• The Walrus

  • (11)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Traditional British fare but with a number of vegan offerings in the menu, including pizza with vegan cheese. Sunday roast has vegan option. Also hosts a vegan supper club. Open Mon-Tue 12:00-23:00, Wed-Thu 12:00-02:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-02:30, Sun 12:00-23:00.


Venue map for The Walrus
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by AmeliaC

Carolinaghan

Points +231

Vegan
29 Dec 2023

Nice Xmas Dinner

Went for a three-course family Xmas dinner and the walrus were very accommodating. The food itself was very nice and it was a set menu. Starting with a soup, then nut roast Wellington and tart for dessert - all vegan.

The starter and main were overly salty, but the staff provided some extra sauces to counterbalance.
Some of the other family members found the same thing with the soup and Wellington so it must have been that batch. For a three-course meal, it was very reasonably priced though! I forgot to take photos of the starter and main.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-29

Advertisement

LeandraStracquadanio

Points +251

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Really delicious roast

The only thing missing was a vegan Yorkie!

drlj

Points +610

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Good value roast

We had a vegan Sunday roast including a mushroom & spinach Wellington, roast potatoes, veggies & gravy. It was good and portions were generous. Place is nice - cosy downstairs in winter & a nice sheltered roof garden for summer. Not the best roast I’ve ever had but decent pub food.

Pros: Generous portions , Nice roof garden

Cons: Serves meat

NickyKonings

Points +35

Vegan
08 Apr 2022

Bad salty food

Not good at all. Too salty but friendly staff

Pros: Couple of vegan options

Cons: Too salty

snicketgreen

Points +117

Vegan
17 Dec 2021

Lovely food but scary Covid policy

We came here 2 years ago and had a lovely vegan roast but I have just seen multiple instances on Twitter of staff being made to go in when they have Covid symptoms (and later test positive on a PCR). Be safe guys!

mariamc27

Points +1071

Vegan
15 Aug 2021

Food was fab

My roast was so good! My non vegan friend didn't have as much luck but I loved it! Cute

JenniferJillHarman

Points +570

Vegan
17 Jul 2019

Adorable decor, delicious plant-based options

We went here with a small group of people of mixed dietary restrictions. The pub decor was very cute and the food was delicious! Several great vegan options.

Pros: Delicious plant-based options, Monthly vegan feast evenings, Convenient location

Cons: Service was a little slow

kirstycurls

Points +84

Vegan
13 Jan 2019

Delicious vegan roast

Delicious vegan roast, great portions, highly recommend

richard9131

Points +34

Vegan
26 Aug 2018

Shame it can’t be five stars

Just finished the best Vegan roast I’ve ever had. Every part of it was amazing. Likewise for the other meat versions for the family. Nice atmosphere and lovely staff.

Magenta

Points +65

Vegan
18 May 2018

Found on Happy Cow!

So I looked on the App for nearby places & found The Walrus, ran into a guy on the street who overheard me talking & recommended it!
Fabulous options on the Food & Drinks Menu. Met Alan General Manager at the bar who told me about their Monthly Vegan Supper Nights 3 Course dinner 3 vegan wines £24.50 13th June next one!
Fabulous find!! Outdoor space too!!

Pros: Flexible Chef, Friendly staff, Vegan wines

Cons: Dark inside on a sunny day

AmeliaC

Points +349

Vegan
15 May 2018

Cannot rave enough!

I had prepared for our one-night stay in Brighton by shortlisting the restaurants I wanted to visit and purchasing tickets to the Royal Pavilion. Brighton is a kind of vegan mecca for England and we were ready to be spoiled. That night after freezing rain and wind, we went to a different restaurant to get a "proper vegan carvery". Carvery's and Sunday Roasts are a traditional dinner in England on Sundays and we knew that Brighton was one of the few places we could get one. When we arrived to the other restaurant ready to tuck into some traditional British fare, we were bummed to learn that they had run out of vegan servings for their carvery that day. This is when things got interesting... while we chatted with the barman trying to sort out where to go, a young patron sitting at the bar whipped out his phone and called The Walrus. He verified that they still had vegan servings left and got us directions. Three cheers for the friendly patron that went out of his way to find us dinner! We are thankful for you, stranger!

Humming with gratitude that someone would go so far out of our way for us, we took the short walk down to The Walrus. Walking into the warm and cozy pub downstairs felt exactly like what we thought a traditional British pub and restaurant would feel like. Barely glancing at the menu, we selected the only vegan option... the Vegan Wellington dinner. Sipping our pints and looking out to the rickety street below, we waited for our plates.

When these massive entree's arrived, our jaws dropped. Not only was it a vegan option, but it was a robust, well presented, ultra-traditional vegan option... which is practically unheard of. A golden flakey wellington stuffed with spinach, mushrooms, and vegan cheese was over a bed of almond-mushroom gravy, it's perfectly crisp crust barely visible beneath the mountain of golden beets, stewed cabbage, perfectly cooked roasted potatoes, and a massive carrot and asparagus lay over the whole thing. The plate was finished with a Yorkshire pudding of epic proportions, which we knew wasn't vegan (the menu indicated that the plate was vegetarian, vegan without the pudding). Our second time back was similar, only with cauliflower gratin and broccoli with peas. I'd literally write more but I'm running out of characters... go, go go!




This page has been viewed 2660 times.