The Waiting Room

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 25 reviews )

Find

134 Deptford High St, Deptford, South East London, England, SE8 3PQ

Small cafe along Deptford High St offering coffee, cakes (has vegan, wheat-free), in addition to sandwiches and brunch food like falafel, bagels and hot dogs. Previously at 142 Deptford High St.
Note May 2020: confirmed reopened from May 31, 2020 with limited bagel menu and coffee drinks. Open Mon-Fri 08:00-16:00, Sat 09:00-17:00, Sun 10:00-16:00.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, Western, Take-out, Bakery

25 Reviews

First Review by FloGraceB

drlj

Points +435

Vegan
13 Jun 2021

Now even better, serving tacos in evenings!

We used to go to The Waiting Room when it was just a cafe and loved the coffees and bagels. But now it has an evening taco menu too! We had margaritas, chilli nachos and several tacos, including the special. They were really good! The margaritas were cheap and too delicious - maybe stronger than they seemed! Sit outside in the garden if you can.

Pros: All vegan, Everything is delicious , Lovely chill vibe

Cons: Only open thurs-sat for evening tacos, Cheap margaritas may lead to a hangover

vegatsu

Points +29

Vegan
28 Mar 2021

Can’t go wrong with the waiting room

Always a friendly welcome and great service from the staff. Delicious vegan food and great coffee. The perfect combo!

Pros: Fully Vegan menu, Great coffee, Good atmosphere

Sambexuk

Points +105

Vegan
22 Aug 2020

Bagel

Best vegan bagels I’ve had. Great community atmosphere . Great food

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Great coffee, Good atmosphere

Advertisement

TinieTempeh

Points +66

Vegan
28 Jan 2020

The best in the biz

You literally can't go wrong with this place - brick lane bagels, amazing hot dogs, trashy sammies - it's all incredible. It's also super fairly priced and the coffee is the best in the area (made with Oatly, of course). I've taken loads of omni pals here who always love it, too. A total winner.

Pros: Delish and well priced.

Cons: Difficult to get a seat.

LukeForest

Points +40

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

The best in South London

Can't go to the big city without stopping here.

Lovley people, right next to the station and the food is too good to describe. Never over priced and never a let down.

A must visit in South London.

X🙏

Pros: Choice, Locaion, Cost

Cons: You want to try everything, You want to try everything, You want to try everything

Daveyoga

Points +26

Vegetarian
14 Sep 2019

Nice looking place but deafening noise

Nice looking place but noise deafening

EvitaA.

Points +28

Vegan
31 Mar 2019

Love this place

The vegan hot dog was delicious and the coffee was excellent! The staff were really lovely. They now take cards.

Pros: Vegan alternative for everything on the menu , Fast service , Great staff

Clare

Points +2319

Vegan
30 Nov 2018

Deptford Delicious

This is definitely my favourite cafe in the world.

It's handily located just over the road from Deptford train station and within easy walking from Deptford High Street bus stop and a little further from Deptford Bridge DLR and bus stop.

Originally opened in 2011, it moved to a dew doors down and is refurbed in Nivember 2018. It has an idiosyncratic style, largely influenced by it's strong links with the tattoo parlour a couple of doors down "Kids Love Ink". It's a focal point for artists and musicians as well as those in need of a cup of the best coffee in Deptford on a break from bargain hunting in the market. Service is always friendly and courteous.

They totally get the concept of vegan (many items can be veganised upon request).

Their standard blend coffee is Union Revelation and they are soon to introduce guest coffees and filter coffees.

It gets busy at breakfast and lunch times particularly on Wednesdays and Saturdays (market days).

The loyalty card gives holders every 7th and 14th hot drink free. Get on down there!!!

Pros: Great food to eat in or take away, Relaxed vibe, Vegan options and cakes

SkyFitzgerald

Points +1910

Vegan
18 Nov 2018

So busy n for good reason

I got a muffin (the last one left) but there were lots of other options too!! So busy it was difficult to even find a seat despite it being pretty big. Not expensive either - yay !

LiamScott

Points +26

Vegan
30 Jul 2018

Classy, quick, affordable, and delicious.

Came to The Waiting Room on my way out of London and it might just have been the best food I had during my stay.

Catandmouse

Points +39

Vegetarian
23 Mar 2018

quick and friendly service

I got a wrap on my way back to central London. The staff helped me decide and they made it quickly enough that I still got my train. The falafel wrap was good but it included a lot of sauce. Personally I am not that much of a saucy girl.

Pros: lots of good choices, fresh ingredients

Cons: too much sauce in the wraps (for my taste)

sarahhh

Points +259

Vegan
17 Mar 2018

great food, great vibes

Love this place. It’s tiny - ten seats - and has a real relaxed, happy vibe. Tons of pop culture decoration, and the food is super good - so many vegan options, and everything is at minimum vegetarian. I had the Spicy Maiden bagel and an oat milk latte. Will be back for sure.

