Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
80,000+ listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

The Rosendale Cafe

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 7 reviews )
Contact
845-658-9048
Find

434 Main St, Rosendale, New York, USA, 12472

Serves meat, vegan options available. Family operated cafe was all-veg when it first opened. Wall space is used as a gallery and hosts live music events. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, American, Non-veg

7 Reviews

First Review by veggiebird

Katerra

Contributions +52

Vegan
11 Sep 2018

Quesadilla! - Edit

Charming cafe and garden. Had an eggplant quesadilla with vegan cheese, and it was outstanding. Definitely worth a stop if you're in the area.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veganed

Contributions +182

Vegan
15 Aug 2018

Good vegan options... - Edit

Although the menu is ovo/lactose veg, there are some dedicated vegan dishes and many other items can be made vegan as they do offer Daiya cheese and vegan butter. I recommend the Tempeh Reuben and the Tofu Stroganoff. They serve really nice fresh bread with your meal and will bring vegan butter if you ask. Save room for dessert, the majority of dessert menu is vegan ( about 4 different vegan cakes and an apple crisp, all really good).

Updated from previous review on 2016-08-27

Pros: cute space and location, outdoor dining available,, Reasonably priced , food is served pretty quick, nice staff too

Cons: too much dairy/eggs on menu and also tuna fish

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

foodfirst

Contributions +207

Vegan
16 May 2016

Rosendale Cafe - Edit

The Rosendale Café is a fairly large restaurant/cafe in the heart of the interesting and historic village of Rosendale. Located in an interesting village near a major north-south artery, it may appeal as a diner alternative with entertainment and events. The vegan soups are good to remember as a start to an enjoyable vegan meal there. Recently, for example, the Indian red lentil soup has been among the tasty offerings. There are also vegan entrees; I chose a Jamaican stew that was filled with colorful vegetables, especially carrots, onion, peppers, and yam, and was served over real brown rice. Delicious, though perhaps the sauce was a touch on the sweet side. The restaurant has a tempting desert bar to watch out for as you enter, but they are good about selling half or small sizes of these locally made items if you must. In the area, among vegan and vegetarian restaurants, I would argue that they are notable for offering a side of steamed vegetables. An updated menu includes the Kale-Quinoa salad, which can be ordered vegan. This signature offering was previously available only on select days as a special. Moreover, the dressing has been changed in recent months, and in my opinion, the new recipe yields a far better and less sour-tasting salad. I suggest that aficionados will often be happier if they specify that they prefer the vegetables "not too well-done." Many interesting and sometimes offbeat musical acts and community events are held there; it pays to check the schedule on their website (rosendalecafe.com) in advance. I think each day there is one meat or fish item at most in a large and varied set of offerings, including the daily specials. Generally, reservations are not necessary; "Sit anywhere you like."
Updated from previous review on Wednesday May 11, 2016

Pros: whole-foods staples and standards, varied (and now updated) menu, interesting events

Cons: occasional culinary misses

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

plonitalmoni

Contributions +123

Mostly Vegetarian
25 Jan 2013

Didn't work out - Edit

We arrived, sat down, and saw on the menu that they serve tuna and on the special board that they had crab. We called the waiter over to confirm that it was real, and unfortunately it was so. Unfortunately, due to our dietary practices, we can't eat at a place that serves crab, and so we left.

We were quite disappointed that they billed themselves as vegetarian while serving seafood.

Cons: serve seafood, false advertising

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

jrm212

Contributions +212

Mostly Vegetarian
02 Aug 2010

community vegetarian spot that needs improvement - Edit

as other reviewers stated, it's indeed a disappointment that such a nice community spot seems to have little care for flavor/yumminess/quality. we've had the burritos and they were bland. options are limited for vegans since their soy cheese contains casein. they did have one vegan dessert, maybe next time i'l try it to at least add a sweet taste. food aside, i'm happy there's at least a pure veg restaurant in the area!

Pros: supports vegetarian community, nice casual garden in back, old-style feel

Cons: bland food, blah service, questionable quality

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

omkaruna

Contributions +20

Vegan
22 Oct 2008

rosendale serves it up bland and dry - Edit

i joined the happy cow forum specifically because i have a real "beef" with the rosendale cafe. though it is one of the only sit down vegetarian restaurants in the area, we have found the service slow and the food dry and bland. our very last ditch try was a few weeks ago. the african peanut soup was muchy, lumpy and flavorless. we split an order of sauted veggies in a sesame sauce, brown rice and beans. first off, there was no sauce. the waitress handed us a bottle of tamari. the brown rice and beans were two dry lumpy piles on the plate which were very unappetising in appearance and in taste. another time we ordered nachos with soy cheese. a few minutes after it was served the waitress came over and apologized that the cheese was dairy...watch out vegans! its a shame because the place has such character but with all the vibrant, farm-fresh produce available and all the variety of recipes out there, the rosendale cafe lacks both cooking and creative juice.

Pros: cool environment, live music sometimes, vegetarian restaurant

Cons: bland food, mushy food, boring food

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veggiebird

Contributions +41

Vegetarian
25 Mar 2008

overrated - Edit

This place continually disappoints me. The service is slow, the food lacks flavor, and it is overpriced. The one thing that is usually tasty is the desserts.
they do tend to have good live music.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Rosendale Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Rosendale Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1718 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support