• The Westminster Tea Rooms

  • (23)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
British
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Has separate vegan menu with choices including a lasagne, sandwich, vegan sausage and mash, nut roast. Has a gluten free menu where some items can be made vegan on request. Open Mon-Fri 10:00-16:00, Sat-Sun 10:00-17:00.


Venue map for The Westminster Tea Rooms
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by RosannaHutchinson

GeoffLayland

Points +29

Vegetarian
09 Jul 2023

A Wonderful find

Looking for a nice place for breakfast - a fabulous find. So impressed we returned for Sunday lunch - wonderful 1920’s theme. Delicious food for all tastes

Pros: Menu, Decor , Staff

Advertisement

Ceebow

Points +20

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Lovely place to visit

Visited for the first time in Good Friday. Lots of choice. We had scone with butter, jam and cream and pancakes with ice cream,both delicious. Would recommend.

Pros: Comprehensive vegan menu reasonably priced, Has vegan breakfast, lunch and afternoon teas, Restaurant has 1920s vibe

Cons: Small , Can’t book in advance , Also caters for non-vegans

Sugapiesan

Points +53

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Small portions slow service

Food was nice and served hot but it took an hour to get food, kids got bored quickly. Nice atmosphere but very hot in the dining area. Would have liked bigger portion of the nut roast, would have left hungry if it wasn’t for eating daughters left chips. 9 year old had pasta off kids menu, came in a plastic small bowl portion size for a two year old. Green gunpowder tea was undrinkable after eating due to being so stewed.

Pros: Food tasty, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Slow service , Small portions , Green tea £4.50 and gross

TianaTheVegan

Points +113

Vegan
27 Mar 2022

Amazing vegan afternoon tea!

Lovely quaint little cafe with an amazing vegan menu with fully vegan afternoon tea (vegan sandwiches, cakes and scones, and even vegan cream!) and several vegan main meal options too. They also cater to gluten free requirements. 100% recommended. Can’t wait to go back!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Soya milk for drinks, Gluten free options too

PipLee

Points +106

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

Plenty of vegan options

Sweet vintage style tearoom (similar but smaller than Betty’s) Al Bowlly music playing created the 30s vibe.
Excellent choice for vegans. I had the club sandwich, my friend had the vegan breakfast. Good size portions. We moved tables as felt too squashed. But by the window was ok. It was busy. Would go again.

Pros: Atmosphere -vintage vibe , Plenty of choice , Good staff service.

Cons: Too hot. No air flow. , Tables crammed in (could be more spacious) , Fairly pricey.

John4703

Points +305

Vegan
15 Feb 2022

An interesting place

They have a lot of vegan options on their menu.
The service was excellent and the food was delicious.
It was our first visit today 16 Feb 2022 but we will be back as it was so good.

LouiseDunwoodie

Points +42

Vegan
15 Jan 2022

Brilliant.

If I was able to give The Westminster Tea Room a 5 star rating I would have done. All of the food and drink was absolutely gorgeous. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. I will definitely be going here again when I next visit Southport.😄#Veganuary

Pros: Awesome vegan menu choices , Delicious food, Great atmosphere

Cons: None

Heatherforever

Points +32

Vegan
08 Jan 2022

LOVE it here.

Vegan afternoon tea prepared with care and attention. No different standard to omni options. Staff attentive and knowledgeable. Brilliant. Can’t wait to come back and try the meals and breakfast. #Veganuary

Pros: Many vegan options, Many actually delicious vegan options, Breakfast, hot lunches and afternoon tea.

Cons: I don’t live close enough

Clairedee

Points +58

Vegan
05 Sep 2021

Fab little place!

Would give 5 stars if the app allowed it! The place is lovely inside, very old-fashioned (purposely) and very cosy. I am coeliac as well as vegan and the staff couldn't do enough for me. So friendly and helpful.
The food was lovely. The homemade chips are incredible and there are LOADS of vegan options including afternoon tea, lasagne, cottage pie, chilli, full english breakfast and lots more.
It's not the cheapest place. Main meals cost around £12 - £20

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lovely interior, Friendly staff

Cons: Expensive

Herbivore2706

Points +82

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

Lots of vegan options

Lovely setting and plenty of vegan choices. I had a vegan club sandwich with vegan bacon, Avacado and Hummus and it was very tasty.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Lovely setting

Cons: Expensive , Serves meat and dairy meals

JessLamb

Points +102

Vegan
28 Dec 2020

Masses of choice

The most choice I’ve ever had at a cafe that’s not entirely vegan. Vegan 3 tiered afternoon tea, desserts and loads of hot meal options. Cosy, traditional interior.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Excellent service

Cons: Cash only

richtaylor76

Points +121

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Lovely afternoon tea

Lovely traditional tea room, excellent service, delicious scones! Update 22/09/19- fantastic Sunday lunch and amazing mezze platter today!

veganevolutionist

Points +1898

Vegan
29 Aug 2019

Great Vegan Options

The decor is delightful, I love it here. It has many vegan options, I’ve never been disappointed. Really looking forward to having the vegan afternoon tea sometime.

