The Tasty

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 15 reviews )
Contact
267-457-5670
Find

1401 S 12th St, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA, 19147

A dinerette and coffee shop in the Passyunk Avenue neighborhood. Fully vegan since early-2017. Menu offers breakfast sandwiches, pancakes, scrambles, waffles, donuts as well as a variety of other lunch entrees and sandwiches. Various plant milks available for coffee drinks. Open Mon-Fri 7:00am-4:00pm, Sat-Sun 7:00am-3:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, Bakery

15 Reviews

First Review by BostonVegan

a Gem! - Edit

Just had the breakfast burrito. It was perfect.
Visiting from Seattle and trying all the local plant based food and so glad I tried this one.
Support this local business!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Perfectly Named! - Edit

I'm so glad I stopped off at this place before leaving Philly. They were about to close but allowed me to place my order for take-away anyway. There were so many choices that it was hard to decide what I wanted. I ended up getting the fried chicken sandwich and a donut (for later-at the suggestion of the cashier). I loved every bite of it! It reminded me of a crabcake sandwich (may just be the Maryland in me) and was thoroughly enjoyable. It was such a large amount of food that there was no way I could finish it all. A welcomed challenge for my next Philly visit!

Pros: variety , tasty food, large portions

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/nardanddee">nardanddee</a> <br/>Fried Chicken Sammy with waffle fries <br/> August 23, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/296488'>Report</a>

Fried Chicken Sammy with waffle fries

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I would go back - Edit

I would go back. Food was pretty good. Their waffles were great. The chicken and waffle dish was just okay. The soysage patty was excellent. Their potatoes were great. Also had a scrambled tofu dish which was really good. I wish their utensils were a little cleaner looking.

Pros: potatoes, waffle, price

Cons: utensils look dirty

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/urbinedwin">urbinedwin</a> <br/>Chicken and Waffles! <br/> August 17, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/293704'>Report</a>

Chicken and Waffles!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delcious vegan diner! - Edit

I go to Philly a few times a year and missed this spot last time I came so it was at the top of my list for this visit! It's a tiny place and a bit chaotic when you first walk in on a busy day (I went on a Sunday morning), but then again, I LOVE seeing a vegan establishments busy so I didn't mind the wait! My husband and I ordered then picked seats at the counter. Although they were super busy, one of the employees was extremely friendly and made great conversation with us about the vegan scenes in NYC and Philly. The food was great, I had a breakfast burrito and my husband had waffles with berries. Both were huge portions and delicious! They also make killer iced lattes!! Lastly, the donuts!!! They're cake donuts, my personal fave, which are hard to find vegan for some reason. Loved the food, service, and atmosphere, will definitely stop back on our next trip to Philly!

Pros: Cake donuts

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/kmanchester306">kmanchester306</a> <br/>Maple bacon and Chocolate glazed cake donuts <br/> July 4, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/276675'>Report</a>

Maple bacon and Chocolate glazed cake donuts

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/kmanchester306">kmanchester306</a> <br/>Breakfast burrito  <br/> July 4, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/276674'>Report</a>

Breakfast burrito

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/kmanchester306">kmanchester306</a> <br/>Waffles with berries <br/> July 4, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/276673'>Report</a>

Waffles with berries

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OK - Edit

I had the Monte Cristo for breakfast. It was pretty awful and was the consistency of wet bread. I did not comment since I was so hungry by the time it arrived and I just scraped off most of the bread and ate the crust.

I did not give them the opportunity to correct the meal- which is why the rating is so high.

Nice staff, good coffee and order something else.

Pros: Diner!, Coffee, Nice staff

Cons: Meh

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Perfect Experience - Edit

Got lunch time take out here by calling ahead for pickup. Buffalo chick'n Sammy was perfectly sized, perfectly spicy, & filling. The long roll was great. Side of tots, no complaints! I also ordered a PB on bagel for my kids snack, which my single bite of was good. Also grabbed them a delish giant choc chip PB sandwich cookie from the counter display. You bet I tried that- amazing icing. A little crumbly, I recommend sitting down to eat it with a plate and fork. The restaurant was cute and I would happily eat there if I didn't have 2 wild toddlers running around. The guy working told me all the food and counter items are vegan! Def worth a meander over from wherever you are in Philly.

Pros: take out available, all vegan food & desserts, diner staples!

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/Ksugar6">Ksugar6</a> <br/>buffalo chick&#39;n Sammy as takeout, after a 2 Mile bike ride home- delish  <br/> April 12, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/247386'>Report</a>

buffalo chick&#39;n Sammy as takeout, after a 2 Mi...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lives up to its name! - Edit

Adorable diner with delicious food and good people watching. I had the Greek tofu scramble and was pleasantly surprised by how much the tofu feta tastes like dairy feta. This was served with the best home fries I have had in a while!

