredients in the food, tofu and veggies are lighter on the stomach than the bean curd !

NirvanaRoseWilliams

Points +4419

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

A Gold Coast classic

Always come hungry and leave more than satisfied. The owner is super lovely. The food is nice and well priced. This place has been running for over 20 years and the service and food keep everyone coming back

Pros: All vegan , Classic Asian dishes , Great prices

garydodd62

Points +42

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Great start to holiday !

Great food , had the black bean beef with veg, and fried rice… def recommend!

greenkiwi

Points +139

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

fantastic food

we ordered a lot of food and all of it was fantastic and a very reasonable price. the show stopper was the teriyaki chicken, oh my goodness. one of the best things i’ve ever eaten. fantastic. couldn’t recommend enough!

Pros: SO MANY OPTIONS!!!, very well priced, good portion sizes

OceanPrime

Points +258

Vegan
09 Jun 2022

Nice but oily

There was great flavour but everything was battered and/or fried, therefore made me feel sickly. The honey chicken lacked flavour.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-09

Pros: 100% Vegan, Well priced & friendly staff, Large meal sizes

Cons: Most dishes are deep fried & oily

Brae

Points +20

Vegan
12 Mar 2022

Amazing

Food is delicious and the staff are super friendly. This is one of if not my family’s favourite place for dinner. All meals are vegan which is awesome

Pros: Fully vegan, Friendly staff, Amazing food

MichelinHoodies

Points +17

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

From before vegan was 'a thing'

Indulgent Taiwanese influenced cuisine, in a homely relaxed setting at a reasonable price.

Pros: all vegan, healthy or indulgent options, reasonable prices

SuzanneHudgell

Points +62

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Enjoyable meal

Delicious food , not too heavy but filling and great flavours

Pros: All vegan , Excellent service , Busy but relaxing

Veggielife_1

Points +209

Vegetarian
11 Jan 2022

Absolutely amazing Buddhist food!

Went to this restaurant for dinner and it was absolutely amazing and flavoursome! Would highly recommend and love to visit again.

Pros: All vegan, Affordable prices

TheVeganTravelShow

Points +1412

Vegan
23 May 2021

Nothing special anymore

Let me be clear, this restaurant USED TO BE AMAZING!

For many years I was a weekly regular and even featured it in a What Gold Coast Vegans Eat video on youtube, but sadly the quality has been much more miss than hit lately.

It hurts to say that but it's true.

The mock meats are very heavy on the gut and now quite bland. Even the saucy dishes aren't as good as they were before.

Everything is very salty and oily. The steamed dim sims are just tasteless mush (they used to be amazing). They were a struggle to eat.

My favourite dish of the night was the Roti with curry dip starter, however still very heavy on oil.

The staff here have always been friendly and welcoming. The prices are okay, around the $10-$15 mark so it can be good for mid size groups. I preferred it when prices were lower a couple of years ago when prices sat around $10 per main.

This place is generally a very casual restaurant, not really a place to impress.

I think most new vegans would enjoy eating here because everything is vegan & it's a cheap, casual starting point.

After my most recent experience here I doubt I'll return. The reason is because there's just so many other great vegan options around these days and I don't think this place [with the quality of food it's serving] is worth eating anymore.

I noticed that most of the kitchen staff are different now, younger, maybe that's the cause of the quality concerns I have.

Fingers crossed for a 5 star comeback.

Pros: It's as casual as casual dining gets, relatively cheap food, friendly, accommodating staff.

Cons: Low quality meals, heavy on oil and salt, bland flavours.

RoseTaylor

Points +132

Vegan
17 Jan 2021

Awesome vegan food!

Everything I’ve had here has been excellent. Super lovely staff and delicious food, big portions!

Pros: All vegan , Not expensive , Great vibe

Cons: None!

Meaghanmeaghan

Points +166

Vegan
30 Dec 2020

Nice Chinese restaurant

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They fit us in for a last minute booking when I like ramen had a huge queue.
Large servings for a good price. Everything is vegan.

ShontieBussa

Points +36

Vegan
25 Sep 2020

Best tasting food ever!

A cute and cozy restaurant, although nothing flashy, the food is just A
Fresh veggies, great food and always comes out fast.
The bbq pork buns are amaze and hokkinen noodle is a must have!

Pros: 100% Vegan!

Cons: None!

abbieclarke

Points +54

Vegan
01 Sep 2020

Absolute favourite place to get vegan food from the Gold Coast.

Staff are so beautiful and lovely and the food is so delicious! Our top pick for going out / take away😄

Pros: Friendly staff, Amazing food , Very affordable

Cons: Nothing!

AnnyNy

Points +749

Vegan
30 Jul 2020

Deliciuuuuus

The food was fabulous!
I had the satay chicken with coconut rice which paired great. And the rest of the rice I ate as a desert. I also had the fried calamari which was pretty good. Might not look the most representative but the taste is awesome.

Pros: Super tasty, Good price, Many options

Cons: Pictures of the menu would help

NataliaPérez

Points +48

Vegan
02 Jul 2020

Best vegan Chinese food ever!!

My favourite Chinese place. Everything is vegan and delicious. I just can’t believe how good it is. The crispy fish, lemon chicken, nasi goreng.. seems like you are actually eating fish, pork..etc. it’s cheap and comes a lot of food! I would suggest you to go for lunch as I found the food is fresher. Always as a dessert vegan vego chocolate

feassad

Points +24

Vegan
28 Jun 2020

Good but bad

Good service, simple but nice place and big menu.
However, and unfortunately, the food was too greasy. Too much oil and sugar on the dishes. Fully vegan, but not fresh and healthy.

Pros: Cheap, Big menu and large plates, Good service

Cons: Too greasy , Not fresh, Not healthy

EethanPaterson

Points +44

Vegan
04 May 2020

Best vegan Chinese food ever 🤤

Tian ran leaves you feeling comfy and cosy with a nice full belly of delicious food. Amazing staff! Tian ran is my ride or die!

RSD

Points +482

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Delicious

Tasty food, cheap price, friendly staff, definitely recommend!

MillieRichards

Points +46

Vegan
21 Nov 2019

Best place on earth

Food is amazing and the staff are the loveliest, friendliest people ever. Definitely try the steamed dim sim and the egg plant hot pot!

Pros: All vegan , All home made, All delish

NomadEmma

Points +201

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Lacking flavour & greasy

I ate in once & got a takeaway another time. It is very popular & filled up to the point they were turning people away when I sat in. The environment is basic but adequate. Everything is vegan, there are various mock meats, but the food is not fresh or healthy. Portions are very large. Unfortunately both times I found the food lacking in flavour and quite greasy.




This page has been viewed 18844 times.