The Roti Shack

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 10 reviews )

Find

Shop 4/93 Lake St (at Shields St), Cairns, Queensland, Australia, 4870

Serves meat, vegan options available. Caribbean take-away and dine-in eatery serving vegan potato curry, dahl curry, chickpea curry, saffron rice, and stir-fried vegetables. Open for take-out or delivery (via Ubereats) during Apr 2020. Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm. Closed Mon.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Indian, Fast food, Delivery, Take-out, Caribbean, Gluten-free, Non-veg

10 Reviews

First Review by EbonyJade

dothehamsa

Points +209

Vegan
30 Sep 2021

Quick and filling

The vegan roti filling consists mainly of large chunks of potato, some chickpeas, cabbage, a smattering of other veg, in a yummy savoury sauce. The curry flavours are balanced, if a bit simplistic. I should get it with the Chili sauce next time to liven it up.
The staff are very nice and there is a relaxed vibe inside with cool music.

Pros: Good value

LeahShort

Points +39

Vegan
29 Sep 2021

Wholesome food.

Very tasty meal with heaps of flavours. All the different flavours work will . It’s a very filling meal for one. Highly recommend if in Cairns

Pros: A third of the menu has vegan options , Can customise spice level

AlexCronin

Points +62

Vegan
23 May 2021

Yum!

I had the vegan roti with all the fillings & it was really delicious. Would definitely go back

Advertisement

KayVic

Points +119

Vegan
21 May 2021

Quick and delicious

Really nice food, more like a take away shop with some tables outside.

Service was quick, vegan options clearly labelled. Staff are also happy to explain them to you

Pros: Quick , Cheap , Decent number of vegan options

Cons: Some sides for the rotis could be nice

KatieBatty

Points +1087

Vegan
19 Mar 2021

Cheap, delicious and filling

We both ordered the vegan roti which was so yummy and filling. It has potato and veggies and curry. Only about $20 for both of us so it's a bargain. And it's not every day you can try some West Indian food!

LewisEatsPlants

Points +629

Vegan
29 Nov 2020

Filling, cheap and easy

Only one vegan option, but more if you’re willing to remove ingredients. It’s pretty starchy and carb heavy, but will leave you feeling satisfied.

Makes for a great easy meal.

Pros: Filling, Cheap, Carbs for days

Cons: Carbs for days

MatíasGurmandi

Points +22

Vegan
21 Jul 2020

Thanks

Only one of their rotis is vegan, but it's a pretty good and quick option to grab a bite on the go.

JackMarcus

Points +39

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

The Cure

Come here with a cold and you'll get comforting food (lots of carbs) and a decongestant if you choose hot chilli 😝

Pros: Cheap, vegan option

Cons: Serves meat

standardavocado

Points +48

Vegan
04 Oct 2019

Delicious carribean food!

I absolutely loved the vegan roti! I got all 5 vegan fillings in mine. 10/10 would recommend.

EbonyJade

Points +311

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

A filling and wholesome option

All the vegetarian curries are vegan, I chose one with mixed fillings (potato curry, rice, dahl, and chickpea curry) it was nice enough and filled me up, there was not a huge amount of flavour but I've found that a trend for the region. Service was very polite and fast.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Cairns Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Roti Shack closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1034 times.