Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Western
Buffet
Beer/Wine

Resort restaurant catering primarily for staying guests but is open to outside bookings for dinner - be sure to specify vegan when making your reservation. Ocean views. Open Thu-Sat 5:30pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Views Vegetarian Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by drsnuggles79

Jennifleur

Points +1118

Vegan
01 Mar 2023

The Views is Great News! 🌱

We were staying close by so thought it rude not to try this restaurant. TA reviews were good so we walked up here from the pretty seafront. We managed to bag a table for an early supper and as we are vegan, happily ordered the vegan options for both the starters and the mains, plus the two sides(!). The starters were a generous size and looked really easy on the eye. This was accompanied by a bottle of the local, organic Richmond Plains Pinot Noir, a red wine produced just kilometres away at Nelson, New Zealand. Next up were the mains. They did not disappoint; the only disappointment could have been was needing to share them! We have enjoyed our visit so much that we hope to rebook again for tomorrow, to come with some new friends and show them that vegans don’t just eat grass and that eating vegetarian is a delight, not a chore.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-28

Pros: 50% vegan options, GF available , Generous portions, Reasonably priced for high end food

Cons: Book now otherwise you may be disappointed

Jennifleur

28 Feb 2023

Plus, opening hours are now extended so do check!

Advertisement

maddywa

Points +191

Vegan
06 Mar 2021

So lovely

Yum! We had the loveliest meal here. I can’t believe we only just found it! The chowder was my favourite but everything was super tasty. Prices were as expected for good quality food in a nice establishment. Will definitely be coming back!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, So tasty, Nice atmosphere

Cons: No vegan cheese on pizzas!

karenlo

Points +62

Vegan
28 Feb 2020

Delicious!

Everything we tried was so good! I recommend the pizza bread starter and the Indian Dahl

Pros: Lots of vegan options, The views!, Friendly staff

Cons: The outdoor patio was pretty buggy

Orion

Points +1415

Vegan
11 Jan 2020

Not just dinner

All vegetarian dinner menu, most meals can be made vegan.
The food we had was all really delicious the o my bad things I have to say is that it’s quite pricey and when you have the vegan option, instead of subbing something out for tofu or giving you extra vege they just take food off your plate and call it a day.

Pros: Doesn’t serve meat, Delicious food

Cons: Pricey, Need to sub out instead of just removing food

Simplesorceress

Points +84

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Heaps of Vegan options

Really fancy and pricey meals but if you can afford it then it's worth it. Ignore the old reviews as they have a new menu with heaps of vegan options. Also it is no longer a buffet you can order off the menu

ReneVaughan

Points +74

Vegan
04 Dec 2018

High expectations

The restaurant has great views of Kaiteriteri, the staff are wonderful. As a vegetarian restaurant I had high expectations that there would be lots of vegan options. I was disappointed. There was a chickpea curry and a quinoa salad, with lemon sorbet as the desert. These seem to be the default vegan meals for lots of restaurants that can't deal with vegans. Perhaps my own fault. As the previous reviewer said to call ahead. I should have done that. As a vegetarian restaurant in an eco resort I expected more.

drsnuggles79

Points +529

Vegan
24 Feb 2013

Vegan friendly but a la carte only

If you call a day before eating there and mention that a vegan meal is required the very friendly staff will gladly inform the chef, so you'll find a vegan choice throughout the next days menu.

In our case we had an apple-celery soup with croutons which was very balanced and tasty. As a main we had the tofu curry with perfectly cooked veges, couscous and yummy roasted tofu slices - all with a light spicy flavour which was just right.

Our dessert was a apple blueberry crumble which normally comes with ice cream. The vegan option was, well, to just opt it out. This was a bit disappointing as buying some vegan icecream shouldn't be that hard.

Overall we had a nice evening, as the food was really very good, well portioned but nothing special and offering vegan options by just letting away (in this case icecream) shows a lack of understanding and/or appreciation of vegan customers, at least for me. Also I didn't like the old fashioned quartz crystal lamps on the tables which give the place a bit of a cheap look. Hopefully the owners or the chef will find this critic helpful to improve in this matters.

This said I have to mention that the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they even offered us to have a look at their very own glowing worms track at night which definately was worth the money we paid for the dinner! I reckon that the track is for hotel guests only. Also, when you are lucky, you'll get a table with sea view or even outside seating, with great with towards Kaiteriteri beach!

Pros: very tasty food, great views, very friendly staff

Cons: not many choices as vegan, interior needs a bit improvement




This page has been viewed 3294 times.