The Nourished Eatery

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 22 reviews )
Contact
02102670131
Find

114 Willow St, Tauranga, New Zealand, 3110

Small cafe serving burgers, toasties, smoothies, sweet treats, nut mylk coffee. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-3:00pm. Closed November month.

Categories: Vegan, Pizza, Organic, Western, Fast food, Delivery, Take-out, Bakery

22 Reviews

First Review by saneas

Most Amazing Cafe & Staff - Edit

Supporting this beautiful local cafe will be the best thing you can do on your lunching out in Tauranga. The owner is a beautiful young woman who has made it her life mission to promote veganism and compassion in every aspect of life. The food is incredible and the place has a very special energy.
Yay for vegan cafes, super brave and inspiring.

Pros: Vegan , Food for the soul, Conscious kitchen

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Food and Service! - Edit

Been coming to this lovely little cafe for a year now and the business owner and hardworking staff never cease to impress me! Wonderful service and amazing vegan food, I come in just about every week! Definitely worth a visit. The hotcakes and blue beauty tonic are among my favourite options, do try them! :) ❤️

Pros: Great food, Awesome service, Calm atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome Cafe ⚡️ - Edit

Delicious food and drinks. Awesome music and atmosphere. Fast and reliable internet, but most importantly kind, caring and overall awesome staff! Definitely a must if your stopping through Tauranga!

Pros: delicious food, reasonably priced , awesome staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Waste of time not worth two stars - Edit

We made the effort to travel here by taxi which took about 25 minutes. A complete waste of time.
Very limited lunch choices(3) on the menu and one was not available due to having no avocados.
No raw vegan available and disinterested staff.

We left and went to Wild Earth Organics up the road. What a contrast! Receptive staff and great service.

If you are a serious vegan and want delicious, healthy food, skip this place.

Pros: None

Cons: Very poor menu, Disinterested staff

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 27 Jan 2018 - Hey Ann, sorry your visit was so terrible! The avo season has been less than ideal due to the weather we've been experiencing as of late, some days our suppliers are great others we get what we are given and this can mean hard avos...... our customers usually understand how hard it is to run a small business.

We had over 10 raw balls and slices in the cabinet, 3 x raw smoothies, 3 x raw cold pressed juices, but there isn't raw on the menu, did you take time to research before you came? our menus are all online for viewing.

So happy you were able to support Wildearth, it sounds their food is more suited to you and your serious vegan lifestyle/serious vegan diet.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food - Edit

Me and my partner visited back in late November. Food was really yum, donuts are amazing! Service was outstanding. I have only become vegan 1.5 weeks prior to visiting so it was awesome to see that there is some yummy as food out there is the early days of my vegan lifestyle change. Thank you ❤️ I will be back when I am next in Tauranga 😄

Pros: Outstanding service, Yum food, Donuts are amazing

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 27 Jan 2018 - Thanks so much for the lovely review, we appreciate the support :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really Good Vegan Food - Edit

Very good food, friendly staff

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 15 Jan 2018 - Thanks so much :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

4.5/5 - Edit

Had the toasted banana bread with vanilla coconut yoghurt and fresh strawberries. I’m the type of guy who can drive all-you-can-eateries to despair, so it didn’t really fill me up, but what can. The cafe looks great, and they had free wi-fi

Pros: Delicious food, Free wi-fi, Lovely ambience

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 27 Jan 2018 - Thanks so much :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

100% vegan delight in Tauranga - Edit

Light airy atmosphere and a range of food from chocolatey decadence to cold pressed healthfulness. We had the Custard Jam donut (amazing) and banana bread for snacks, and Jackfruit burger and Willow Bowl for mains. Fairly priced and filling, we'll look forward to stopping by again next time we are in the area. Bonus points for big bottles of Sriracha on the table! :)

Pros: Custard donuts!, Nice light atmosphere, Central location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum - Edit

Super glad I found at least one full vegan place in the area. I had the jackfruit burger which was pretty good. And my friend had a kumera pie which she really enjoyed. Would recommend

Pros: full vegan

Cons: no soy milk

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum! - Edit

An awesome vegan restaurant here in Tauranga with amazing food for everyone's taste. A great range of options and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend.

Pros: Excellent food, Friendly staff, Reasonably priced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! 💕 - Edit

Amazing vegan food, delicious, beautifully presented and great variety. Friendly team who provided great customer service :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My second home - Edit

The Nourished Eatery is a blessing. The food is amazing - the menu is full of goodness for whatever mood and the cabinet is always stocked with sweet treats and savoury goods. The staff are lovely, they make you feel welcome and everyone works incredibly hard. The vibe of the entire eatery is relaxed and comfortable. Couldn't recommend The Nourished Eatery enough.

Pros: Excellent food, Lovely staff, Great location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sooo good?!! - Edit

Quite possibly one of my favourite restaurant in NZ?! Been a few times. The breakfasts are great. The pulled jackfruit is great. The BLAT is great..! You get the idea! The nut mylks and coffee is really nice and unique too. It's a must go in Tauranga!

Pros: lots of options, tasty food, unique menu

Cons: nothing!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan food in Tauranga - Edit

Fantastic little cafe, love the mushrooms on sprouted bread and the donuts are addictive. Non V husband raves about the food also!

