The Moon - Old Bagan

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 57 reviews )

Also known as Be Kind To Animals, this little open-air veggie cafe is located on a dirt road north of the Ananda Temple, just off the old main road - you'll see a sign on the main road directing you. Offers a variety of choices. One seasonal specialty is the papadum with guacamole. Open Mon-Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Beer/Wine, Asian, Burmese

57 Reviews

First Review by fatafut23

PatiRati

Points +59

Vegetarian
17 Feb 2020

Nice ambience, food so lala

Sympathetic outdoor restaurant with smiling and helpful staff that speaks good english. Had a great vegetable curry, salads and dishes of the day were fresh but seemed rather tasteless to me.
For a more relaxed (and at night romantic) atmosphere head to Moon 2 in New Bagan.

Izzyveg

Points +626

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Tasty and fresh but bill pay in $?

This restaurant offers tasty food with variety of options. The only problem that we encountered is the fact that despite the prices and bill being in Kyat, they want you to pay in $ for some reason at a lowered exchange rate as well. I really don't understand or agree with this sort of practice, so for that it's only 3*.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Bill payment is in $ at a lower exchange rate

BethanyGrace

Points +210

Vegan
17 Jan 2020

Faultless

I can see why this place has such excellent reviews! The service was great, it was a lovely setting an atmosphere, the food was excellent value for money and was very tasty and fresh. I opted for the Set Menu - Rice, Lentil Soup, Tomato Tofu Curry, Tomato Salad - which comes in at 4,500 MMK. Left feeling stuffed, couldn’t fault the food either.

Pros: Excellent value for money , Delicious fresh veggie food

Advertisement

Connoisseursf

Points +21

Vegetarian
28 Dec 2019

Dirty and no proper service

Without the owner (lady) the young waiters in the restaurant slack off - had to request for a spoon and fork 3 times. They are not organized.

Food was not great (except lentil soup) and my husband is still throwing up as I write this! Also, rice came in a dirty plate and when I requested a change, they brought the same plate with my naan!!!! Clean plate for rice.

Cheap but have had better.

mariekewenning

Points +21

Vegetarian
25 Dec 2019

Great food and ambiance

This total vegetarian restaurant had u huge selection of veg and vegan options! We tried the tofu coconut curry and it was the best we ever had

Pros: All vegetarian and vegan, Nice staff, Great ambiance and near Ananada pagoda

Cons: Busy

MiandJa

Points +137

Vegan
20 Dec 2019

Great food

Super tasty traditional food. Try pumpkin Curry and tamarind leaf salad as well as brown sticky rice. We enjoyed a lot!

Vegan1957

Points +285

Vegan
29 Nov 2019

Would visit again. Good food.

Food was good portion sizes with fast delivery. Smiling staff. Nice Guacamole.

Pros: Nice Staff. Attentive , Good Specials board

Rook

Points +45

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Nice Place

Had a lovely lunch here in between exploring ancient temples. Nice place to sit and chill and savour a fresh fruit juice.

Pros: Several vegan options, Friendly staff, Good atmosphere.

tibe80

Points +392

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

More vegetarian than vegan

Even when they list the ingredients in the menu and it sound vegan, they might mix mayonnaise or butter with it.
Pricy but tasty.

thegreenexpat

Points +57

Vegetarian
03 Nov 2019

Delicious food!

I went there twice during my stay in Bagan, both times the food was delicious. The employees are professional and friendly. It's an open restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Recommend the vegetable garden curry and the chapati wrap!

travelyogagirl

Points +38

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Amazing food

Have been at Moon restaurant two times because of the good service. There are different choices of vegan food. They don’t use the flavor enhancer MSG but a lot of spices, onions, garlic, etc. Would recommend the vegetarian burger and the tea leaf salad, also the vegan Coconut fruit shake.

Clemer

Points +15

Mostly Veg
27 Sep 2019

Delicious fresh veggie food

We had a mango fresh juice, tea leaves salad, a garlic naan potatoes & beans curry. They offered homemade tamarind sweets. Everything is fresh, tasty and homemade. The prices are honest. Staff is really nice. I recommand this restaurent 200% !

Pros: Lots of choices. All is fresh and homemade.

eliina

Points +174

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Good

Went twice but to the second location in New Bagan. Friendly service amazing coconut soup! A bit overpriced and they still use plastic straws...