Pros: Great vegan options, Delightful decor, Fab location

Djmarsh89

Points +238

Vegan
26 Mar 2019

Great little place!

Such an unassuming place for vegan food. An old fashioned tea room but with full vegan menu, savoury and sweet! Try the vegan club sandwich and the scones with coconut cream and jam.

Pros: Great vegan choice

katstubbs

Points +36

Vegan
01 Nov 2018

What a treat!

Spent a wonderful hour at Westminster Tea Rooms with my husband and two children. The vegan afternoon tea was a surprise and a real treat, delicious finger sandwiches, beautiful cake and a delicious homemade warm scone. The decor is understated luxury and everyone including my vegetarian kids and meat eating husband left satisfied.

colibroc

Points +43

Vegan
21 Jul 2018

Posh nosh

This place was a good find. Very attractive. Only-worldy tea room but with modern vegan options. We went in for an afternoon tea but I was swayed by the vegan club sandwich which didn’t disappoint. It was super filling and a lovely combination of flavours. A lovely cup of tea to go with it with a choice of soya or almond milk. The staff were well dressed and extremely polite too. We’ll be back!

Pros: Attractive decor , Lots of vegan options, Decent portions

BraínneEdge

Points +239

Vegan
06 Apr 2018

unexpected loveliness

Very traditional and quirky resturant. Lots of vegsn options and knowledgable staff.

Pros: three whole pages in the menu!

Cons: service a little slow

StarMoon

Points +24

Vegan
05 Apr 2018

Delicious variety of Vegan options and Excellent Service!

Lovely little place, has very good traditional English vegan options that are all clearly labeled. Very generous with side salads too. Very good coffee served in cafetiere. Although not fully vegan it's the perfect place to take the more traditional family members so everyone can have a lovely time. Lovely and cosey when it's winter too.

Pros: Delicious Coffee! Generous portions. Very cosey. L

Cons: Only vegan milk option is soy. Closes at 5pm. Can

Toniab

Points +18

Vegan
30 Jun 2017

delicious vegan cream tea

10 out of 10 service, atmosphere, food, vegan cream tea and pot of tea (unlimited) for £15,

SammyJeanHunt

Points +18

Vegan
14 Jan 2017

Very Special

Delighted to see 3 pages of vegan options including afternoon tea. We both had "the dutchess" which could have been shared but we were hungry! Fresh sandwiches with tofu and roasted vegetables, scone and jam, chocolate cake with coconut cream and fruit custard tart. Extensive selection of teas and coffees. Sweet and cosy atmosphere, friendly staff dressed to match the victorian theme. Thoughrouly enjoyed our visit and will be our go-to next time we visit Southport.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lovely theme and atmosphere , Friendly well mannered staff

Cons: Probably very busy in high season

La1a

Points +285

Vegan
06 Nov 2016

Wealth of vegan options!

This really is the place to go in Southport if you are vegan. Ask for the vegan menu and you will be pleasantly surprised. A wide range of light dishes, main dishes, sides and various afternoon teas... all lovely and good value. I strongly recommend the "Dutchess" afternoon tea: four small sandwiches, each with a different filling, an AMAZING scone with vegan butter, whipped coconut cream and jam and TWO cakes - usually a moist chocolate brownie and a fruit tart PLUS a pot of tea or coffee with soya milk, if desired. This all costs less than 13 squid - phenominal. Staff are really attentive and friendly. If I could give this place 5 stars I would as it is such a vegan haven.

Pros: Huge vegan menu, Great value, Vintage charm

VeganEleanor

Points +83

Vegan
12 Oct 2016

Great vegan scones

Love the vegan scones here. But I really try and avoid going at peak times as it's been very slow service the past few times I've been. Great vegan selection though. The scones and afternoon tea in particular.

RosannaHutchinson

Points +30

Vegan
31 Aug 2016

amazing choice

Loads of choice, massive venue menu. Includes breakfast, afternoon tea, sandwiches and hot meals. Food is homemade and lovely. My mum had the nut roast and I had the sausage and mash (Linda mcartney) really enjoyed the meal and I wish I lived nearer to it.




This page has been viewed 6510 times.