Vegan-friendly
American
Organic
Juice bar
Delivery
Take-out
Bakery
Catering
Gluten-free
Honey

Restaurant with a seasonal menu that includes a range of starters, soups, salads, entrees, sandwiches (like a BLT), and desserts. Est. 2020. Mostly vegan but many smoothies contain honey. Open Tue-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for The Vegan Club
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by corilov

SHCNiz

Points +66

Vegan
16 Feb 2024

A Tasty Treat

Visiting from out of town, we were pleasantly surprised to find the Vegan Club. We had some delicious sandwiches ("Pushin P" Burger; Krab Burger; BLT)and French fries. Everything was fresh and tasty. Fun atmosphere. Try it... you'll like it! :)

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-16

Advertisement

Vindinni

Points +56

Vegan
19 Oct 2023

Best in Cleveland

Nice atmosphere; love the new digs. My son and I drive through every year and we decided to just eat every meal here when in town for now on. I don't want to call out the other places we tried, but they are not in the same league. The loaded fries are amazing and I love the Caeser Salad, and Po Boy. My son had some trouble keeping the Po Boy together this year. Five star chef-one of the best vegan chefs in the country.

MarinKat

Points +70

Vegan
22 Aug 2023

Be sure to call before going

I had a wonderful meal here a few years ago when visiting from California. Checked their hours online and was eager to return with my aging parents. Was sorely disappointed to get there to find the place had moved (despite signage making it look like it was at the old location). Then when we found the new location next to the movie theater, it was locked and closed, despite their website saying that they are open from 5pm-9pm on Sunday evenings.

Cons: Hours are unclear and misleading

Vindinni

19 Oct 2023

Two stars and you didn't even eat there? You're just salty bc you missed out eating at the best place in town. They were remodeling, give them a break lady. It's hard enough to make it as a vegan restaurant, why give a bad review because you got pissed they were remodeling? Really lame of you...

PlantRich

Points +188

Vegan
20 Aug 2023

Tons of food!

Took the whole family (I’m the only vegan in the house) and they really liked it. The portions were huge. Too much fried everything for me, but I still got the okra fries appetizer and everyone devoured it. I ordered the Black Bowl (a black beans and brown rice dish) and was completely satisfied. Everyone else got different sandwiches - total thumbs up! We’ll be going back to sample some of the things on the menu that were sold out before we got there.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-20

Pros: Huge portions , Cream sauces

Cons: Too many fried things, Huge portions

groverthepotato

Points +218

Vegan
02 Jul 2023

Perfect take out for a night in

Lovely sandwichs to take away for a night in! Food is delicious and filling, can definitely see myself going back here!

deby

Points +26

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2023

Excellent food and service

Food was delicious, portions generous.

Trolls

Points +18

Vegan
24 Jun 2023

Great Food & Great Service

the best vegan dinner out I’ve had & great service

brontosauri

Points +54

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2023

HUGE portions

Really great food with huge portions. Got the 'crab' cake sandwich and was very impressed. Probably the best fries I've ever had!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-05

irise102

Points +673

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Fun Vegan Food

We tried the black bowl and the crab cakes with sour corn. Portions were huge and flavorful. The sour corn in the crab cake dish was spicy even though the menu did not indicate spice - a bit disappointed. But the crab cakes tasted like real crab cakes. The black bowl was described as spicy but chef was able to cut back on spice level during preparation. Meals came out in a timely manner and were very temperature hot. Atmosphere was lacking as the restaurant did not exude energy, especially with only a few customers dining in on a Saturday night. The one wait staff seemed a bit distracted but was nice.

Pros: Crab fries were yummy, Large portions , Lots of flavor

Cons: Watch spice/heat level if don’t like spicy food, Few dine in customers but big venue

JonLeach

Points +73

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

100% That sh*t

DELICIOUS food. Best po boy you're gonna find

mbst25

Points +20

Vegan
22 Jan 2023

Best fettuccine alfredo I have had... ever.

It was well worth the visit!

Davesw

Points +3228

Vegan
24 Oct 2022

Unique!

Lots of different things on the menu, 5 stars for the hush puppies alone! I need to come back and try more items.

CLEVegansRock

Points +89

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Pleasant surprise

Great open and contemporary decor: friendly and efficient service; a bit pricy large portions

Pros: Large portions, Great service, Unique menu items

Cons: Too much fried food, Honey in most smoothies

tracn4

Points +20

Vegan
19 Aug 2022

Delicious!!!

Had the buffalo chicken and fettuccine alfredo.

Pros: 100% plant based, Fair prices, Friendly staff

Cons: None, None, None

ShesVegan88

Points +392

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Everything I didn’t know that I needed

The unique items on the menu

Pros: 100 percent vegan , Very reasonable in price

Tfred

Points +46

Vegan
04 Aug 2022

Get the Hushpuppies!

I got the fetticini and it was good, but the hushpuppies...omg, delicious! And the cheesecake is so good!

jeagleson1

Points +100

Vegan
26 Jun 2022

Big portions for the money

Staff was friendly and knowledgeable. So many delicious options. Big portions

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nut free and gluten free available , Huge portions

AmandaBrody

Points +58

Vegan
31 Mar 2022

Delish!

