• The Pierhead Tavern

  • (10)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Beer/Wine
British
Catering
European
Fusion
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegan dishes include soup of the day, salad of tofu with mixed leaves, vegetable tagine, vegan burger, flat breads or ciabatta with vegetables and vegan cheese or tofu. Also has vegan specials. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for The Pierhead Tavern
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by Andy-P

buteifull

Points +25

Mostly Veg
28 Jan 2024

Very average vegan/veggie food, too expensive!

The food was very average with meat-alternatives such as vegan haggis and Linda McCartney sausages on the breakfast. Restaurant didn’t feel inviting for lunch and the food was exceptionally expensive for the quality. There are much better options in Lamlash!

Pros: Vegan/veggie options

Cons: Average quality β€˜pub grub’, Too expensive for quality , Odd vibe

Advertisement

Rottiegirl

Points +83

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Disappointing

Had an evening meal here last weekend, there were 2 vegan options and unfortunately I chose the wrong one. I went for the burger (beyond burger possibly) and was asked if I wanted it fully vegan. I did but sadly this meant a dry roll, no sauces or cheese or anything moist! An expensive mistake for something I could have made at home (although not as badly). The only saving grace was the home made onion rings on the side which were good. Average pub grub style and for non vegans it seems good but I would advise going to the Drift Inn just along the road for really good food.

rachelburns7

Points +1148

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Vegan Pub Grub in Arran

πŸ“Œ @Thepierheadtavern

β€’PUBβ€’

Taste: 🀀🀀🀀🀀/5
Value: £££ -Pricey

🌱 HOMEMADE SOUP OF THE DAY (with crusty bread)
πŸ’°: Β£5.50
πŸ’­: Lovely homemade soup - very filling. However, no vegan butter for the roll
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

🌱 PHT PAKORA (with pakora sauce and salad garnish)
πŸ’°: Β£7.00
πŸ’­: My boyfriend said these were good - just like any ordinary pakora
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

🌱 CRISPY LIGHT TEMPURA WITH VEG (served with sweet chilli sauce and salad garnish)
πŸ’°: Β£6.50
πŸ’­: These we’re unreal. My mum said they were the best vegetable tempura she has tried!!
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes
πŸ† - Fav Dish

🌱 ROASTED PEACH & WALNUT SALAD
πŸ’°: Β£11.00
πŸ’­: Filling and the peach surprisingly went very well. First time I have tried peach in a salad and would definitely eat it again
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

🌱 SPICY VEGAN BURGER (served with crisp rocket, tomato, burger sauce and chips)
πŸ’°: Β£17.00
πŸ’­: I actually think they forgot to add something to make it spicey as it was very plain
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

🌱 STICKY CHILLI CAULIFLOWER (served with rice and garnished with sesame and lime)
πŸ’°: Β£14.00
πŸ’­: This was a good dish, but just wasn’t for me
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? No

🌱 HOT CHOCOLATE FUDGE CAKE (with chocolate sauce and ice cream)
πŸ’°: Β£6.50
πŸ’­: Very good - was indulgent
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

🌱 TOASTED BELGIAN WAFFLE drizzled in maple syrup with ice cream
πŸ’°: Β£6.50
πŸ’­: Unbelievable!!!! I don’t know if it’s the fact it’s my first vegan waffle and first waffle I’ve had in 5 years but I was licking the plate clean. Absolutely loved this
πŸ€·πŸ½β€β™€οΈ: Order again? Yes

πŸ“: Lovely location with a sea view. Car park is directly across which is handy. Dog-friendly and staff are accommodating. Service was quick considering we were a party of 12 and no issues

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-19

Pros: Lots of Vegan options, Dog-friendly, Car Park directly across from pub

Cons: Expensive

KerriH

Points +98

Vegan
09 Oct 2021

It was fine.

We came here because it looked like the nicest place on the island with the most vegan options.

