Vegan-friendly
British

Some vegan items on menu. Reported closed January 2024.


Venue map for The Zoo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

29 Reviews

First Review by hack_man

Bubbard

Points +888

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Best place in Hull for vegan food!

Always a pleasure coming here, from the welcoming atmosphere to the vast, tasty vegan options on the menu.

Pros: Tasty, Great vibes, Very affordable

Cons: Not always open (worth the wait)

Advertisement

ninadcrocha

Points +59

Vegan
19 Apr 2023

Closed 😭😭😭😭

I was devastated to know that one of the best vegan places I’ve been has shut. I don’t know if it’s temporary but I really hope so. Miss my Sunday brunches there

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-19

NickLangley

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 Sep 2022

The Best

It's a well established café with an understandably excellent reputation.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian and vegan options. , Great prices and staff., Dog friendly.

Cons: Upstairs toilets not disabled friendly.

Chocolate1

Points +17

Mostly Veg
16 Aug 2022

Hidden gem

My hubbys fave eating place. Tried most things on the menu and all totally delicious.Great value and big portions, you won’t need another thing afterwards!!

dstubbins

Points +13

Vegetarian
28 May 2022

Amazing food by long established vegetarian restaurant.

Tried lots on the menu and they are all delicious.

Pros: Dedicated vegetarian and vegan menu, Great staff, Plenty of seating with outdoor courtyard

EKSH

Points +970

Vegan
21 Feb 2022

Great Spot!

Lovely cafe with great breakfast/brunch options. On a (rare) sunny day you can sit outside.

Foxtail

Points +17

Vegetarian
15 Feb 2022

Lovely place!

Plenty of options to choose from, I had the French toast and my boyfriend had the Dahl. Tried both and they were delicious and good portion sizes for your money.
Staff were lovely and the cafe itself is very pretty and off the main Street so nice and quiet. Will definitely be going again!

Remvic

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Feb 2022

A perfect find.

Six of us went on a reunion weekend, and could not have been happier with this find. Two of us are veggie, and all six of us cam out singing the praises of this great little cafe. Between we chose the cooked breakfast and the avocado on toast, fresh juice and smoothies. All delicious. Friendly staff, great atmosphere. Will go again, a lovely place for a Sunday brunch.

Pros: Tasty, fresh food., Friendly staff, Cosy decor and atmosphere.

Cons: Noticed a few people having to wait for tables, Get there early on a Sunday

Lenene

Points +872

Vegan
27 Jul 2021

Cute cafe with delicious food

Tucked away from traffic, this vegetarian cafe offers so many vegan options, it was hard to choose! I went for the Zoo breakfast and it. delivered. See photos to see what I mean.

Eating outside also means being surrounded with lovely plants and flowers. My oat flat white was good too.

So happy to have found this place. The staff is really nice and smiley and service is quick - I will definitely be back!

Pros: Fully vegetarian with lots of vegan options, Many plants and flowers, Friendly and efficient staff

Cons: Can't think of any!

RealLekker

Points +23

Mostly Veg
09 Nov 2020

An exceptional cafe hidden down an alleyway

Everything on the menu is Veggie/Vegan or can mostly be adapted to vegan, and it's all utterly beautiful! My personal favourite is the quiche, which comes with plenty of salads. Top quality coffee and teas. Staff are always friendly, and willing to recommend dishes. The Zoo is also dog friendly, but dogs cannot go upstairs in the cafe.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly and helpful staff , Cosy environment

Cons: Gets very busy at lunchtime

SunnyT31

Points +40

Vegan
02 Sep 2020

Nice food

Excellent quality food but have been put off by some staff (not all!) being rude last 2-3 times I've been. There are plenty of vegan options down Newland now so will go elsewhere in future.

Pros: Food, Setting, Location

Cons: Service (not all staff!)

Delphinus

Points +215

Vegan
24 Oct 2019

Yummy!!

Hubby and I had lunch today, he had Spanish Tortilla and I Falafel Flatbread. Both huge portions of delicious, flavoursome, fresh food topped with fresh herbs. Lovely accompaniments of slaw and grains.
Coffee and Chai Latte lovely, I should have asked for my latte extra hot - ask if that’s your preference.
Nice environment and music too.

Pros: Fresh, Healthy, Big portions

Cons: No Cons

sweetheartjimmy

Points +166

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Delicious lunch

I love coming here for the food and atmosphere. There is a great selection and most of the vegetarian options can be made vegan, be sure to ask! I love the balance of healthy and fast food that they have.

Pros: Good prices, Good food, Good selection

Micci

Points +74

Vegan
07 Sep 2019

Gorgeous vegan food

My first encounter since Zoo has been refurbished and it all looks loads better!! Lots of vegan choices and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My hubby had a veggie quiche with salad and I had the vegan strawberry cake with vegan vanilla ice cream. Huge helpings too!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Good helpings

Tom7436

Points +208

Vegan
15 Jun 2019

Great Food, Coffee & Location

Went for lunch and the range of choices was great. Food was really tasty and each dish came with an amazing side salad that was very delicious.

I had the (Vegan) Zoo Burger which was fantastic and my GF had the (Vegetarian) Chilli Burrito which was also very good. 100% recommend this place to all vegan/non vegan people.

Pros: Entirely Vegan & Vegetarian Menu, Great Value & Amazing Food, Nice Outdoor Seating

Cons: No Menus to sit and read at table (if anything)

FrejaIsabelleGift

Points +48

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Hull’s best cafe with the friendliest staff

Food is consistency delicious, filling and fresh! I love all the salad the comes with so much of the menu - wonderful value, delicious and healthy! The staff are so kind and the atmosphere is homely and welcoming wether visiting alone or in a group. My favourite place to eat in Hull by far!