JamesDrew

Points +84

Vegan
21 Jul 2019

Tasty

The juices were great and the small amount of food i tried was what i was looking for as a vegan in a country with few vegetarian restaurants. Will the going back for dinner 👍

Xuliwai

Points +175

Vegetarian
09 Jul 2019

Good food

Food is good and tasty. amazing drinks

Pros: All vegetarian

Cons: Quite expensive

AlejandraNewton

Points +150

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2019

Delicious!!!

Everything I tasted was delicious! Curry and tofu salad was great!!

Pros: Todo es vegetariano., Hay muchas opciones de comida deliciosa., El servicio es bueno y rápido.

JessieNelson

Points +86

Vegetarian
11 Jun 2019

Cute vegetarian restaurant

Cute vegetarian restaurant nestled between lots of pagodas. I tried one of the specials on the board (chapti wrap) and it was great. Incredible flavours and great size.

Pros: Helpful and lovely staff , Lots of vegan options , Tasty

Cons: On the slightly expensive side

naturalganja

Points +110

Vegan
26 May 2019

Great vegan place with nice dishes

Good vegan menu with choices going from green Curry to vegetarian burger
Had a great time but room for improvement.
Great vibe and efficient staff

malaury10

Points +624

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Good and cheap food

The food here is good but not exceptional though. Prices a low which is great. Best dish I had here was the Myanmar curry.

Pros: Cheap, Lots of vegan options

Cons: No fully vegan

clauclaudia

Points +48

Vegan
05 Mar 2019

Regular

Cozy place situated next to some of the pagodas.Food was good, a little bit sticky the veggie noodles, bit nice ginger salad.

Pros: Have vegan options.

Cons: The price a little bit higher than other places.

mizsatya

Points +48

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

go to moon 2 in new bagan!!!

...the best dishes in vegan options♥️🙏🏼👌🏽

Pros: only vegan and vegetarian food♥️

mtravel

Points +350

Vegan
15 Feb 2019

Yummy and nice

I really like my coconut soup and the stuff is very friendly (not like at the other moon in New Bagan). The location is nice too. I can def recommend going there.

Pros: many vegan options, friendly stuff, nice location

Cons: it is not the cheapest

Lucie&Jack

Points +278

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

Nice place

A great place to relax whilst visiting the temples of Bagan! The food was so tasty and at a good price! They had a really lovely dog there as well 😊 we came here twice whilst in Bagan and both times weren't disappointed! The only negative thing was a man (not staff) kept trying to sell women paintings.

Pros: Delicious food, Nice place to relax, Good portion sizes!

Cons: Annoying man trying to sell things to women!

Julien_blutopia

Points +496

Vegan
23 Jan 2019

Le top de Bagan

Alors oui, en tant que bon français, on est un peu exigeant concernant la nourriture. La Birmanie ne propose pas ce qui se fait de mieux. Mais The Moon Old Bagan est la meilleur option.

Attention, pensez au petit geste simple pour l’océan : pas de paille dans les jus. Il sera tout aussi bon et vous épargnez la vie sous marine. Merci.

Pros: La meilleure option à Bagan. , 100% végétarien , Flexible dans la composition (vegan)

Cons: Prix au dessus de la moyenne

L.E.S

Points +18

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Way Overrated

I do not understand the hype of either locations. But it seems in Myanmar one's expectations for healthy food need to be lower then what you would expect in Thailand. Lots of oil, the massaman curry I had was not good, I am eating a fruit plate and a lot of the fruit is not even ripe so it's too hard to actually eat. Disappointing.

russellfeathers

Points +381

Vegan
19 Dec 2018

Over the Moon

Great dinner. Beautifully lit and spacious outdoor seating area surrounded by a lovely garden. Staff are able to help if you're vegan. Very flavoursome food and big portions. Can definitely see what the fuss is about!

Pros: Flavoursome food, Big portions, Lovely outdoor seating

BesianNuellari

Points +60

Vegan
29 Nov 2018

Delicious surprice

Before the trip we tried to get couple of vegan burgers because we thought we would not get many chances in Myanmar. Well this place changed that. We fell for the burgers and they were delicious. So were the home made potatoes and the ginger on the french fries was a genial idea. Best place in our trip to Myanmar so far and some of the best vegan burgers in general. the environment is very peaceful and the staff is very nice and helpful. Definitely recommend to go there if you are in Bagan

Pros: Lots of vegan options., Staff ready to make vegan the Vegetarian dishes.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Bagan Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Moon - Old Bagan closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 10708 times.