Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Dive bar with labeled vegan options including jackfruit nachos, burgers, hot dogs and more. Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 9:00am-11:00pm.


Venue map for Three Dollar Deweys
© OpenStreetMap contributors

37 Reviews

First Review by McMallory

Stephcounselor

Points +506

Vegan
10 Oct 2023

Meh

The service was good. The vegan nachos are just a bag of daiya dumped on stale tricolor chips. Go there for the beer —not the food

Advertisement

Knighttime

Points +220

Vegetarian
24 Sep 2023

Whole page on menu dedicated to veg options

If you have a craving for pub food this is a decent place.

Pros: 2 vegan burger option , Vegan poutine , Bar atmosphere

kaylab21c

Points +107

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Great

Relaxed, fun atmosphere & good bar food. We had poutine & the Buffalo tofu sandwich

farthereaches

Points +434

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

Ton of vegan options; poutine not great

had the vegan poutine here and i was really looking forward to it although it was a bit pricey. What came out was a bit sad though, the fries looked like they were limp and soggy before the mushroom gravy was even poured on top. they seems to be pulled out too soon and they were pretty then. The portion was also a bit on the smaller side in relation to the price so that didn’t help. I think if you come here then maybe go for something with jackfruit.

Jeff81

Points +309

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Fun bar scene

We went for a late lunch. The service was friendly and fast. There were several vegan options as well as good beer. The food was typical bar food. No surprises, just tasty and decent sized portions.

Jeff81

18 Jun 2023

Forgot to add: the poutine was delicious.

kateeatsleaves

Points +241

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Awesome vegan options

I love that there is a little vegan menu here. I got the vegan burger with coleslaw and bbq jackfruit. It was so good. The meal also came with fries and a pickle and cost $17- which is pretty good compared to the prices for most vegan burger meals. Aside from what I got they had two other vegan burgers, a vegan dog, a vegan grilled cheese, and vegan nachos.

Pros: Many vegan options , Decent prices , Good atmosphere

Jazzman221

Points +96

Vegan
27 Dec 2022

Hit the spot on a chilly PM

It’s been here forever but it’s great that they evolved and added vegan choices! Vegan chili and vegan burger were both delicious.

Pros: Separate vegan/veg section of menu., Vegan chili perfect for cold weather, Prices seem reasonable

DirtyDiana

Points +180

Vegan
08 Oct 2022

Great pub vibes

I got the vegan nachos and the Brussels sprouts and WOW the Brussels sprouts are DIVINE!! The nachos were great too, full of flavor and way too much for one person!

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Great location

MadisonRanta

Points +189

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

it was okay!

i got the vegan nachos ($16 with just cheese jalapeños and pico- was $4 extra to add guac and 5-6 to add a vegan protein) so that was a tad expensive. the cheese melted very well which was impressive and delicious! i also got the beyond sausage and didn’t take a pic but it was very bland and was nothing special. the sausage itself was dry and it didn’t come with any toppings. it was right in old port area which was very convenient and i’d go again if it was my only option. had vegan stuff like burgers, a sausage, a grilled cheese, and tacos so that was a fairly wide selection. everything’s clearly labeled vegan.

Pros: lots of vegan options, separate vegan menu

Cons: kind of expensive , bland

KPOstergren

Points +99

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Pleasant surprise

I was drawn to this place because of its name & was pleasantly surprised that they had an entirely separate vegan menu! It was really good!!!

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Lots of options

efg3

Points +102

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2022

Separate Vegan Menu

Pub with a separate vegan menu.

lily.edelmangold

Points +58

Vegan
08 May 2022

good food, not a ton of options

vegan options are labeled, but there isn’t a wide variety.

Pros: specifies vegan options on menu, not expensive

Cons: limited vegan options

charlouie

Points +676

Vegan
16 Mar 2022

Nice place

Very American diner, lots of vegan options. I highly recommend the brussel sprouts, they were so delicious. They should offer that as a side option, instead of fries!

Cheri

Points +40

Vegan
06 Feb 2022

Vegan aplenty

Have a whole separate vegan menu with everything from nachos to burgers to chili dogs

Lots of delicious options to choose from #Veganuary

Pros: Whole separate vegan menu!

stephbaggz

Points +157

Vegan
06 Nov 2021

Ok

We ordered to go. They have a vegan menu section which was nice. Husband ordered a burger and said it was good. I ordered a grilled cheese and it was BAD. Couldn’t eat it. Just daiya with a tomato slice on sourdough not toasted or melted at all….not worth the calories…

EvaJRunner

Points +93

Vegan
14 Oct 2021

Love it!

The vegan nachos are amazing and the portions are huge!

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-02

Pros: Great vegan options on the menu

MaryT

Points +386

Vegan
21 Sep 2021

Would return if I lived here

Had the vegan nachos. The serving was huge and the cheese was nice and melted. It was a pretty simple plate of nachos with jalapeños and some pico, but I added barbecued jackfruit and that made it all much greater. The server was super friendly.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-21

Healthychefmeals

Points +261

Vegan
17 Sep 2021

Fun Atmosphere for Everyone

Ate here with a variety of family from all over while visiting and watching football. We cramed 8 at a bar table - the waiter was wonderful! Has a separate vegan/vegetarian menu with "normal" options. We ordered the nachos and BBQ jackfruit sandwich (which was fun because we had just come from a wedding offering BBQ to the non-vegans and roasted veg for the vegans). Careful with the nachos - LOADED with layers jalapeno's (far too many really), suggest you ask them to ease up and maybe get them on the side. The sandwich was quite tasty.

