The Phoenix Vegetarian Restaurant & Accommodation

  • FRIEND
  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 9 reviews )

Guesthouse and restaurant established since 1991. Features with 2 acres of organic garden and offers cookery classes. Serves vegetarian and vegan platter meals and afternoon tea with fair trade coffee and garden fresh herbal teas. Last orders 6pm. Reservation is not required but is recommended - will open outside of regular hours with pre-booking. Note that fish is no longer served. Location is rural on the main route between Dingle and Killarney and 5 miles from Inch Beach. Last orders 8:30pm. Open Mon 10:00-21:00, Tue 10:00-21:30, Wed-Fri 10:00-21:00, Sat 10:00-19:30, Sun 10:00-21:00.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Organic, Beer/Wine, Take-out, European, Irish

9 Reviews

First Review by drwiz

Lorna Tyther

Points +89

Vegetarian
27 Aug 2019

Fresh home made

At the phoenix everything is home made and what is especially great for vegans are the dairy and gluten free pancakes served with fresh fruit and sorbet or homemade cashew cardomon and rose petal cream

Pros: lots of vegan options

dan&mia

Points +596

Vegetarian
07 Jul 2019

Breakfast and dinner, both great

The best food we ate during our short stay on the west coast

Roary

Points +44

Vegan
22 Apr 2018

Top Notch - A Solid 5 Stars

A must for any vegan / vegetarian who visits Co. Kerry, neigh a visitor attraction in its own right. Moreover, I declair this resturant to be a Mecca for all vegans and vegetations of Ireland - in that you must visit it at least once in your life! Some of the best vegan food I have eaten. Food was delicious and nutritious, with fresh ingredients (some home grown organically) and prepared with care, attention and skill. Service was welcoming, warm and accommodating. Atmosphere was relaxed and informal.

Pros: Many dishes are vegan, oozes freshness and quality, excellent value

Lorna Tyther

13 Jul 2018

thank you for this great review, we love cooking and making people feel special

Advertisement

NikkiStitch

Points +176

Vegan
20 Apr 2017

delicious!

We had a delicious lunch here. The ingredients were oh so fresh and the dishes fantastic. You can tell that they put a lot of care into their food and restaurant. Lunch menu was reasonably priced at under 10 euros. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for delicious vegan food. Stay and look around the property and visit with their pet animals if you have time.

Pros: vegan options, nice atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff

Vitxo

Points +240

Vegan
22 Aug 2015

Nice place

Although it was difficult to find it was a good choice to eat in the area, because there aren't restaurants with vegan options there. The site is very nice, and the food, not cheap, is very tasty and very friendly staff, willing to veganice any dish.

Pros: friendly staff, vegan options, Pleasant place

Cons: Location, Price, Low protein

Lorna Tyther

17 Apr 2019

thankyou for the review. We build up protien by combining amino acids in pulses, wholegrains, seeds and nuts...the latter in the form of oils or seeds added to grains. I agree this can be somewhat hidden. I will make a point of marking on our menu the protien rich meals. Thanks for reminding us. Hope to see you again Lorna

LiliBat

Points +67

Vegan
11 May 2015

Beautiful place, people and food

Great restaurant and great food but it's not 100% vegetarian, so check the ingredients if you don't know every fish name. The people are lovely and Lorna told us about a jam near the restaurant, we had the opportunity to meet the restaurant staff and spend the night with them. It's a lovely team and a lovely place, you will love having a look around the garden (especially if it's not rainy). The decoration is really nice, reminding of sweet childhood memories. The main's prices were not written on the board and they might be a bad surprise.

Pros: organic food, great team, a plate is a meal, good portions

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

Points +

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2014

a very special place

We stayed at the Phoenix for one night at the end of a three week tour through Ireland, and it was the most special night we've had. It's not just a restaurant, but also a B&B. Lorna, the owner, is a warm hearted hippie mom, and the whol ehouse is decorated with stuff she brought back from her trips all over the world. The garden is a almost magical place, with gypsie caravans to sleep in, and all organic vegetables growing. We ended up drinking excellent organic wine in the garden, and later, Lorna's husband drove us to a pub nearby. Unfortunately we've missed dinner, but we had a late breakfast the next day. Make sure to buy a copy of Lorna's cookbook. The recipes I've tried so far are awesome. I'd love to come back to this place anytime and stay for a week, a month, a year and drink and eat and chat with the people there.

Pros: everything!

rebeccaatk

Points +6

Non Veg
19 Apr 2011

Good Food Haven

I am not vegetarian but find myself drawn time and time again to this relaxed, informal and delicious eating venue. My family and I have been visiting The Phoenix on and off for 8 years now and have never had a bad experience. The food is always tasty, inspiring and freshly produced wherever possible using locally sourced ingredients. There is often entertainment sometimes planned and sometimes spontaneous eg last Friday we were delighted to hear excellent traditional fiddle playing by one of the owners part time helpers. The children love exploring the beautiful garden complete with romany caravans and in the summer months you can eat El Fresco. Worth a visit whether it be just for coffee and cake (wheat free), tapas or a 3 course meal. There is no where like The Phoenix - a unique experience.

drwiz

Points +60

Vegan
05 Aug 2009

Good vegetarian choice

Funky, converted house in the middle of nowhere, but good food and fairly priced. Selection was good for vegans, and the staff was very helpful. If you are on the way to Dingle, a great place to stop for lunch or dinner. Non vegetarians were enjoying the food too, and the owner will sell you fresh produce straight out of the garden. They will also work with you to personalize your dish. In Ireland vegan restaurants are not the norm, but this would be good anywhere.

Pros: selection, location, for that area, price

Cons: not close to major areas

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Castlemaine Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Phoenix Vegetarian Restaurant & Accommodation closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3155 times.