Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Breakfast

A warm cafe serving a wide range of vegetarian and vegan food, from breakfast, brunch and lunch daily changing specials, including rustic leek and stilton pie served with new potatoes, braised red cabbage and runner beans. Has an extensive array of gluten free items. In-house-made vegan and gluten free soups available, in addition to in-house-made cakes. Drinks include a range of specialty teas and coffees using soy milk at no extra charge. Open Mon-Wed 10:00-15:00, Thu 10:00-16:00, Fri 10:00-15:00, Sat 10:00-16:00.


26 Reviews

First Review by CarlyJackson-Hawkes

GracePlant

Points +634

Vegan
03 Feb 2024

Lovley place

Brilliant food and beautiful cafe🌿

Advertisement

AlDickinson

Points +42

Vegan
03 Oct 2023

Brilliant find!

Possibly the best vegan breakfast I've had that was served by two of the friendliest woman I've come across in a café! Excellent choice of specials and cakes too! Well worth a visit when visiting Chesterfield!
Thank you ladies 🙂

Pros: Friendly!, Fantastic choice!, Tasty!

HayleyFickling

Points +52

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Lovely vegan breakfast and latte

Found this by the sign on the street-great home cooked food and very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend

Pros: Lots of vegan choices, Tasty food, Quick service

koneko

Points +1578

Vegan
15 Jun 2023

Lovely Place

Lovely space, lovely host, good food and the smoothest chocolate cake ever.

Moogles

Points +83

Vegetarian
17 Jan 2023

Good mix of Veggie and vegan food

If you're looking for a nice veggie or vegan hot meal, brunch or lunch time in Chesterfield that isn't fast food Thyme to Eat is a great option. They offer a variety of Vegetarian food, as well as Vegan, although vegan options are smaller, and gluten-free, including home made cakes.

Pros: Home vegetarian and vegan food, Not fast food

Cons: Can be a little expensive

SamIrani

Points +30

Vegan
02 Nov 2022

Homely with plenty of vegan options

Friendly staff.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

RachaelFitzpatrick

Points +108

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Vegan/vegetarian

Lovely cafe, always have vegan specials and deals of the day. Lovely meals. Knowledgeable staff.

darrenb

Points +1113

Vegan
01 Jun 2022

Lovely quaint cafe

Very tasty food, lots of choice (vegan and gluten free), very generous portions and friendly staff. Decent prices too compared to most of the newer places popping up.

Pros: Great choice , Delicious food, Good prices

GiftsForAriadne

Points +34

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

Thyme to Feast

Thyme to Eat is quite a quaint - in the good way - little café set between the alleyways in Chesterfield town centre. It serves a decent menu, with mostly vegetarian options, but there are enough vegan choices not just in terms of meals but in respect to drinks and cakes, too.

I had a BBQ Jackfruit pitta, off the “specials” board, served with sautéed potatoes and a side salad. The food was great, the setting was lovely, and the price was in-line with anywhere else. A really enjoyable meal that made a change from the usual chain cafés and restaurants.

One slight criticism I would make is that the side salad was far too big. Tastes may vary, but this salad was enormous to the point of being wasteful. I ate as much as I could but there was still a lot left - I felt the ratio of salad to the rest of the food was completely wrong, but that’s just me.

Pros: Good food, Reasonably priced, Nice location

Cons: Mountains of salad

Shae-leighSmith

Points +22

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Vegan Brekkie

Love popping in here for a coffee and a cheeky breakfast, lovely hidden gem

Pros: Affordable, Delicious

Gem22

Points +30

Vegan
28 Jan 2022

A hidden gem of a cafe cum mini health shop

This cafe is up a little side street so make sure and Google it so you don't miss it ... what a great find #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-28

Pros: Almost closing time but I was made to feel welcome, Beautiful vegan chilli, Sticky, gooey, yummy date and something cake!

Cons: Could have stayed longer ..., Wish I'd taken photos to upload

Robsta254

Points +16

Vegan
06 Dec 2021

Tasty vegan breakfast

Staff very friendly. Great service

Cons: Reasonable priced

gervasep

Points +102

Vegan
25 Aug 2021

Solid vegan breakfast

Good value vegan breakfast with all the essentials and an oat latte thrown in! Also have a few vegan aptions for lunch

franarchy

Points +52

Vegan
26 Aug 2020

What an amazing find

Had a brilliant vegan breakfast and a excellent oat latte would always have this as a first choice when in chesterfield

Pros: Good vegan choice, Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere

Cons: Non

nige53

Points +24

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

Thyme to eat

Had a good breakfast at a very reasonable price. Friendly staff what more can you say.

Pros: Reasonable price

Cons: None

smartyfish

Points +199

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Good value, friendly, home-cooking in a relaxed cafe

We had brunch on two consecutive days here; breakfast basic but great value with tea included. Lovely relaxing interior and substantial, tasty, home-cooked food. Friendly, informal cafe with delicious vegan cakes and pots of tea.

