Vegan
Pizza
Indian
Fast food
Take-out

The UK's first plant-based fish'and chip shop - Feb 2019 reported to have stopped using dairy. Fast food takeaway with vegan (mostly soy-based) versions of classic chip shop dishes: battered fish, pies, pasties, battered sausage, chips, curry sauce and mushy peas. Also serves Indian meals (with vegan naan), burgers, pizzas (vegan cheese available), and various side dishes. Friendly and enthusiastic staff who are passionate about vegetarian food. Seating available but it is primarily a takeaway. Reported closed July 2023.


Venue map for The Veggie Chippy
© OpenStreetMap contributors

51 Reviews

First Review by kwanza

MehulRana

Points +80

Vegan
05 May 2023

Tasty kebab

Will definitely go again

Pros: Great options, Well priced, Great service

Advertisement

Rasculture

Points +84

Vegan
27 Feb 2023

Best vegan chippie!

Always get great customer service here - independently owned and tasty food!

Pros: totally vegan menu, brilliant customer service

Cons: not open enough, limited seats to dine in, no sweet options

NirvanaRoseWilliams

Points +4428

Vegan
10 Dec 2022

The best vegan fish

My partner was blown away by the fish. It’s the best fish he has had in his life. The chips were perfect English chips, great mushy peas and curry sauce.

The staff are beyond lovely offering us free potato scallops while we waited and taste tests. It felt like we were family.

Pros: Mainly vegan , Fantastic food (that fish) , Lovely staff

NaomiAlt

Points +56

Vegan
22 Nov 2022

Nice vegan takeaway

Super friendly staff even had sth for free. We really enjoyed the food and will def come back again!

Pros: Lots of options , Great prices, Friendly staff

Cons: A lot of waste, More for takeaway

hcr94

Points +16

Vegan
19 Nov 2022

Great food and amazing service

Fish is the one thing I've missed since going vegan - this has quenched my appetite!

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-19

catandcupcake

Points +3875

Vegan
17 Oct 2022

Friendly and lots of choice

So much choice! Very friendly, polite and helpful staff. Good value for big portions. Food made fresh. It's vegetarian not vegan though, they have dairy cheese available for pizzas.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-17

PaulHolroyd

Points +482

Vegan
25 Sep 2022

Vegan chippy

Great to see a fully vegan vish n chip shop, also does pizzas and pasta.

martinfearn

Points +48

Vegan
23 Aug 2022

Great proper chip shop

Really friendly staff who check if you’re vegan or vegetarian when you’re ordering. Decent sized portions and good quality food.

Edit: Went again last night, my first visit since the pandemic. Still open, still friendly and the food is still great, so give them a visit.

Updated from previous review on 2019-12-07

Pros: Range of vegan items, Friendly staff, Good value

Cons: Location - parking can be difficult due to taxis

imogenmichel

Points +2631

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Proper English vish and chips!

I came here for dinner tonight after driving down to Birmingham for work and am so glad I did! I got battered vish and chips which looked and tasted just like I remembered it from my childhood in England, even down to the paper it was wrapped in. Hopefully I’ll get time to come back and try some more of the menu while I’m here. Highly recommended!

peasbeansandpulp

Points +219

Vegan
26 Jul 2022

Fish and Chips in blighty

Great customer service, be good food!

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-19

Pros: Customer services. , Fish and chips was good, Clean shop with seating area

EddyNumb

Points +451

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

Tremendous!

Faux fish n chips that look and taste absolutely real. The tandoori vegan chicken burst with flavor. The enthusiastic and friendly staff will make you feel special. Massive portions at a wallet friendly price too.

AK12

Points +134

Vegan
26 Mar 2022

The battered Vod is soooo good!

I have been meaning to try this place for a while, and had a craving for an authentic as possible 'fish' and chip experience since becoming vegan. The owner is lovely and there were soo many options, he suggested the battered vod and it was soooo good! Highly recommend this place!

WilhelmSONGEONS

Points +22

Vegan
21 Dec 2021

Vegan chip shop

Un lieu incroyable et hyper convivial pour qui cherche un vegan chip shop !

Pros: Staff very kind

Cons: Open only between 4pm and 10pm

JulieEA

10 Jan 2022

Thanks for the info about the opening hours, we've updated them.

KerryWoolf

Points +23

Vegetarian
04 Nov 2021

Love this place!

Food is amazing and staff really friendly. Highly recommend

HA(Hady)

Points +113

Vegan
01 Sep 2021

Visit often...

