The Mexican Standoff - Pop-up

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 9 reviews )
Contact
0623154101
Find

9 rue Aux Ours, Paris, France, 75003

Friday evening pop-up dinner at Vert Midi. Serves vegan tacos, Mexican beers, shots, and desserts. All gluten-free. See Facebook for details of other events and locations. Open Fri 7:00pm-11:30pm.

Categories: Vegan, Fast food, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Mexican, Catering, Gluten-free

9 Reviews

First Review by LisaCupcake

Delicious vegan tacos! - Edit

Delicious vegan tacos! Great value for money. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Delicious desserts too, and it's all vegan. Cash only payments.

Pros: Delicious food. Good value for money. Relaxed, fri

Cons: None.

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 03 Sep 2017 - Thank you 1985Original,

We really appreciate the time you took to write down a comment.

Your experience motivate us to keep up the good work and make sure all the experiences at the mexican Standoff are like yours !

Take a very good care of you and you will alway be welcome at the Mexican Standoff ! :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice concept but a bit disappointed - Edit

I had dinner here once and I took the tacos and the dessert (cornflake cake). I like the concept and I think there is something to do since a no Mexican places are vegan in Paris. The staff is friendly and the food is well presented but I found the tacos very dry, and thus, not very tasty. I would have expected something more creamy and spicy, or at least served with guacamole for example (suggestion). The portion was also not huge and I was still hungry after the tacos and the cornflake cake. I know it's the beginning and that it requires a strong organization to cook as a pop-up place but I think you can clearly improve the taste with some small changes in the recipes (including more creamy and spices items). Good luck in the future!

Pros: vegan, friendly staff, nice concept

Cons: small portions, dry and not spicy food, few choices

2 Responses
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 03 Sep 2017 - Thank you for your review JonJon,

We listened carefully to our your recommendations and we decided to add a creamy sauce to the tacos and it's AMAZING !

Maybe you had one light serving when i put the filling in your tortillas that day, because usually people are perfectly full after a 6 tacos meal, just come to me next time and I 'll make sure you have plenty of food in your tray :)

We are currently working on two offers of desserts and we already changed from 2 to 4 drinks offers in the menu. We are getting there ! :)

Thank you for your constructive comment, it really help us make a better offer ! :)
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

JonJon 06 Sep 2017 - Thank you very much for your response. I'll be very glad to come back and try your new menu and tacos!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Authentic tasting tacos - Edit

I was craving Mexican food and remember seeing a link about this pop-up, I'm so happy to have checked it out. As soon as I saw that tortilla, i could tell the tacos were going to be delicious and I was not wrong. I highly recommend it and look forward to being back. I hope they open up somewhere permanently and be able to explore a vegan Mexican cuisine. It would be great to see them have the success of Hank burger.

Pros: Authentic taste, Much needed mexican food in Paris

Cons: A bit pricey

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 16 Apr 2017 - Thank you for your awesome review Marko !

As we continue working on buying on bigger levels and simplifying processes, we are willing to offer a wider range of products and prices to make your experience even more perfect ! ;)

Check out the new opening days on Facebook !. : facebook.com/MexicanStandoffOfficial/

You will always be welcomed at The Mexican Standoff ! ;)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious! - Edit

We had this show up on our HappyCow radar on a Tuesday and we decided to give it a go. The owner is lovely and explained to us about his pop up and how it is often used as a meet/greet/mixer style set up and asked if we had a reservation (It's cheaper if you do) but was happy to accomodate for us. We had the combo with soft tacos and they were fantastic. I think they were pulled pork (or resembled them!). It also included a drink of which we decided on a traditional syrup-type cordial that tasted like medicine to be honest and wasn't for us but perhaps others would enjoy! Finally it came with a corn-flakes style desert which was delicious! I definitely recommend.

Pros: the tacos! and desert!, the Mexican theme around the place

Cons: maybe just that medicine drink :/

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 02 Apr 2017 - Thank you for your comment and feed back on the drink ! :)

We will do changes to offer a bigger choice of drinks in order to please everyone's taste !

The Mexican Standoff team :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Go for the Tacos! - Edit

We had the dinner set, which consists of 6 tacos, a drink and a dessert (tip: if you reserve in advance you get a small discount).

The tacos were yummy, flavorful and with a nicely done tortilla.

The drink was either a beer or a "horchata" (not fresh but from syrup); and the dessert consisted of chocolate-coated cornflakes.
I must say I didn't enjoy them that much; but well, I did not go there for the dessert or the drink.

In summary, I'd say go try the tacos!

Pros: tasty tacos, friendly staff, good value

Cons: opens only once a week, dessert could be better, poor variety of drinks

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 02 Apr 2017 - Thank you for your comment Ricardo ! :)

Be sure that we will do everything we can to open more often in the week and offer you a bigger choice of desserts and drinks,

Stay tuned !

The Mexican Standoff team :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

super - Edit

Tacos délicieux!
Dessert au top!
Nous y avons mangé ce soir et sommes ressortis ravis!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Mexican Standoff - Hottest Place In Town - Edit

Alexandre is one of the coolest & most joyful vegans in Paris, when he walks in a room it lights up, he's been spreadin' veganism for years, & his party nights are phenomenal, plus he speaks a few languages, so you can only imagine how good the food is on top of all that !!!!

Pros: Food, Party Atmosphere, Conviviality

Cons: Get outa here !!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent - Edit

Excellent and healthy food, all fresh and delicious. Very authentic mexican tacos that we can't find here in France. Very nice atmosphere as well with cool mexican badass music, perfect spot to go with friends on tuesdays evenings :)

Pros: Excellent food, Nice vibe, Authentic mexican dishes

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 19 Jan 2017 - Thank you Camille,

You are our number one fan out there ! ;)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

¡Muy bien! - Edit

I've been to this pop-up once so far and it was great! The chef and his team are very friendly and you get yummy artisan tacos and other tasty Mexican-inspired items. Don't forget to pick up their loyalty card, which you can use at future pop-ups for discounted prices.

This is the only place in Paris I know of where you can get vegan Mexican food. Don't miss it!

Pros: great food, friendly staff, nice vibe

Cons: none!

1 Response
Read More

AlexandreZamudio 19 Jan 2017 - Thanks LisaCupcake !

Whoever you are, your kind comment maid our badass heart melt inside ! ;)

See you next time !

Bang! Bang !
The Mexican Standoff team
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Paris Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has The Mexican Standoff - Pop-up closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2925 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support