I ordered the hot vegan chicken sandwich and it was absolutely delicious! So much flavor, so much crunch, yummy sauces. Would definitely order again!

mschlater

Points +795

Vegan
27 Feb 2022

All Vegan Restaurant

Vegan Crab fries were delicious. Overall experience was just okay. There were only 2 other tables on a saturday night. Kind of felt like I was bothering the staff by being there. Food was expensive for what it was. $18 for a bowl of Alfredo pasta. Alfredo was okay.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-12

Pros: All Vegan menu , Crab Fries

Cons: Expensive, Not the best service

VeganMegantron

Points +196

Vegan
24 Feb 2022

Highly recommend! Very flavorful! Well thought out plates. Big portions

I was checking out this menu for awhile and it exceeded my expectations. Laid back atmosphere with nice music. Excellent food with diverse choices. We had the grilled romaine salad, oyster mushrooms w/Dijon BBQ sauce, fettuccine alfredo and ‘crab cake’ entrees. Everything was exceptional and we would have it all again and again. #Veganuary

Pros: Plenty to choose from, excellent choices , Very well flavored, Has cocktails.

rasika.venkat

Points +3270

Vegan
10 Oct 2021

Really wanted to love :(

I was SO excited to try The Vegan Club during our weekend trip to Cleveland. We went at 730pm on a Saturday night and the place was empty (maybe 2-3 tables occupied). The service was fine and they did bring out our food in a timely manner.

What I didn’t love:
1) The flavors and textures were just off. I got the Chix n’ Waffles with Grits, and the oyster mushroom ‘chicken’ was chewy and tough. The polenta grits were ok, but they just tasted peppery. My husband got the Vegan Oysters and Grits, which he said was just ok - same issue with the tough/ chewy oyster mushrooms. Maybe the oyster mushroom dishes were the wrong thing to order!
We also tried the Chorizo Hush Puppies, which were pretty good.
2) It’s expensive for a lot of fried food. Our entrees were $18-$20. The portions are huge. I think they need to reduce both the price and the portions.

I was so disappointed😒I hope they continue to hone their menu, because we would love to return and support an all-vegan place!

Pros: It’s all vegan

Cons: Not that tasty😒

JessicaT_11

Points +149

Vegan
16 Aug 2021

Tasty totally vegan treat

Got this delivered a few weeks ago, I was surprised to find it on an app! The fried mushrooms were absolutely delicious, and the crab sandwich from heart of palm was also really good. Not something I would normally order, but I really enjoyed it!

Pros: All vegan and so yummy

Passout

Points +704

Vegan
21 Jun 2021

Great, but slow

My vegan family and my omni dad went here for Father's day. We all loved the food and service. It is a large and well decorated space. It was clean.

It is a full service restaurant with cocktails, salads, starters, soups, sandwiches, entrees, and deserts.

The menu has many interesting items to choose from and it is full of interesting ingredients and flavorful sauces.

There are three things that I wasn't crazy about. First they advertise themselves as vegan and 100% plant based, but they use honey which is netither. Second, the menu has a high percentage of fried items given the high cost. Third, the kitchen was backed up and it took about an hour to get our entrees.

Pros: Great food, Service was great, Excellent cocktails

Cons: Uses honey, Long wait for entrees, Too much fried food for the price point

BHitV

Points +295

Vegan
17 May 2021

Super tasty!

Food was super good! Got a couple different things to try and they were all amazing! I suggest eating it ASAP, especially the fried stuff.

Pros: Lots of options, Tasty, All vegan

Cons: Expensive

VeganUSA

Points +7404

Vegan
16 Mar 2021

Full-service soul food eatery

The carry out option was on time and delicious. Three people in our group tried three sandwich options that were all good: oyster mushroom po’boy; the green goddess, which included fried green tomatoes; and the hot chick’n sandwich. All came with fries and were good. Big portions, spiced just so and filling.

As of March 2021, this new restaurant has been open about four months, and recently launched the dine-in option. The Vegan Club is one of two restaurant concepts under one roof: the other restaurant a breakfast-oriented theme is not vegan. Both are owned by the same owners.

Pros: Delicious soul food, Good service , 100% vegan menu

SFRobbie

Points +1060

Vegan
19 Feb 2021

Awesome 100% Plant Based

My family and I generally shy away from deep fried food so we didn't sample much of the menu because so much of soul food seems to be deep fried. Fortunately, The Vegan Club chefs have something for everyone. First off, please note that a few smaller items won't show up on the menu if you're ordering through Uber Eats or Door Dash. Some items are only visible if you're looking at their online ordering system, like the amazingly good dry string beans or the very tasty but rich Brussels sprouts. We all really loved the "crab" cake entree which was lightly pan fried and melt-in-your- mouth good with the side corn and grains. I'm sure it would be delicious in the sandwich form too. The homemade pasta bolognese was also surprisingly delicious, and a good example of the chefs going way outside the soul food domain! The serving size of the pasta was huge and definitely something I would split. The red curry noodles was more of a soup than a dish, and the curry was pretty mild and there wasn't a whole lot else going on in the broth, so that was our least favorite item although apparently is very popular. The black hummus was more of a salad and the flavors were pretty subtle compared to the entrees but was nice to have some fresh greens and flatbread to complement the rest of the meal. As of mid-February, 2021, they are only doing take-out and delivery, and they are a black owned restaurant in historic Shaker Square. It's so exciting to have another devoted vegan restaurant in Cleveland, so please show them the love!

ElizabethMae

Points +421

Vegan
23 Dec 2020

Absolutely delicious!

Somehow I missed when this opened but I was so happy I stumbled upon it! The menu is varied and interesting and the food is out of their works delicious. I can’t wait to go back to try more. The “crab cake” sandwich was just like the real thing and the oyster mushroom wings were crispy and delicious with amazing sauce. They were a little chewy where it was hard to both them in half, but the flavor made up for that.

Pros: Delicious food, Unique menu

Cons: Pickup took longer than advertised.




This page has been viewed 5629 times.