This place has good variety junk food, everything you’d get in a chippy but vegan, apart from dairy cheese. The owners are brilliant and really friendly. Everything here is delicious so I recommend you to try the menu one by one! One con is that food can be inconsistent sometimes.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-01

Pros: Great variety, Friendly owners

Cons: No seating, Serves dairy

MichaelaWilliams

Points +18

Vegan
27 Feb 2021

Tasty Food at Great Prices

I've ordered from them a numerous amount of times and I've never been disappointed. The food is tasty and at a reasonable price. Would definitely recommend to all - vegans and non vegans alike.

moniquejacklyn

Points +36

Vegan
27 Sep 2020

Extremely disappointing

I would have given one star but happy cow wouldn’t let me.
I was so excited to try this place having just moved into the area from another area which had a solely veggie / vegan chip shop which was amazing, I was so happy to see that I could still have those options available to me from my new home, however I definitely won’t be returning.
Service is slow, staff don’t seem to be quite with it, general atmosphere was off putting, food was greasy and not of a good standard plus over priced.

TallYellowVegan

Points +72

Vegan
21 Jul 2020

Love it - time and time again

I've been a regular here for around 2 years now and never been disappointed. Decent value for money, huge range of vegan options from burgers, pizzas, fried 'chicken' and masala fish. Tandoori chicken and masala fish are my favourites. Chips are great.

Pros: Great vegan range, Good value

Cons: Sometimes wait is a little longer than anticipated, Limited parking, Don't expect healthy options

AlexKingston75

Points +48

Vegan
15 Jun 2020

Disappointing quality

I was really looking forward to trying this place after seeing the reviews. Sadly both myself and my friend were disappointed with the offering. We ordered the tandoori and southern fried Vhicken served in a naan with chips

The meat substitute was wet, greasy and didn’t have any resemblance to chicken, like you get with quorn or vegan Aldi options. The naan was also dry and barely held together. The chips were really good though, fresh potato chips which were perfectly cooked.

They also ran out of vinegar so we had to put our own on when we got home. Sadly I wouldn’t return.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Great tasting chips

Cons: Greasy wet vhicken that tastes like fake fish

kennyp353

13 Apr 2021

Vegan fish and chip shop... so you order curry and naan and complain about it.... mmmkay. Like people go to a curry house, order omelette and chips, and say it's not the best omelette they ever ate.

AlexKingston75

10 Jan 2022

@kennyp353 they offer a wide range of food and not just fish and chips. What I ordered from the menu wasn’t to our taste and not of a good standard. So your comments are absolutely pointless.

Riotgoddess

Points +190

Vegan
11 Jun 2020

Simply Great

Everything you could ever dream of.

raiu

Points +232

Vegan
09 Feb 2020

sooo goood

Im so happy I had the chance to go here. delicious food and great staff!! do yourself a favor and go there

StevieSurf

Points +1895

Vegan
05 Feb 2020

It’s a chippy but not as you knew it!

What a curious find; late night sitting in a regular chippie with a 99% vegan menu! Enjoyed a variety of items some provided for free as samples by the lovely staff. It’s a local place with a local flavour and a taste of most satisfying vegan comfort food!

Pros: Vegan Chippie!!!, A big menu , Fantastic helpful and friendly staff

Ant1Plant1

Points +1734

Vegan
05 Jan 2020

Veggie Chippy it is exactly what it says!

Love the food in this place it's basically your standard chippy but vegan. They've been very creative in making all the traditional vegan foods available and they are always bringing out new products. It's a chippy so it comes as you'd expect nothing different just all plants-based foods which is great.

Pros: Owner are great and passionate, Real chip shop feel, Delicious and fresh food

Cons: Wish they were open throughout the day

Catannierose

Points +70

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Just like a chip shop but vegan!

Super friendly staff, good food - especially the tandoori chicken-style nuggets and the the chips were proper chip shop chips!

Bit out of the way from the centre but worth the journey 😊

BlissAlexandra

Points +261

Vegan
06 Oct 2019

Good vibesssssss

Came down from London to Brum for a black history event and wanted some vegan food Around 10pm and found these peeps on happy cow!! Food was super yummy — love the authentic chip shop vibes. Super affordable and love the owners energy they were super hospitable. Deffo back when I’m back in Brum!!

Pros: Lots of options , Cheap, Lovely customer service

dij0u

Points +16

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

Wow

The KFC style pieces and the spicy tandori nuggets are mind blowing! 🔥

Podolska

Points +16

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

One of best Vegan Chip Shop

I’ve tried a lots of vegan chip shops before I went to this one. It’s amazing! Great kebab, great pizza, great food in general. Staff are always polite and friendly. Love this place. Like I already said to the members of staff I would love them to be in other places across UK too. They are cooking everything fresh. The only minus is when they are closed and Google does not always say that and yet you still can call them so you are not sure until you get there but that not happened often.

Pros: Lots of Vegan option, Friendly staff, Great taste of food

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 26388 times.