Pros: Accommodating staff, Fun atmosphere, Great beer selection

EEN411

Points +61

Vegan
05 May 2021

5 stars

The poutine and nachos are so good, not to mention the best mixed drinks in Portland!

Pros: Good vegan food options (gluten free available), Good drinks , Good atmosphere and prices

Cons: Can be busy , Sometimes slow service due to business , Parking can be hard to find

cherivolta

Points +44

Vegan
17 Jan 2021

Lots of vegan options

They have a whole separate vegan menu with jackfruit beyond burger beyond sausage tofu stir fry etc. Also willing to make substitutions as needed. Lots of vegan options reasonably priced

emacduff095

Points +302

Vegan
24 Sep 2020

Vegan Bar Food Menu

One of the chefs is vegan so they added an entire vegan menu. Lots of plant-based meat dishes and house-made vegan cheese.

Pros: Separate vegan menu , Fair price , Convenient if you are dining with meat-eaters

Cons: Lots of fake meat (if you aren’t into that)

Kristenlamarre

Points +29

Vegan
07 Jul 2020

Delicious

We stopped by here coming south for lunch. They have a patio set up out back and allow dogs in the patio which was great since we had our dog. I was the only vegan with two non vegans. We started with the vegan poutine to share and all three of us cleaned the plate. It was delicious! I got the pulled jackfruit tacos and they were delicious as well.

The only thing that I would change is everything on the vegan menu is gluten free. I did originally want the pulled jackfruit sandwich but did not really want a gluten free bun, our server was going to ask if any of the other buns were vegan but we were in a bit if a time crunch so I got the tacos instead. Having the option to get gluten free or not gluten free would be nice! (Also they may have this as an option and I just didn't wait to find out!)

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Food was delicious, Easy for vegan and non vegan alike

Cons: All vegan items are gluten free

SableStrout

Points +1258

Vegan
27 Jun 2020

A little expensive for the quality - but extensive vegan choices!

I am so encouraged by the MANY selections that are clearly labeled vegan here. I love that there is no modification process and you can rest easy and enjoy a beer with friends that are non-vegan. However, the quality/portion size of the food doesn’t match up with the price. I’ll keep supporting them in hopes that things even out a little bit.

Pros: Many vegan options, Options clearly labeled

Cons: Not entirely vegan, Expensive for quality

zachweeks

Points +236

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

Overpriced

Came in on a night that wasn’t super busy, service was painfully slow. Many vegan options but it’s super expensive for what you get / small ish portions. The vegan menu seems to be entirely GF which is cool but the bun was extremely small and not great for that reason. Burger was just okay and the jackfruit tacos were a solid 7/10 but again, very small portions especially for the price point. Ranch dressing was actually disgusting. They use Beyond products and daiya cheeses. Probably will not return.

Pros: Decent amount of vegan options

Cons: Overpriced , Slow service

NotJustHummus

Points +62

Vegan
09 Feb 2020

Vegan *choices* on a pub-style menu (i.e., not just "here's a salad")

We've been to $3 Deweys many times, including before the new ownership and before becoming vegan. Since then, they have an entire menu area dedicated to vegan and GF options. Not just a salad, or a Beyond Burger, so I actually have to decide between options, which is refreshing.

As others have said, it's not health food, but it's hearty and satisfying. They do have a roasted veggie stir fry that sounds totally yummy.

I had the Toasted Tofu and Avocado Sandwich: marinated tofu, avocado spread, caramelized onions, arugula, GF local bread, vegan ranch dressing, with fries. Really tasty, and I don't know if it was the flavor combinations or that we were a couple hundred feet from Casco Bay, but it had a strange fried-fish-like flavor, which was okay with me. (I loved fried haddock sandwiches in my pre-veg days!)

Last visit I had the Jackfruit pulled pork sandwich with veg coleslaw. Really good.
Next time I'm eager to try the vegan Poutine!

Pros: More than a dozen vegan choices, Helpful staff, Comfy pub atmosphere right in the Old Port

Cons: Beyond Burger/Sausage comprise many choices

TravelVegan333

Points +49

Vegan
03 Dec 2019

Off the hook!!!

I had the vegan poutine and it was so delicious.

LadySnowIva

Points +156

Vegan
15 Nov 2019

Delicious Greasy Bar food

Staff is knowledgeable and the menu is well marked. All vegan options are gluten free for people who are sensitive to gluten or have wheat allergies.
This is not the option for you if you are looking for healthy options, everything is in a layer of fat, deep fried, and amazing for the cheat days. Keeps you full for hours.

Try the brussel sprouts on the app menu and I hear they are coming up with vegan desserts soon!




This page has been viewed 5061 times.