I had the haggis bonbons to start, they are marked as vegan on the menu but apparently the peppercorn sauce isn't. I HATE this. Mark it as 'vegan available' then, so many places do this and I then lose all confidence that what I'm eating will actually be vegan. They were nice albeit a litte dry.

I had the moving mountains burger for main, it said it was supposed to come with a burger sauce but it didn't so it was a bit bland and nothing more than a burger I could have at home.

Staff weren't great, our food was rushed so we'd finished within 40 minutes of arriving and then ignored for the next hour.

We had planned to go back the next day to try the other vegan options but cancelled and will find somewhere else. Give it a go, maybe they just had a bad night?

Pros: Nice place with good atmosphere, Lots of dogs/dog friendly

Cons: Food didn't come with items listed on menu, Some tables were weirdly low

RoryMcK

Points +261

Vegan
25 Jun 2021

Good vegan food options, selection of vegan wines

We went twice in the week we stayed here, first for drinks and then for food. I had the vegan Cornish pasty with chips and beans which was really nice. The pasty seems to be made by Proper Cornish. My dad had the burger which he said was good and my mum had the shakshuka without egg which was quite small for the price.

They had a list of 5 or so vegan wines which is unusual for somewhere like this but great. Plenty of good non-alcoholic options like kombucha and fancy juices.

Pros: Decent vegan food options, Vegan wine

Cons: No vegan cask ale when I went , A bit pricey

Friendlygoth

Points +56

Vegan
12 Jun 2021

Nice meal!

Great staff. Several well labelled vegan options. Vegan wine. Had vegan hagiis bon bons and vegan burger. Tasty! Would go back.

jooper1206

Points +24

Vegan
31 May 2021

Lots of choice for a seaside pub

Lots of vegan options, one item on the menu was advertised as vegan but when I went to order they informed me it was a mistake. We got the burger and it was delicious! Surprised that there was lots of choice.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-31

Pros: Lots of options , Nice staff

thenovicevegan

Points +299

Vegan
10 Aug 2020

Great food! Beautiful location.

I visited Pierhead Tavern whilst on holiday with my husband. We both had the vegan fish n chips and Jam Sponge.
Both meals were fantastic and were delicious.
I would like to see more vegan options but due to COVID-19, they were on a limited menu.
The staff were lovely and pointed out all of our options.
The Tavern is located on the beach side with lovely views.

Pros: Lovely food, Lovely staff, Beautiful location

Cons: Pricey, Few vegan options, No plant milk for tea or coffee

Mwynen

Points +262

Vegan
11 Apr 2019

Great vegan options in a relaxed atmosphere

This is a pub with a very relaxed atmosphere. It was full when we arrived, so we ordered a drink at the bar, but had to wait for only 5 minutes before we were shown to a free table.

As they had a very busy weekend (bank holiday), they had run out of the portobello, red onion and avocado burger, so we ordered a haggis burger (which is also vegan) and Moroccan tagine instead, and soup of the day as a starter. The food was very tasty and filling, but it's a pity they can't do a vegan coleslaw, which isn't more complicated than the non-vegan version (vegan mayo is available in every supermarket nowadays).

The staff was very helpful and friendly, we very much enjoyed our stay here.

We'll definitely go back the next time we visit Arran.

Updated from previous review on 2018-09-10

Pros: delicious food, cosy atmosphere

Cons: no vegan coleslaw

Andy-P

Points +492

Vegan
27 Jun 2018

Great vegan options in Arran

Had a three course meal here recently which was from a vegan menu which they had put on for the night. They are hoping to have more vegan friendly nights, and are also working towards putting some of the vegan options on their main menu.

Had the red onion and thyme soup, cauliflower steak, and the lime, pistachio and vanilla cheesecake. All were tasty and filling and the cheesecake in particular was amazing.

Will definitely go back again when returning to Arran.

Updated from previous review on 2018-06-24

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Good value for money




This page has been viewed 1376 times.