Pros: Completely Vegan, Food is delicious, Friendly staff

Cons: Little pricey but totally worth it

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

3 stars for being vegan - Edit

The food was disappointing and the service was off.

They either didn't have or wouldn't let me use their toilet (as a paying customer) and didn't warn us they'd be closing soon, even thought they asked if we wanted to eat in or go out.

I'm giving kudos only because it's all vegan.

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 22 Mar 2017 - Hi there thank you for your review, Im sad you had a bad experience :( I as the owner, would love if you could email me more about your experience, what day was this and what time? What food did you order? I'd love to make this right, - Thank you, Sharna  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good food and variety - Edit

They had a wide variety of delicious foods here. The scrambled tofu comes highly recommended. The day we went the service was slow but they apologised so much I don't think that's standard! Had a 'clear' aesthetic, white walls, light coloured wooden tables and stools. Not 'comfortable' but still a lovely space.

Pros: variety of food

Cons: some of the stools are quite wobbly!

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 22 Mar 2017 - Hi thanks for your response, so sorry about the wobbly chairs, thanks for brining to our attention! Thanks for the review :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no caged bird? - great food! - Edit

i have to disagree with the last comment. my bf and i went there shortly after the comment about the caged bird - we wanted to see if it was true - but we didn't see anything. the cafe was nice and we had delicious food. french toast, a burger and some vege platter with vegan chicken,pesto,hummus and aioli. yummy!

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 12 Feb 2017 - Hey, thanks so much for commenting as yes, that post was a little unfair!, He (the parrot) was a little loud for the cafe so he was only there one night so we could take care of him until we could get home.. anyway, not sure if you've seen my reply to that comment, but we rescued him (he'd possibly be dead now if we didn't as farmers and the general public see them as pests so usually shot them) he's well loved and taken care of, out of his cage majority of the time, right now he's sitting on my shoulder talking away.. I only try to do whats best for everyone (animals/humans/etc), so I'm sorry if the below comment has upset anyone, Im human too  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Plant based but not vegan - Edit

The tofu burger was very tasty indeed but a little expensive considering there was no accompanying side salad or anything. Decor is lovely and charming. All meals seemed to be vegan friendly however there was a caged bird in the cafe which as a vegan made me feel quite uncomfortable and sad. I also noticed they were selling some cosmetic products containing beeswax.

Pros: Tasty, Nicely decorated, Lots of choice

Cons: Caged bird, Could be better value for money

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 09 Feb 2017 - Hi! We rescued the parrot that day, do you know if he was left in the wild he would be dead??? I had him at work with me to keep an eye on him as my partner couldn't look after him that night, I'm vegans and, Im a little confused by your comments? He was happy (as you could tell if you actually looked) he is out of the cage most of the day, he doesn't have his wings clipped, he was happy interacting with customers.... what would you rather us do? Let him into the wild to die? be shot by farmers? they're a PEST here.... so please..... So before passing judgment, simply ask staff next time :) I love my parrot :)

Re:Beeswax: we purchased those by mistake, noticing afterwards they contained beeswax but would be wasteful to throw them away, so we'll sell them (as our cafe is actually vegetarian now as we have cows milk for customers who like that.) and then we will NOT repurchase.


As finally, our prices reflect our rent, ingredients etc... if you'd like a side salad next time, ask :) we would have been more than happy to make you happier :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cute little box ♥️ - Edit

Super nice food but it's sadly in an industrial area.

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 24 Dec 2016 - Thank you for the feedback, we loved the location of our cafe, we agree its not for everyone though! :) We've since moved into town FYI
We can now be found at 114 Willow St,
Thanks  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best in Tauranga - Edit

I think the other reviews have said it all, but I just want to say that when my family and I visited Tauranga together a few weeks ago this cafe was a lifesaver: food is delicious and healthy, the place has a great vibe and the owner is clearly passionate about health and vegan food.
While for the visitor it's a little off the beaten track, it's well worth the drive there, and it's reat that it's serving vegan food to so many non-vegan workers in the area.

Pros: all vegan, healthy and delicious, very reasonable prices

Cons: a little far away, but worth it!

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 03 Aug 2016 - Hey Jesse, thanks for the lovely review. Your family was so kind, I hope your mum is enjoying her nut butters she brought :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

DELICIOUS - Edit

Lovely little cafe tucked away off the main streets
fab ambiance
funky setting


Updated from previous review on 2016-07-28

Pros: all veganheaps of foodgreat value

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 03 Aug 2016 - Hi :) thanks so much for the lovely review, we hope you enjoyed your food  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lived up to the Rave Reviews! - Edit

I heard about this cafe as soon as it opened from friends and family in the area. Today I got to eat there and it really is as good as they all said. I had the signature "pulled pork' burger with lots of yummy things on it and tried a nut mylk hot chocolate. Divine! Everyone else there was very happy with their food. I chatted with what I assume was the owner and she clearly understands food and its impact on health. Thats a big bonus. I'm sure this iconic eatery will go the way of Little Bird in Auckland. I'll be back when I next visit the BOP. Support this great cafe, you won't be disappointed!

Updated from previous review on 2016-07-19

Pros: Great price, Healthy Ingredients, Very tasty

1 Response
Read More

Sharnamcelligott 21 Jul 2016 - Thank you so much for your lovely review, we all really appreciate your kind words. Hope to see you again, enjoy your next housesit :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Tauranga Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Nourished Eatery closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2206 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support