• The Mud House

  • (13)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Delivery
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Includes many clearly labeled vegan items, often using locally sourced ingredients. NOTE: Reported August 2023 to have limited vegan options – please send updates to HappyCow.


Venue map for The Mud House
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Brynnad

dawgmuncher420

Points +58

Vegan
24 Nov 2023

Quality Drop / Vegan Option Chop

Used to be a delicious bfast spot. New chef axed vegan options and frankly all fresh/house made options. They used to batch a ton of stuff in house. You can taste the difference, so even if you choose to heavily modify an option that wasn’t made vegan it will still be bad. not worth $9 a plate, not worth the visit. Nice FOH though! OK coffee

Pros: Front of House Staff

Cons: Doesn’t represent surround neighborhood in staff, Not vegan

Advertisement

bryanbumgardner

Points +63

Vegan
18 Aug 2023

NO LONGER HAS VEGAN OPTIONS

As of August 2023, the Tofu scramble and vegan slinger are removed from the menu. The only vegan option is avocado toast.

Pros: Coffee, Service, Vibes

Cons: No vegan options

alyssa1999

Points +103

Vegan
22 May 2023

Love the vegan slinger

The vegan slinger is so good! I wish they had a few more vegan options but I’ll keep coming back just for that.

BeverlyOrnberg

Points +1212

Mostly Veg
19 Dec 2021

Great coffee! Lots of Vegan options

Stopped here for coffee and fell for the food. Daniel enjoyed the vegan tofu scramble, and they had a choice of oat, soy, and almond milk for our coffees. Great find!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonably priced, Open early on Sunday!

VegMC

Points +165

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Vegan slinger is very good!

Had the vegan slinger for breakfast, it was very tasty and filling! If you’re looking for STL staple comfort breakfast food, this place has you covered! Coffee was also extremely good!

lilbit

Points +260

Vegan
28 Sep 2021

Great Brunch Spot

This is a cute and quaint little restaurant that is great for breakfast/brunch and their food has a lot of flavor!

MichelleP36

Points +1580

Vegan
11 Jul 2021

Full of Flavor

Loved the tofu scramble and vegan burrito! Wish we weren't just traveling through town, as we'd love to eat there again

krupagreg

Points +43

Vegetarian
17 May 2021

So Hipster

Nice but not engaging borderline cliquish.
Food is very good loved the stew. On our way back home to the airport one last stop definitely come in.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: No smiles

radicalmycology

Points +200

Vegan
19 Apr 2019

Decent food, long wait

I ordered the vegan slinger on a Sunday morning. The place was packed, and I waited over 30 minutes for my food. That’s not really a complaint, more of a heads-up to not expect to be in and out quickly. The food was decent but not amazing. The tofu scramble was basically just crumbled tofu and oil. It lacked seasoning.

Pros: Hip

Cons: Slow when busy

Ljenner

Points +379

Vegan
12 Mar 2018

Tasty Breakfast!

I got the Mud Slinger made vegan, and it was really tasty with a nice level of seasoning. Drinks took a pretty long time to arrive and my mom's cinnamon roll was really dry and half of it wasn't glazed so she didn't enjoy that, but it's awesome that it has some vegan options.

LindMiy

Points +44

Vegan
26 Jan 2018

They forgot us...

We went there for brunch... first we waited on our coffee for over thirty minutes... finally we had to ask and they said they never got the order from the register. Finally got our coffee and waited another twenty minutes before having to ask about our food. They then realized they lost that order as well so we had to wait for them to place the order and make it.

So yeah... the food was ok. The coffee was good. Hard to find a seat... and just a staff that wasn’t paying attention. Nice staff ...just unfocused.

fondducoeur

Points +1167

Vegan
17 Dec 2016

Tasty Vegan Brunch

Mud House is a casual breakfast/lunch place on Cherokee Street. It has several vegan breakfast meals, including the vegan slinger, spicy scramble, and vegan breakfast burrito. I had the burrito, which was huge, and included scrambled tofu, potatoes, black beans, and poblano peppers. It was served with a side salad. I ordered Match chorizo with it, thinking it would come inside the burrito, but it was served on the side as a patty. It was fine, but unnecessary. My husband ordered the slinger, which came with scrambled tofu, black bean chili, potatoes, and toast. The place was quite crowded on a Saturday morning, and we were lucky to find a small table after ordering. It would probably be a bit difficult to show up with a group.
In terms of drinks, they have several pour-over coffee options. They also have tea and local kombucha. I will definitely be back for brunch at Mud House.

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Good Coffee

Cons: No boozy brunch drinks

Brynnad

Points +28

Vegan
28 Feb 2016

should be 5 stars

I loved mudhouse before eliminating dairy and meat and their vegan options are incredible. I crave the breakfast burrito all day long! Their coffee is also some of the best in St Louis. I would give them 5 stars if Happy Cow allowed me to.

Pros: many vegan options, locally sourced ingredients




This page has been viewed 3966 times.