Pros: Vegan breakfast option, Homemade vegan cakes , Good portion sizes and value

Cons: Single-use plastic condiment sachets :-(

hack_man

Points +23068

Vegan
04 May 2019

Sign O’ The Thymes

Typical traditional England style tearoom bit like a well lived in living room. The vegan breakfast consisting of toast, beans, roast potatoes, fried tomatoes and mushrooms is great value at £6 including a pot of tea. Add 65p for a sausage too. An enjoyable time was had.

Pros: Homely , Great breakfasts , Good value

Cons: Bit worn in parts

ChristopherHarrop

Points +22

Vegan
13 Feb 2018

A good all rounder

Serving lots of vegan and vegetarian meals and cake. Good options of soya, almond milks etc. Specials board always has something interesting on it. Enough space for prams.

Pros: Good options, staff friendly, enough space for a family

Cons: slight need of updating. condensation on windows a

CLRtraveller

Points +7913

Vegan
18 Nov 2017

Good home-style cooking

I was in Chesterfield for a short stay and ate lunch twice at Thyme to Eat. Both were satisfying, tasty meals. The place seemed very popular with the locals, some having just coffee and cake. Menu includes soups, hot meals, a daily risotto, desserts and coffees and teas. Breakfast too. Quick service. Has a few shelves of packaged goods, spices and teas. I had the nutty parsnip and celeriac bake with potatoes and salad and, next day, the nut roast with potatoes, four vegetables and veg gravy. Good!

Pros: pleasant, quick service, many vegan options

Hoggy

Points +1234

Vegan
20 Sep 2017

Tea Thyme

Thyme to Eat is a vegetarian café that can be easily found in the centre of Chesterfield, with a comprehensive range of vegan options. Not fully accessible as there are steps to the seating area and toilets. A range of plant milks available.

I ordered the Vegan Chilli, but swapped the rice out for salad, and my mum ordered a Houmous, Avocado and Cucumber sandwich, which comes with salad. All items arrived promptly, and were very tasty. Mum commented the bread was a bit thick cut for her taste, especially as the avocado’s presented really chunky to, but this might be to people’s preference. I was surprised the chilli had very minimal bean content, however I was more than happy at the variety of vegetables within the dish.

Unfortunately the premises contain multiple layers which require steps, another customer stumbled down them on her way out but thankfully caught herself on a nearby table before going down to the ground fully. The toilets were grubby too which was a disappointment. The prices were very reasonable and our meals were very tasty however which is a credit.

Pros: Clearly labelled vegan options, Good variety of vegan options, Range of plant milks

Cons: Not fully accessible, Grubby toilets

edajoir

Points +133

Vegan
16 Sep 2017

Very nice cafe with Vegan options

I have been here for Breakfast and Lunch, both times the place was busy, staff really friendly and options were plentiful.
I have had the Vegan Breakfast with a lentil (I think) sausage, the Breakfast was amazing but the sausage wasn't the best, wouldn't recommend that - maybe move to Linda McCartney's.
For lunch I had a Mushroom and Red Pepper panini with a Leek and Potato soup - which was amazing. My favourite soup.
Would definitely come again one of 2 veggie places in little Chesterfield centre.

Pros: Vegan options , Friendly staff

AnnaDoherty

Points +15

Mostly Veg
06 Dec 2016

Love Love Love!!

Fabulous little eatery in Chesterfield! Wedged amongst the Shambles, this cosy and warm cafe has a fantastic range of veggie, vegan and gluten-free eats and even a kids menu! Would definitely recommend!

Pros: Great open space but also with cosy feel, Incredibly lovely and helpful staff, The food is incredible - I had the soup of the day

IanSharpe

Points +16

Vegan
28 Oct 2016

Nice lunch in a pleasant environment

Not a fully vegan café, but a good choice, had the Vegan Chilli, with rice, had a long wait but when it arrived tasty and filling. Disappointing choice of Vegan cakes, only one I saw. Will come back.

Libra77

Points +2680

Vegan
28 Aug 2016

Lunch

We popped in here for a quick lunch one rainy afternoon. We found the menu quite limited for vegans, wasn't a huge amount of choice and the choices available were quite basic. They do have vegan 'cheese' so one of us had a toastie and the other a scone with vegan spread. I'd pop in again if in the area but feel the menu needs some improvement, sorry.

Rosa Mundi

Points +265

Vegetarian
30 Mar 2015

Cosy, quaint vegetarian cafe

Extensive menu with specials each day.
The portions are generous and there are interesting salads.
I had a celeriac and parsnip bake.
It was tasty but very dry (needed a sauce or gravy) and had half mashed vegetables in it. It was dolloped on the plate and did not look attractive. Perhaps it would have been better served in a small bowl.
However, the cafe was very popular and I would certainly visit again.

Pros: Tasty salads, Pleasant atmosphere, Reasonably priced

Cons: Presentation of some dishes

CarlyJackson-Hawkes

Points +15

Mostly Veg
21 Apr 2014

Veggie Family Dining

Thyme to eat is a family favourite as my husband and kids are all veggie. Since my daughter became vegan in the new year it's invaluable as a place to eat out in town. Also great to know we can pop in for tea and cakes as no where else in town does vegan cakes.

Pros: Family Friendly, Lots Of Choice, Vegan And Gluten Free Items On Menu

Cons: Although Resonance Priced For Amounts Served Cost




This page has been viewed 6221 times.