• The Old Bridge Inn

  • (16)
    9
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
British
Scottish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has separate vegan menu with two starter and main course options plus one vegan dessert. Open Mon-Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for The Old Bridge Inn
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by LoraLondon

TeaJenny

Points +332

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

Bland

Having been here before and having a great experience, I'm left wondering what's happened in the interim because the food I was served had surely not been taste tested by anyone, ever.

The soup needed mega amounts of seasoning and the tofu dish for my main meal was the blandest thing I had ever tasted, not even salt and pepper had grazed the edges. It's dishes like this that give tofu a bad name.

I ate a minimal amount and wasn't asked if my food was okay.

Advertisement

ElsedeRidder

Points +196

Vegan
24 Nov 2022

Very tasty food

Great atmosphere and several vegan options. We went with the pakoras, autumn salad, falafel burger and rum baba cake. All were delicious. The falafel burger was our least favorite, because it was a bit bland. Definitely worth a visit when you're in the area! Do note that they don't serve food between 2.15pm and 5pm. Dog friendly.

Pros: Several options , Nice atmosphere , Dog friendly

RachelSeifert

Points +316

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Expensive but delicious

Always a few vegan options available for starter and main, only one dessert option when I went last. The chef is Michelin level trained so the food is among quality, the prices do reflect this even though it's a very casual pub setting. The burger was a bit crumbly, but the bean noodle salad was one of the best I've had. Book ahead, it's always busy in summer!

Pros: Always a few options to choose from, Food is high quality and largely locally sourced

Cons: Expensive, Portions aren't huge

HappyHeather

Points +323

Vegan
25 Feb 2022

Excellent vegan options

We went for Sunday lunch. There were 3 vegan main options which was most excellent. Also a vegan desert too which was yummy. Staff very lovely, great time was had by all our family on holiday.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-25

samharper

Points +373

Vegan
22 Jun 2021

Best Place for Vegans in Aviemore

Wasn’t aware of a separate vegan menu, but the main menu features at least a couple of vegan/ veggie starters and mains and one of the four desserts. Compared to the rest of Aviemore, this is definitely the place to go if you’re in the area.

welcomeinjam

Points +44

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

Excellent vegan options and great service

Really cosy little pub and a ton of tasty vegan options. I got the kimchi rice for my main and it was absolutely delicious. The staff were really well organised during all the coronavirus precautions and I have no complaints. Would definitely recommend! I would give it 5 stars but apparently Happy Cow only allows a max of four stars if it's not an all vegan or vegetarian restaurant???

jpirish

Points +74

Vegan
17 Aug 2020

Brilliant vegan options

Visited restaurant with friends and both the service and options for vegan food were very good . I had the Vegan kimchi fried rice which was the best I’ve tried . Main course was followed by the Vegan Chocolate parfait... OMG , amazing. Proper melt in the mouth .

There was 3 vegan main courses and 2 puddings .. great choice on a small menu , half the main menu was vegan . Had to ask if the chef was vegan due to the fact that they cater so well , surprised to find that the chef wasn’t vegan . We will definitely be back !! Thank you

Pros: 3 main vegan options , 2 desserts including the amazing vegan chocolate , Friendly staff and great choice of drinks

Cons: Book in advance

HeatherKay

Points +159

Vegetarian
27 Dec 2019

Limited options but delicious

2 veggie and 1 vegan starter but only 1 main. Wasn't aware of seperate vegan menu. Despite this food was absolutely delicious. Lovely staff.

VeganFit79

Points +44

Vegan
21 Oct 2019

Happy find

Whereas there was only one starter, one main, one dessert and a number of sides detailed as vegan on the menu, the food that arrived was outstanding! So flavoursome and fresh. Highly recommend. And, dog friendly!!!

amymu

Points +26

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Great atmosphere, nice food

I had cauliflower ‘steak’ with couscous, nicely seasoned with paprika

Pros: Nice food, Clearly labeled , Dogs allowed inside

jdursa

Points +78

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Decent vegan options including dessert

Nice atmosphere and attentive service. Vegan options were clearly marked. 2 starters, 1 main, 1 dessert.

Nice to find vegan pavlova on offer. Food was good, no complaints, would return :)

Pros: Dog friendly, Dessert option!, Vegan clearly labeled and no fuss

Cons: Only one main option (minor niggle)

MischaBorris

Points +60

Vegan
19 Aug 2019

Limited options but good visit

Unfortunately it looks like the Bridge Inn no longer has a separate vegan menu. We asked for it based on previous reviews but were pointed to the main menu. There were two starters (which we didn't have) and just the Thai curry as the main. I don't know about desserts. It was nice enough but quite pricey for what it was. But the pub itself was friendly and characterful in a good location by the Spey (we only ate there once but visited three times). You will need to book in holiday season.

Pros: Good pub

Cons: Limited options.

ChristinaKnox

Points +77

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Dog friendly, a few vegan options

Nice pub with friendly staff, with a few vegan options marked on the main menu. Dogs allowed inside. Maybe a tad pricy in the evening (£14 for Thai veg curry, £10 at lunchtime) but food was very tasty.

Pros: Dog friendly, Vegan options marked clearly

RhonaM

Points +597

Vegan
02 Nov 2018

Good for the location

We found vegan options to be quite limited in Aviemore (even down to every day options in Tesco) so it was a nice surprise to sit down to a full vegan menu on our last night. There were 3 starters, 3 mains and 2 desserts (fruit salad or sorbet). There is a menu available online which near enough matched the menus shown to us on the night. We sat in the pub side which was a nice atmosphere (and there were plenty of dogs!). We had the mushroom risotto and aubergine dahl, both very flavoursome, and sorbet for dessert.

Allarchy

Points +20

Vegan
11 Apr 2018

Good food in a nice location

Nice pub which has a separate vegan menu.

Choice was limited to two starters and two main meals but both the main meals were very nice and they offer different flavour sorbet and fruit for desert.

Would rate 4 stars if they had more options.

Pros: nice food

Cons: limited choice

LoraLondon

Points +187

Vegan
10 Oct 2017

Lovely country pub

This is a lovely traditional pub who offer a separate vegan menu (ask the staff as they don't tell you this automatically and it's not on their website). I had a gorgeous mushroom, spinach and samphire starter (that was almost big enough to be a main) and a slightly less exciting quinoa and veg main. They also had vegan sorbets for dessert.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Great atmosphere, Friendly staff




This page has been viewed 2963 times.