• The Riverside

  • (12)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Bakery
British
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pub and kitchen with a separate vegan menu. Dishes include Moroccan roulade, grilled portobello mushrooms, the Impossible Burger, cauliflower scampi, mushroom risotto, chocolate cake, and sorbet. Open Mon-Thu 10:00-00:00, Fri-Sat 10:00-01:00, Sun 10:00-00:00. Food service 10:00-21:00.


Venue map for The Riverside
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by ScaryFairy

Jessicajeanapril

Points +1197

Vegan
30 Oct 2023

Cosy pub

There is a vegetarian and vegan menu. There are only 3 mains for vegans. The food we tried was absolutely delightful and even though there was a small selection, it was a good selection.

Would recommend you try atleast once if you are in the area.

Pros: Separate veggo menu

Advertisement

__kimb__

Points +32

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Tasty Vegan Options

Friendly atmosphere, accommodating and helpful staff. Food was delicious, decent portions and served fast.

LouCT

Points +93

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Seperate plant-based/gluten-free menu

Plenty of choice, although lacking in higher protein options if you want something more filling. Something I liked was that there isn't any overlap in the vegan and non-vegan options so you can't accidentally order a non-vegan version of something.

The quality of the food is great, lovely setting with a nice atmosphere. On the more expensive side but I'd certainly visit again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-05

Pros: great quality, seperate vegan menu, clean and friendly

Cons: on the expensive side

NiamhC41

Points +1364

Vegan
22 Jul 2022

Nice setting, good options.

Really lovely location by the water and the menu is varied enough without being boring. I enjoyed the cauliflower ‘scampi’ but would’ve liked nori or something with it to make it more like fish. When I ordered vg ice cream it did come out with a Cadbury flake on it? Still, would return.

Anna26

Points +73

Vegan
28 Apr 2022

Great food

We sat outside which was really lovely next to the river. They had a separate veggie/vegan menu with a decent amount of options. I had the cauliflower ‘scampi’ and chips and the chocolate torte for dessert which came with vegan mint chocolate chip ice cream. The food was great! Also, the toilet facilities downstairs were really nice.

howard.ackson

Points +16

Vegan
07 Sep 2021

Chips were cooked in same oil as meat

I had lunch here at the weekend with 6 members of my family, and 4 of us are vegan. We chose this restaurant because it has “vegan” options. When we asked about the vegan burger and chips, we were told that the chips are cooked in the same oil as meat, so they are not vegan. I found this quite concerning, as I couldn’t trust the menu after that. The manager was very polite about it, and she assured us that the menu would be changed, which I really hope it is.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-07

PeteLindsay

Points +18

Vegan
10 Mar 2020

Lovely restaurant

Popped in for dinner on the way to Glasgow. The restaurant was cosy, really well decorated, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the beyond meat burger from their vegetarian and plant based menu. Highly recommended especially if going with a group of mixed diets.

toastandjammies

Points +1098

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

Great spot for pub food

I ate here a couple times, and loved the cauliflower scampi. The risotto was pretty good too, though a little lacking in flavor.

Pros: Dedicated vegan menu, Right next to the river

monjammijimmers

Points +20

Vegan
04 May 2019

Brilliant

Great vegan options in a friendly atmosphere. Ask for the separate vegan menu.

Pros: Friendly, attentive service, Good range of vegan options, Fairly priced

anh000

Points +106

Vegan
26 Mar 2019

Vegan & dog friendly

Nice atmosphere, and has some vegan options

Pros: Has a small vegan menu , Dog friendly , Tasty food

Cons: Not the cheapest place , Vegan options on separate menu

falafffel

Points +3108

Vegan
12 Nov 2018

Very nice pub in a beautiful village

We went here on a trip to the Trossachs and visited Dunblane only because the menu of the Riverside pub was looking very promising. We were certainly not disappointed, as the vegan selection is both large (full menu with 3 main courses plus starters and dessert) and very good.

Dunblane is a nice town as well and I can definitely recommend a visit!

The only thing which could have been better is that you have to ask for the vegan menu specifically - and the vegan options do not appear on the omni or vegetarian menu. Putting it on there would enlarge the choice for non-vegans and make it easy to enjoy very good vegan food as well.

Pros: Vegan menu in a village pub, Very good quality of food, Friendly service

ScaryFairy

Points +238

Vegan
18 Jul 2018

Lovely food

Great food and lovely setting. Outside seating for sunny days and dog friendly.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Knowledgable staff

Cons: Vegan options only on separate menu.




This page has been viewed 2266 times.