6
  • CLOSED: The Vegan Vault

  • (12)
    20

    Closed

  • Other Other
    Vegan

Once-a-month on Saturday evening 6-10pm, a fully vegan night market with food trucks, food stalls, merchandise for sale, and live music. Relocated from 171 Victoria St. Reported closed February 2023.


Venue map for The Vegan Vault
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by @ndy

ArturasK

Points +1249

Vegan
11 Jul 2021

Love it

Used to go there every month to try some great vegan food (2018). My favs were Hungry Giraffe, Taco Addicts and Ethiopian place. I have some very fond memories from this gathering. Make sure that you try out spicy vegan kebab and vegan pad thai @ Hungry Giraffe stall.

Advertisement

millerfly13

Points +119

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

Vegan haven

Wish this market was a bit bigger but heaps of options and great to bring vegan-curious friends and family to.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, YUUUUUM, Relatively cheap food options

Cons: Wish it was bigger!

HayleyTheBohemian

Points +139

Vegan
17 Sep 2019

Amazing variety

A great place to try heaps of different foods with friends! 22 dumplings for 10 bucks?! Thats value!

Pros: So many different options, Amazing flavours, Mostly quite cheap food

juliepepper

Points +113

Vegan
13 Aug 2018

Great opportunity to check out many vegan places on one day

I’ve been at the Vegan Market in June and really loved it ! They have great food, everyone is really nice and they also have live music. Really recommend it !

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Music, Nice people

Spacecat77

Points +19

Herbivore
03 Jun 2018

Great market

I have been to quite a few of these monthly markets and I look forward to them each time. Like the reviewer below has mentioned there was a bit less variety here over summer, however I think that may be due to it being a busy time of year with stall holders having other festivals on etc. The last two times I have been it has been very busy and the selection of stalls has made it difficult to choose what to eat! I’m glad it is in such a central location and while the venue isn’t glamorous it is a good size and works well with the indoor and outdoor area (especially in the Wellington winter) If you are in Wellington on the first Saturday of the month you should definitely check it out!

Pros: Great range of food to choose from, Central location , Friendly atmosphere

Cons: Not much of a seating area anymore

Cosmic Illusion

Points +118

Vegan
04 Feb 2018

Gone down hill massively

The Vegan Vault happens in Central Wellington on the first Saturday of every month - start time 6pm. There was the typical Kiwi break over Christmas and New Year, with the first one starting up again on Feb 3rd. My family and I have been to every Vegan Vault, bar one since it started last year. It started really well, packed with information and food stalls and a lively band and atmosphere. Really good range of food on offer, though clearly some vendors were not normally vegan and so their offerings were typically tasteless as they hadn't compensated for the lack of meat flavour in their usual foods. Over the months the number of stalls has decreased. Last night was abysmal with a limited range of food stalls and lack of any other types of stalls. Previously the venue had tables to sit at when eating, these had been removed so basically it was a big, dirty empty space with a few food stalls and die hard voluntary groups. The difference between this and it's start was heartbreaking, we basically grabbed a vegan burger and left. Previously it had been a great event for catching up on friends and checking out what was happening in the various local animal rights groups. Talking to a representative of one of these apparently the lack of stalls is possibly due to the fact that voluntary groups are expecting to pay $100 only $20 less than the food stalls and they aren't making any money! The organisers really have to have a good think about what they are offering and want to achieve for how it stands now it has nothing any longer to offer us. Also there has never been anywhere to get a drink - no drink stalls or water fountains - this was particularly noticeable last night. If you go take your own drink. Also there are no toilets at the venue so go to the loo before you go too.

Pros: Good initiative but needs work to make it work, Vegan presence in Wellington

Cons: Used to be a place to hang out but not now, Lack of facilities at the venue i.e) tables/chairs, No where to buy a drink, lack of toilets

Kezabeth

19 Apr 2019

Hi. I'm the organiser here.

It's great you've been following us since the beginning. We have been going for over 2 years now and in a new location. I'm not sure I understand your feedback about smaller stalls as our first ever market only had 11 stalls and that was our smallest. Our biggest was 29 and we average at about 20 stalls now. Being a fully vegan market means we do limit the stalls we can have as not everyone has vegan options.

Fun fact: we were earning only $3 a month back when you wrote this. The market was a community project for us and everyone had to pay what was needed to cover costs. You might be glad to know that charity vendors now pay a smaller amount which was always our plan. These are some of the challenges running NZs first all vegan monthly night market eh. Thanks for all your feedback and hope you've made it back to the market since this review.

hummusman

Points +25

Vegan
07 Jan 2018

Great variety and options!

Lots of tasty stalls all selling delicious vegan food! Sweet, savoury, main dishes, wraps, desserts ect. Also have lots of crafts and other vegan products to keep you entertained as you walk about with your meal.

Derina

Points +477

Vegan
07 Oct 2017

Great atmosphere and selection of food!

This market has a great array of different options to choose from! I tried a BBQ seitan bao, vegan fish and chips with tartare sauce, peanut chick'n satay, an Ethiopian platter (including vegan takes on chicken and mince), and a peanut and chocolate tart. GF options were clearly indicated.

The market was buzzing with people and a live band. Very fortunate to have found it on my first night in the city!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced, Good atmosphere

danielaj

Points +760

Vegan
01 Aug 2017

good for dinner!

Lots of options of hot food good to skip dinner and come down here for the first Saturday of the month! Live music adds to the vibe and it's a covered area so rain or shine! There's also baking stalls, raw goodies, cooked meals, churros, hangi, sushi (one of the times I went not sure if always) burgers. Worth checking out!

Yolanda

Points +1726

Vegan
21 Jul 2017

Massive choice

There are a massive amount of food choices here but the best thing is that the market is humming. Live music, happy people, busy stall holders etc all make for a cool and buzzy vibe. We came for half an hour and spent two and a half hours here. The market is undercover so the rain didn't matter
My food highlight was the vegan fish and chips which were divine.

Pros: great atmosphere, under cover, massive food choice

CapybaRus

Points +308

Vegan
25 Jun 2017

Get on this!

Well I chose poorly first time around with vegan hangi: sweaty, overcooked vegetables with no seasoning and a tasteless onion "stuffing". I didn't even eat it - I threw it in the bin and got Ethiopian instead... really great! Good value, nice and spicy. There's also cakes galore, churros, animal charities, dumplings, pies... too much to chose from. And it's every month! Awesome

Pros: Sooo much choice, Food, stickers, totes, take-home to eat later

Cons: Choose wisely

@ndy

Points +1276

Vegan
03 Jun 2017

Wellingtons Vegan Night Market is Fun!

The Vegan Vault operates on the 1st Saturday of every month. Food vendors from around the region offering tasty & varied food. Very reasonable prices throughout. We had tacos, pakoras, churros & a raspberry/cream donut. All great.

We saw Hangi packs, Pies, Paella, Pad Thai, Burgers, Ethiopian, Indonesian, Japanese pancakes, dumplings & lots of amazing desserts on offer too! The only thing that seemed to be lacking was more drink options.

Live music & a friendly crowd in a casual, food court style of communal dining area. If you're in the city when this market is on, check it out. Something on offer for every appetite....You won't be disappointed! ~ Recommended.

Pros: Great variety & all under one roof!, Reasonable prices, Casual & Friendly

Cons: Only once per month!




This page has been viewed 3166 times.