Mellow Mushroom

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 11 reviews )

Find

314 W 4th St (at downtown), Winston-salem, North Carolina, USA, 27101

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hippie-themed, sit-down dining pizza restaurant. Has vegan cheese, tempeh, and tofu for pizza and hoagies/sandwiches. Order from the pre-designed menu or build your own. Other menu options include a calzone and hummus and pita. Urban, funky atmosphere. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, American, Pizza, Italian, Fast food, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Take-out, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by Miss_C

RavenQueen

Points +47

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

Great Vegan Options

We have been to several Mellow Mushrooms restaurants in a few different states and by far this is a favorite. Great food, excellent service.

Pros: Many vegan options , Clean, Great staff

Medulla0909

Points +413

Vegan
18 Nov 2019

Reliable

I use to dine at mellow mushroom back in the 90s while living in Atlanta and even back then you could modify your pizza to get some vegan grub. Nice part now actual vegan items are part of the menu. This place is now all over the country which is great...especially when traveling and you need a familiar place to stop for food. I do not eat a lot of pizza but when I do, I come here. And if pizza isn’t what you want they have salads, apps and sandwiches to choose from as well.

Pros: Lots of options , Good pizza , Open late night

IsaViolet

Points +133

Vegan
16 Nov 2019

Awesome vegan pizza

This local is so awesome and vegan friendly they tell you up front what too watch out for and not to get. They use the “ follow your heart brand cheese “ which is so amazing melted on their pizzas!

Pros: Tons of veggies , Amazing vegan cheese, Amazing beer

Cons: Needs more vegan sandwich options

Advertisement

missmarissg

Points +140

Vegan
25 May 2019

Amazing pizza

Their vegan pizza is really delicious but it’s a little pricey. I’ve gotten the veggie pizza before and for whatever reason it was kind of bland. I had to douse it up in hot sauce. But I recently tried just a plain cheese pizza and it was perfect.

rancidl

Points +374

Vegan
08 Dec 2017

Always Good

We've been several times and always have options to choose from. They have great marinated tempeh here, you must try it! Their vegan cheese is great and always know what vegan means!

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-07

Pros: Options, Vegan cheese, All vegan bread

Cons: NA

smileysav

Points +20

Vegan
13 May 2017

Great vegan options and helpful staff!

the staff at mellow mushroom are very kind and helpful and are trained very well. they know every vegan option they have. ALL of the pizza dough is vegan and they even have diya cheese. amazing place if you're looking for some amazing vegan pizza!

Pros: vegan cheese, vegan dough, lovely and helpful staff

egmatthews

Points +16

Vegan
30 Jan 2017

Excellent!!!

The restaurant has such a cool vibe and I loved it!!! The food and service were delicious, and they're vegan pizza was top of the line. Would definitely recommend!

Pros: Good vegan pizza, cool atmosphere

Colbie

Points +24

Vegan
05 May 2016

Great Vegan Options!!

I got the "veg out" with the vegan/gluten free crust and with dayia cheese. It was delicious but the only thing I have to say is it took a long time for them to make it, and it can only come in a size medium. I was a little sad when they could only come in medium but still thought it was very tasty. A little on the pricey side with the dayia cheese, so I suggest to get it w/o the cheese to make it more affordable. Overall it was really good pizza on a Friday! :)

Pros: Tasty

Cons: Pricey , Long wait

YumVeganCookies

Points +67

Vegan
13 Nov 2014

Fun place, friendly staff & good vegan options

Great staff - very helpful, friendly, hard-working and knowledgeable. One of the managers is vegan, making it more likely that staff members will understand what vegans eat (and don't eat). MM has tasty and melty vegan cheese (daiya), which I love, and tofu and tempeh in the toppings menu. They have several salads that can be modified to suit vegans and a hummus platter for munching, if you're not in the mood for a big meal. Their pizza crust can be made without butter or Parmesan cheese on it, so remember to tell them that when you order. In addition, they have a good number of pizza toppings for individualized pizza pizzazz. :-)
Updated from previous review on Wednesday November 12, 2014

Pros: vegan options including vegan cheese, friendly staff, reliably good food

Cons: no vegan desserts (except pretzels), skimpy on pizza sauce coverage, a bit pricey

Amber9503

Points +23

Vegan
27 Dec 2010

Vegan cheese

I went there yesterday and they do have vegan cheese. In fact, the vegan cheese they use is Daiya. I'm not sure if they didn't have it when the previous reviewer went, but they do now!!!

The pizza itself is awesome!! Lots of veggie options, including bbq tofu and regular tofu. The calzones are really good too!! Will definitely come back.

Miss_C

Points +39

Vegan
13 Jul 2010

Very good!

As a vegan, my main criticism would be that my options at Mellow would expand exponentially if they had vegan cheese. That aside, it's quite possible to get a delicious pizza without it, though the cornucopia of ingredients would be better held in place with some "glue!" However, good luck convincing your non-vegan friends to share a meatless AND cheeseless pizza with you. And a calzone without cheese is just sort of a massive lump of dough. There are also a few more single-serve options (sandwiches) that can easily be made vegan. I tend to avoid salads when I eat out just because they're usually boring (and sometimes the only choice), but with Mellow's wide range of veggies and proteins it's actually a viable option. If they added the vegan cheese, you could make just about anything on the menu vegan! In any case, a crowd-pleasing choice even when dining with non-veggies.

Pros: Lots of choices, Drinks

Cons: No vegan cheese

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Winston-salem Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mellow Mushroom closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3192 times.