Pros: lots of vegan options, hearty flavourful food, helpful, friendly staff

Cons: we think they should make the jump & go full vegan

don.banano

Points +206

Vegetarian
05 Mar 2018

fell in love with their hotdogs!

Very cosy place for a snack or a cake. Interestingly broad choice of hot-dogs, and decent quality! They also have a wide selection of bevarages and drinks, with the unforgettable chilli chocolate. Good and affordable.

CherylKqy

Points +157

Vegan
16 Jan 2018

Spoilt for choices

I had a bagel and it was filled to the brim. The price is also very reasonable and you will be overwhelmed with all the options they have. Everything can be made vegan

Pros: Affordable, everything can be vegan

Cons: Will Be nice with more seating space

Emmeline

Points +46

Vegan
02 Dec 2017

Love this place!

One of my favourite places in SE, it's nice, a lot of delicious options, and bagels start at £2.90 bargain! Staff are super friendly

CaitlinRawe

Points +17

Vegetarian
17 Oct 2017

Great food

I have been here a few times and the food has always been great and the price is very reasonable.
Only downside is how small it is, there aren't many places to sit inside so I usually have to take my food to go.
I highly recommend the chicken stripper and the breakfast muffin!

Pros: Price, Lots of choice on menu, Good quality food

Cons: Size of the place

monisonfire

Points +3468

Vegan
09 Oct 2017

great little cafe!

a friend took me here for breakfast. i had a hot mint chocolate and a bagel with banana, vegan nutella and peanut butter. it was insanely sweet bit very delicious!
mint chocolate was phenomenal!
i made the mistake to assume that everything’s vegan. unfortunately, the pancakes aren’t. this was pointed out by the guy taking our order though. perfect service!

cosy atmosphere, there seem to be many regulars here and also people who probably aren’t vegetarians themselves but enjoy a nice coffee & snack.

prices are incredible as portions are big and tasty! bagels cost 2,90 / 3,20 pounds. tea starts at 1,90. coffees and chocolate were about 2,50-3,50. little breakfast snacks from 2-3,50 (if i remember correctly)
highly recommended!

Pros: choices, price, atmosphere & location

Polstar

Points +29

Vegan
23 Jan 2017

Best coffee and vegan burgers in London

This is my favourite vegan-friendly place in South-East London. A cosy café with a wide range of burgers and hotdogs that can be veganised. There is always a range of tasty cakes on offer and their coffee is the best.

Pros: coffee, almost everything can be veganised, great service

Cons: small so difficult to get a seat

The London Vegan

Points +1738

Vegan
08 Jan 2017

nice and cheap vegan junk food spot!

Cool place, lots of character with tonnes of vegan options including burgers, hot dogs, fish fingers and more. The shakes are delicious too! Prices very cheap for London.

LydiaCrook94

Points +88

Vegan
23 Aug 2016

Simple, affordable, friendly

The Waiting Room is a lovely little cafe tucked away on Deptford Highstreet. The food here is great! Service is quick and the staff are very friendly. So great to have a vegan friendly restaurant in this area, however they are now seeming to be popping up all over the place! The food is very reasonably priced, which is rare to find these days in London, especially for vegan and vegetarian food. Also a lovely and very affordable place to grab a drink with friends in the evening. However it is quick a small restaurant and you may end up standing. Burgers, hotdogs, wraps, bagels, coffee, alcoholic beverages and even some vegan cakes!

Bunny2004

Points +327

Vegan
12 Jul 2016

Great food, great coffee, well priced

A delicious selection of vegan and vegetarian food. Bagels, hotdogs, burgers, cakes, milkshakes. All fantastically delicious.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, well priced, good coffee, y

Cons: small- I've had to go elsewhere when it's busy :(

veganisbest

Points +36

Vegan
19 Mar 2016

Brilliant!

Cute little place, full of character. Great hot dogs and burgers and more. Really good value and food always fresh and really yum!

Pros: Great vegan fast food and cakes

Alexandra1

Points +56

Vegan
14 Jan 2016

great vegan ribs

This place feels cosy and inviting. Fantastic chewy, meaty seitan BBQ ribs. The hot dogs and burgers are also delicious and the food is all very reasonably priced. We'll definitely be visiting again.

Jennyjoan

Points +40

Vegan
11 Nov 2015

Wow!

So many great options to choose from ❤️

FloGraceB

Points +28

Vegan
08 Apr 2015

Favourite place for coffee and cake

I've only ever had cake and drinks there but they're the best!
They have great range in flavours, there's always some new flavour cake and they're always really yummy!
It's a great looking place too.
Wish i'd have tried one of their savoury options (they have tonnes to offer) to comment but i'm sure they're great too! They have hot dog style stuff and burgers. Veggie and vegan options only.
To anyone living outside south east london this may be out of the way but I live close and love this place, i'd totally recommend venturing down here!

Pros: Great cakes and drinks!, Lovely looking inside!, Cheap

Cons: A bit out of the way

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to South East London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Waiting Room closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8426 times.