• The Yews

  • (7)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Asian
British
European
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Part of the Chef and Brewer pub chain. Offers several labelled vegan options in the menu such as an ultimate vegan burger, Asian noodle salad, courgette and harissa rice skewers and a couple of desserts. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-23:00.


Venue map for The Yews
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by 20daisy00

tim_doubleday

Points +274

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Perfect Sunday Roast

The vegan roast was a pastry wellington with veg etc. Really tasty and filling. Friendly place with very nice beer garden too. Would go again.

Advertisement

KimStone

Points +164

Vegan
12 Jun 2023

A few choices - great service

We we’re travelling towards Cambridge so needed somewhere on route.
It was nice to have a few options to choose from - we had the mushroom and ale pie, burger and cheesecake. Good portion size, quick service.

Pros: Great Service, Multiple Choices, Good portions

naomip123

Points +3816

Vegan
27 Jun 2021

Some vegan options in country pub

This is one of three pubs in the village of Great Glen, two of which do food (the other is the Pug and Greyhound). The building is old and atmosphere pleasant, with quite friendly staff. There is a pub garden for sunny days. The menu is meat heavy, but does have a couple of vegan options (burger, mushroom pie) and a vegetarian option (risotto).

I had the harissa skewers for starters, which were very nice, followed by the mushroom pie. There was quite a lot of pastry (and I say this as a carb queen) but the pie filling was tasty and the chips were great. The pub is owned by Greene King, so the real ale choice is often limited, but the night we went they had some Black Sheep on.

One fly in the ointment was that my wife, who is allergic to peanuts, had to basically sign something (on an iPad) to day she was ok with eating there. It didn't feel very friendly or as if they wanted to cater for her allergy - more like she was an inconvenience and they didn't want her to sue. Apart from that, the meal was tasty and pleasant enough.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-27

Pros: Nice atmosphere, Good sized portions

Cons: To much meat on menu, Unfriendly to people with allergies

VeganskJarvis

Points +145

Vegan
07 Mar 2020

Good Food!

Came here because my usual bike ride café stop was closed. It doesn't mention anything about having soya milk on their website but thankfully they do so I had a cup of tea. The vegan chocolate raspberry torte was really nice. Service was quick, people friendly and a nice cosy atmosphere inside.

Tamsinfm

Points +210

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Cosy by the fire

Good vegan menu, my personal fave is the fish-less fish and chips very tasty, friendly staff and cosy atmosphere

PoweredByPlants

Points +154

Vegan
14 Jul 2019

Lovely venue and burger

We had the vegan burgers with chips and really enjoyed them. The lunch menu is good value - excellent portion at £7 each. The sides don’t have vegan labelling on the menu for some reason so double check with their allergen folder.

We sat in the garden and had a very relaxing hour with our newborn. The pub itself is huge too and beautifully decorated. Staff were friendly. Only downside is the corridor to the toilets is really dark and the lights therein take a while to come on - so I know some of my family with sight issues wouldn’t feel comfortable. Not a problem if you’ve got great vision though of course!

Pros: Possible to have a 3 course meal , Good value lunch, Friendly staff

Cons: Limited options for evening 2/3 course meals, Some dark areas to toilets

20daisy00

Points +794

Vegan
04 Jun 2018

Vegan friendly pub

A family friendly pub in a small village which is very vegan friendly. The harissa rice skewers were lovely and enything on the food menu is clearly labelled (including whether it can be veganized). There were several sorbets/sundaes as well as a chocolate torte (which seemed to be the same as served in the Hungary Horse chain) which can be served as a mini pudding as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and it was an excellent place to visit alongside omnivore family.

Pros: Large vegan selection, Clear labelling, Free wifi

Cons: Drinks menu not labelled as vegan




This page has been viewed 1620 times.