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/scienceofherself">scienceofherself</a> <br/>Greek tofu scramble  <br/> April 6, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/245247'>Report</a>

Greek tofu scramble

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A diner featuring an all-vegan menu? Yes, please! - Edit

I love this spot. It's got a real old-school vibe that suits the neighborhood. You order your food at the counter then pick it up yourself when it's ready. (You also bus yourself. Keeps costs down!) The seating can be uncomfortable (especially when the table is lap-height and you're towering over your food) but the menu is worth it. Their tater tots are amazing! And they offer a cheesesteak AND a chicken cheesesteak, which is rare for a veg*n joint. Their pastries are also quite tasty. Definitely worth a visit when you're craving deliciously greasy food.

Pros: Atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Tasty is On the Right Path - Edit

The Tasty is not an all plant diner (due to their supply of cow’s teat milk for coffee drinks) so not vegan but more instead like 99% vegetarian. All plant diners are a great idea. When ecoRDN ate dairy and eggs, diners were an option all the time. After we went full plant, the egg was gone and so were the omelettes and just about everything dinery, etceteras. During our visit we had the Buffalo Chik’n Sammy (did not enjoy the huge white bun but the buffalo chick’n was delicious) and the Western Omelet (not super hammy and way too heavy for an omelet, more like a dense savory pancake). They were served with waffle fries and home fries respectively. Tasty has some really good ideas that hopefully will continue to evolve forward over time. There were a few hits and a few misses but overall The Tasty is worth the visit (if you don’t mind sharing your space with cow’s teat milk). Oh and don’t forget to bring a sweater in the summer, chilly!
ecoRDN.com

Pros: Plant-Based Diner, Great Ideas, Friendly Staff

Cons: Cow Teat Milk For Coffee

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/ecoRDN">ecoRDN</a> <br/>Western omelet and Buffalo chicken sandwich with waffle fries <br/> October 15, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/315545'>Report</a>

Western omelet and Buffalo chicken sandwich with w...

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/ecoRDN">ecoRDN</a> <br/>The Tasty, Philadelphia, PA - Photo By: ecoRDN, ecoRDN.com <br/> December 12, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/200298'>Report</a>

The Tasty, Philadelphia, PA - Photo By: ecoRDN, ec...

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/ecoRDN">ecoRDN</a> <br/>The Tasty, Philadelphia, PA - Photo By: ecoRDN, ecoRDN.com <br/> December 12, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/200297'>Report</a>

The Tasty, Philadelphia, PA - Photo By: ecoRDN, ec...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Vegan Comfort Food - Edit

I love the feel of this joint. It's set up like a diner. However, you order at the counter, and pick-up your food from the kitchen. Food was amazing! My family ordered the Chick & Waffles, breakfast burrito, and the Buffalo Chick Philly Cheesesteak. My picky kids were happy sharing the waffles, and we loved our meals.

Pros: All of the food is vegan. However, they offer a da

Cons: Some of the seating was uncomfortable. They'r

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/Silly%20Little%20Vegan">Silly Little Vegan</a> <br/>Breakfast Burrito <br/> September 26, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/178045'>Report</a>

Breakfast Burrito

Photo of The Tasty  by <a href="/members/profile/Silly%20Little%20Vegan">Silly Little Vegan</a> <br/>Buffalo Chick Philly Cheesesteak  <br/> September 26, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/74254/178044'>Report</a>

Buffalo Chick Philly Cheesesteak

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome breakfast - Edit

This is my go-to spot for breakfast/brunch. The staff is really friendly and the environment is cute and comfortable. Try the chicken and waffles or any of the breakfast sandwiches. They usually have a different special every weekend. Don't forget to bus your own table!!

Pros: great food, great atmosphere, free street parking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Buffalo Chikn is Fantastic! - Edit

My non-vegan friend loved the vegan cheesesteak and I was crazy for the buffalo chik'n. Ben, one of the owners, served us and he was very nice. Looking forward to trying some breakfast food next time.

Pros: Yummy, Free Street parking, Nice vibe/staff

Cons: Would be vegan if only they didn't serve dairy cre

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good vegan food and friendly atmosphere - Edit

Great place for vegan food, especially breakfast or brunch. Friendly neighbourhood diner atmosphere. I had a burrito stuffed with tofu scramble and my choice of veggies. Delicious! My wife had the barbecue steak sandwich which was also very good. We found free parking nearby but avoid the narrow alleys; you will scrape your tires navigating between the curb and parked cars!

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

It's called The Tasty for a reason - Edit

The Tasty has been open for a couple week so today I decided to try it out. You walk in and it's like a little dinner. Good food selection, okay prices, nice people. It was busy which surprised me being it is new, but it's that good. I ordered the avocado sandwich. It was small but good. I was still hungry so I ordered the chick'n cheese steak and that was bomb! I'll definitely be going back. Their breakfast food looks really good.

Pros: Good Food, Nice People, Good Selection

Cons: Price is a little high

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Breakfast food all day! Yum! - Edit

These folks just opened but they said they were busy their whole first week. Glad to hear it. Very delightful staff and great comfort food. There are fancier vegan joints in Philly but they don't open until 11a so this is the place if you need breakfast.

Pros: Staff, Breakfast comfort food!, Open early

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Philadelphia Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Tasty closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2246 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support