• The Real Greek - Soho

  • (9)
    12
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Greek
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. UK chain of Greek and Eastern Mediterranean cuisine restaurants. Casual dining style. Has a separate vegan menu listing choices of cold mezze, hot mezze, wraps, a few sides and desserts. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-22:30.


Venue map for The Real Greek - Soho
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by hkceriksson

HarleyJones-Ryley

Points +349

Vegan
15 Jan 2024

Tasty veganuary menu!

Been here many times but really enjoyed the veganuary menu - the 'chicken' skewer and bulgar wheat were highlights!! #Veganuary

Advertisement

cocoldn

Points +936

Vegan
17 Jan 2023

Takeout was disappointing

I saw that The Real Greek is doing a veganuary special offer and I was excited to try it, so ordered it as a takeaway. Unfortunately it was really disappointing. It was 4 dishes for £12.95, you can pick from a wide selection. I got flat bread, hummus, dolmades and new potatoes. The flat bread was nice, but everything else really wasn’t. The food was bland, and the rice in the dolmades was really crunchy. Perhaps I just got unlucky with my selection, or it is nice in store, but I won’t be trying their food out again.

·X·

Points +17321

Vegan
25 Jul 2021

The Real Greek - Soho

Great location and food. Though, you need to know what to order, because some of their menu items can be quite bland while some are incredibly flavorful.

First let's start with the bland:
- Greek salad w/o cheese ... no taste at all *
- Santorini fava ... meh *
- Beetroot and lentil salad w/o feta ... unremarkable *
- Vegan meatballs ... disappointing *

Now let's end with the delicious options:
- Green pea fava ... I can eat spoonfuls of this! Dare me to!😄*
- Greek flatbread with dukkah ... pairs well with the green pea fava *
- Gigandes with spinach ... great, but I need to add salt to them *
- Chickpea filo triangles ... if you like samosas, you'll fall in love with these *
- Pourgouri bulgar wheat ... loved this, but it also needed a little salt.

I've eaten at this location in Soho twice. It can be quite busy during dinner. As such, I've resorted to going to other locations (such as Marylebone). Soho is where the action is during the weekend, so if that's what you're looking for, head to this location.

I've starred * all the entrees I've tried at this location. If they are not starred, I tried them at another location. Just sharing my opinion of this chain's options across the board.

JessiSkyline

Points +56

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

Amazing!

Very tasteful. Extra Vegan Menu!

Pros: nice atmosphere, extra vegan menu, good prices

Tamy

Points +3148

Vegan
11 Jun 2019

Pricey and flavorless

Stopped by this cozy spot in central London for dinner. They feature a separate vegan menu with a number of hot and cold mezzo options. We ordered the yellow pea fava with pita bread, the jackfruit stifado, the vegan moussaka, and the grilled aubergine. For the prices, the size of each “dish” is painfully small, especially when considering the simple ingredients. Paying almost six pounds for three slices of bland aubergine in tomato sauce is certainly not worth it in my opinion.
The food overall was bland and not very tasty or exciting. The vegan moussaka was the best thing we ordered, and the favs wasn’t bad, but it lacked flavor.
I was really excited to try this chain because of how much they publicized their vegan options, but it was a thoroughly disappointing experience. Best to avoid unless you wish to overpay to go home hungry and dissatisfied.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Friendly staff, Cozy

Cons: Small portions, Overpriced , Bland food

BeatriceScotto

Points +76

Vegan
16 May 2019

Great Greek food

The restaurant is very characteristic, it seems to be in Greece ! There are many vegan and vegetarian options on the menu and they are all delicious . Definitely recommended !

Cons: Music a little bit too loud

Onob

Points +192

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Very vegan friendly greek restaurant

When you think about greek food vegan is not the first thing that comes in your mind. Nice to have a place that has its focus on plant-based food.

Pros: Good service, Tasteful vegan food

Cons: Lots of oily food

najaheya

Points +124

Vegan
16 Aug 2018

Hummus not good

The hummus here was way too acid in the taste, and honestly didn’t taste anything else. Very noicy place too.

Pros: Several vegan options , A vegan lunch menu

Cons: Hummus really not tasty , Very noicy

hkceriksson

Points +21

Vegetarian
14 Jun 2018

Very happy cow

Very cosy little restaurant, good food and easy ordering. I want to decorate my house exactly like this!
The acoustics made the noise very amplified, but that was my only complaint.

Pros: Very easy to be vegan eating here!

Cons: A bit noisy when crowded




This page has been viewed 2664 times.