• The Turnip Truck - Woodland St

  • (11)
    20
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store

Health food grocery stores locally owned since 2001. Has hot bar, salad bar, juice bar, and deli. Carries a wide variety of products, everything from non-gmo fresh produce and dry goods to frozen foods, pet food, bulk items, beer/wine selection, and personal care products. Open Mon-Sat 7:00am-9:00pm, Sun 8:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for The Turnip Truck - Woodland St
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by herbivoreheather

shjipstone

Points +232

Mostly Veg
09 Nov 2023

Great store

Good mix of things. Vibrant. Not as cheap as some people were implying, but I know what you mean

Advertisement

Kplant

Points +3964

Vegan
21 Oct 2021

Love the independent stores

Love the neighborhood market. They have a juice/smoothie bar, self serve salad bar. Fresh fruit. And all the typical health..er style grocery stores have. Glad to find.

BrianIrwin

Points +86

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

This place is great.

I go here every week. I buy organic molasses and miso on a regular basis. It’s a locally owned business and it’s kind of like a navigable Whole Foods with better prices.

rose4839

07 Nov 2019

ctrlaltjustine

Points +302

Vegan
11 May 2019

Local grocer with vegan options

The Turnip Truck is essentially a local small-chain version of Whole Foods carrying produce, baked goods, dry goods, frozen food, pet food, bulk items, personal care, beer and some wines.

Despite it's small size the Turnip Truck boasts a large selection of items and hot and cold bars to make lunch or dinner as well as eating areas upstairs and outside. It's in many ways a one-stop-shop for those looking for natural and organic household items and groceries.

They carry a decent selection of local and nationally-carried vegan specialty items such as The BE-Hive products. Though many items are local, the produce will not blow you away.

Pros: Local, Good selection of vegan specialty items, Bulk food section

Cons: Pricy, Not always fresh produce, Limited bakery

LesVegan

Points +151

Vegan
23 Mar 2019

Locally owned grocery store

They have a hot bar and deli with lots of vegan options, tons of beer and a pretty nice staff. I heard they are opening one on the west side soon. I can’t wait.

Pros: Vegan hot bar/deli options , Huge beer selection , Opening on West side soon!

Cons: Parking is tough at Gulch location

Awake1234

Points +1069

Vegan
16 Apr 2018

Great Selection

Cool place - like Whole Foods market meets Whole Foods Co-op.

andreathinks

Points +324

Vegetarian
15 Sep 2017

Full-service Natural Grocer

Turnip Truck had a large produce dept, as well as deli with salad bar, meat dept and extensive grocery, frozen, bulk foods, and health and beauty dept's. We just stopped in to grab a few snacks, for the road. But the overall selection was pretty good, and we were so grateful to have access to a grocer in East Nashville with some natural options.

Pros: Friendly, Full-service Natural Grocer

Cons: None

amdiehl

Points +32

Vegan
29 Nov 2016

Best Salad Bar and Bulk Food Options

I work near the Turnip Trunk in East Nashville and frequent the salad bar for lunch. There are so many great options (I could end up spending WAY more money on salad than I should if I had less self-control) including vegan: orzo salad, bulgur salad, sushi, stuffed grape leaves AND MORE! It is $8.99/lb which is a pretty good deal if you can control your inevitable urge to fill up 2 entire containers with yummy food. They always have a soup or two that are vegan friendly. Their bulk foods (quinoa, almonds, etc.) are 10% off on Wednesdays, which makes for a great deal if you ever shop in bulk. Lots of vegan products in the store that I haven't even tried yet, but looking forward to eating my way through the aisles and trying everything :)

TIP: If you bring in your own coffee mug/cup you can fill it up for ONLY $0.90 and they have SOY milk for you!

Pros: Vegan Friendly Salad Bar, Healthy Options

no whey!

Points +205

Vegan
30 Nov 2012

Great finds

I like coming here for groceries or to-go lunches. Everything seems fairly priced and it's a good place to find items you might overlook at a larger veggie-friendly grocery store. Their selection of beverages is great too.

I guess my only complaint would be that they seem to put sprouts on EVERY wrap/sandwich. Even if it's not listed in the ingredients, there's probably sprouts on that curry tofu wrap.

Pros: Fair prices, Sandwiches, Vegan snacks

Cons: Sprouts

Teo

Points +77

Vegan
08 Feb 2012

New Favorite

There are 2 Turnip Trucks in Nashville and interestingly the smaller store has what I most desire - locally produced products like baked, organic, Vegan (no dairy products) breads, coffees, fresh produce. So two main reasons for shopping here - is supporting the local economy.
The larger store has more products, but I couldn't find my favorite bread there - like that sold at the smaller store(?).
The Vegan type foods selection is small at both stores (but I politely annoy the staff now and then, so maybe this will change?).

Pros: Local owned, Local products

Cons: Few Vegan foods

herbivoreheather

Points +35

Vegan
23 Aug 2008

This place is heaven!

I absolutly love the Turnip Truck! Staff was super nice, produce was beautiful and fresh. Killer amount of vegan groceries, and my cat's food (Pet Promise). It feels better shopping there rather than fighting Whole Foods traffic! I could have spent all day there. Great selection, great vibe, and great food!

Pros: awesome inventory, friendly staff, great location




This page has been viewed 6127 times.