Pros: The best selection of salads, Delicious vegan breakfast

Cons: None

LaurenJ.Cameron

Points +152

Vegan
18 Nov 2018

Nutritious and filling

Friendly staff who fed me half an hour before closing! Big bowl of yummy vegan curry that was good value. A good flat white with oat milk too. May be difficult to find due to being down an alley! Look for the sign!

Pros: Nearly all menu items can be made vegan, Homely, unpretentious feel, Generous portions and good value

ChloeNewman

Points +34

Vegan
14 May 2018

Refurbished and still great

Recently renovated and under new ownership, same homely feel and great food.

Updated from previous review on 2018-05-14

Pros: All Vegetarian, Outside Space

Halkamo

Points +120

Vegan
22 Sep 2017

Beautiful cafe

I had gorgeous food here, they attempt to offer veganised alternatives and my shakshuka with avocado instead of egg was inspired and very delicious. My only complaint would be that the cakes weren't vegan. Waaah. I love cake!
It's down the side of Herons.

Pros: veganised options, Beautiful upstairs area

Cons: there were no vegan cakes , closes quite early

KatyEvelyn

Points +40

Vegan
12 Sep 2017

Just the best!

My family and I have visited Zoo more times than I can remember and the food has always been delicious and well thought out, the portions are VERY generous and it's great value for money. The cafe had a huge refurb this year and so looks fantastic inside and out. The staff are some of the friendliest you'll come across. Can't rate this place high enough!

Pros: Large portions, Great range, Value for money

romyhoskin

Points +174

Vegan
26 May 2017

Good

Really cute little place, went today for this first time and had a vegan breakfast, it was lovely! They said pretty much everything can be made vegan on the menu so I can't wait to go back and try some more.

mjveganfitness

Points +1669

Vegan
27 Jun 2016

Fab

As one of the only vegan places to eat in the city, this is a great little casual cafe. Staff really friendly and helpful when it came to allergens etc and nothing seemed to be too much trouble - even picking out cucumber from the salad to suit our needs! Enjoyed a homemade soup and a giant vegan burger. Really cheap - Worth popping by if you're in the area!

Pros: Veggie options, Vegan options, Cheap

Cons: More gluten free options

PatriciaMF

23 May 2019

Do you mean one of the few? It certainly isn't the only vegan place (though unfortunately Hitchcock's is open only in the evening).

mjveganfitness

23 May 2019

@patriciaMF well when I wrote this 3 years ago it was.

StevieSurf

Points +1895

Vegan
27 Dec 2015

Great spot for vegan lunch in Hull

I made a couple of visits to this place in the same day. Hidden off the main street, with a lovely sweet coutyard that would be great in summer, this is a surprisingly spacious venue with a mishmash of cosy furnishings. Quite an extensive venue. Some good vegan options. Good cake!

Pros: Cosy venue, Lovely staff, Great puddings!

MariaJade

Points +124

Vegan
10 Nov 2014

Lovely Cafe!

It's great here for veggies and vegans, whether it's just the cake or for a full meal (the soya banana milkshake is to die for!) and staff are friendly too. Would highly recommend.

hungryveg

Points +33

Vegetarian
21 Aug 2012

Ok food but some a bit pricy for what it is

I try to support vegie cafes and restaurants as much as can. I cannot understand why vege places in Hull have to be so (how to put this politely) ... rustic. I had the vege burger and asked for it to take away. It was very tasty and would get it again but £4.50 for a midweek lunch (not incuding a drink) is expensive to me and for a weekend treat I would tend to go somewhere a bit smarter and comfortable. Would be nice to have a smaller and cheaper lunch take away menu, sausage rolls, egg/sausage butties etc.

Pros: tasty, fully vegetarian, good choice of cakes

Cons: pricy for what it is, needs a smarter location

samfox

Points +32

Vegan
06 Feb 2012

Great Cafe, Friendly Staff

Following numerous visits, I thought it only right that I finally write a review! The menu at Zoo is a varied typical cafe menu incliding a great range of coffees, teas, smoothies, soup,breakfasts, burgers, mezze, burritos. jackey potatoes etc. There is a great selection of cakes which can be had with vegan ice cream.

I had the veggie burger with onions and hummous. The hummous is delicious, tasting that good it has to be home made, the burger itself was tasty and filling.

i then had a smoothy, which was as yummy as you would expect, followed by vegan chocolate fudge cake with vegan icecream.

The prices are incredibly good eg. burger £4.50, cake £2.20 with ice cream.

The staff were accomodating, and took the time to talk us through what was vegan. When i asked for a black coffee they were also quick to offer soya milk (believe me ive been to loads of vegan friendly places and they never have it). I left (my previous visits were over a year ago due to work) thinking i will definately visit again, so a week later here i am! (well i cant remember menus normally!)

highly recommend a visit, the best vegan/veggie cafe in hull by far.

Pros: Staff Friendly, Excellent Value, Menu Choices

Cons: Hard to Find - hardly a con though.

LauraFox

Points +47

Vegan
26 Nov 2011

Great Cafe!!

I visited Zoo cafe earlier this month and was very happy with my experience there. There were a few vegan options on the menu- I had the vegan burger.

It was great value at £15 for both me and my partner to eat and have one drink each.

The cafe has a laidback atmosphere.It's somewhere you could go and meet your friends or take a laptop to do some work on or sit and read. (there is some comfy seating there)

The staff were lovely- my boyfriend wanted houmous on his burger and the lady who served us popped out for some more lemons so she could make it fresh- nothing was too much trouble.

We will definitely return when next in Hull.

Pros: great value, laidback atmosphere, good food




This page has been viewed 15216 times.