Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Mediterranean
Delivery
Take-out
Middle Eastern

Mediterranean vegetarian restaurant with a variety of vegan dishes, including rice, lentils, moussaka, grape leaves, falafel bowl, and daily soups. Open Tue-Sat 11:00am-7:00pm, Sun 11:30am-6:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for The Mediterranean Chickpea
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by DesiraeFreedman

KristenReynolds

Points +15

Vegetarian
29 Feb 2024

Delicious

Excuse me?! This is, by far, the best hummus I have ever had. Let me just say, my husband isn’t the biggest vegetarian in the world, but he was head-over-heels for this food. We had the moussaka and the mesa platter, all homemade with love, and it shows. Absolutely delicious!!

Advertisement

HarrisonAnderson

Points +177

Vegan
17 Feb 2024

Great Food

The owner was so nice and the food is great.

pudden486

Points +77

Vegan
12 Aug 2023

The Best!!!

Mostly vegan with a few vegetarian items. Also, mostly homemade by the owner. Everything very authentic, flavorful and well made. Their falafel is finished in an air fryer right before being served, so it is delicious & crispy without being oily. Absolutely perfect, just like everything else. The best Mediterranean food in the area. Will be back again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-12

Pros: Reasonable prices, good quality, Friendly & helpful owner, Mostly vegan

Cons: None

JeffDiercks

Points +11

Mostly Veg
01 Jul 2023

The Best Mediterranean Food!

This place may be small, but they pack some powerful flavors in their foods. The proprietor is super nice and very accommodating. Go ahead the try the five or six different flavors of hummus. Great experience!

Pros:

The portion sizes are large. My wife and I usually split a wrap. You get a lot for the money.

Cons:

The restaurant is cozy, but you probably want to carry out and eat your food someplace with a bit more atmosphere.

pujanshah13

Points +18

Vegan
14 May 2023

Great food

Love their food! I went in middle of the afternoon, I was the only customer so I was a bit worried about the quality but to my surprise, it was amazing, finished everything I ordered

Pros: Hummus , Falafel, Spinach bread

Cons: Air was a bit stuffy

LigeiaSmith

Points +299

Vegan
27 Apr 2023

Good food

Got food to go and enjoyed everything I ordered.

Pros: Good vegan options

Cons: Not all vegan

MichelleDeborah

Points +165

Raw
24 Dec 2022

Amazing authentic mediteranian food

The mediteranian chickpea was so authentic and fresh. You can tell that everything is hand made from scratch, made with love.

Pros: Multiple hummus selections, Vegan baklava , Gluten free options

Cons: None

nicoledesignsdata

Points +39

Vegan
26 May 2022

Best hummus!

I love this place. The falafel, hummus, and tabbouleh are all authentic and delicious. The prices are reasonable.

fearious

Points +305

Vegan
27 Apr 2022

Authentic Mediterranean

I wanted to a get a bit of everything so I tried the variety platter - had the Jalapeño cilantro hummus, mousaka, quinoa salad (yum), Fava bean salad, and falafel. I also got the Zaatar pie to try something new. It would probably be good warmed up. The pita comes as a pocket so you can put the ingredients from the platter inside and make a sandwich. Get an extra 1 or 2 pita.

Pros: Most stuff is vegan

AzadDjan

Points +48

Vegan
19 Dec 2021

All most everything is vegan and delicious

All most everything is vegan and delicious

pixiemom9295

Points +129

Vegan
07 Dec 2021

Excellent Choice

The owner took personal care of us! Everything is made in house! Absolutely delicious!

Pros: All vegan , Lots of choices , Very friendly

malzimm6

Points +367

Vegan
05 Sep 2021

Hidden gem!

Loved this cute place! The owner is friendly and makes everything from scratch. The falafel wrap and hummus are incredible.

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-05


Updated from previous review on 2021-09-05


Updated from previous review on 2021-09-05


Updated from previous review on 2021-09-05

Pros: Many vegan items, Small business , Large portions

TravisRobinson

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 Mar 2020

A must

Looking around for some healthy choices and stumbled upon this place. Was best falafel and hummus I've had to date. Owners were friendly. If I lived here I would come often! Cilantro jalepeno hummus!

Qcvegan

Points +59

Vegan
10 Jan 2020

Loved all the hummus options!

Great hummus options, wraps are huge! Great seasonings on the wraps and delicious soup. Located in a strip mall and a little difficult to find with the GPS, but worth it!

Jason.Fontana

Points +1587

Vegan
05 Jan 2020

Great food + Nice People

We stopped in for lunch and got the Jalapeño Cilantro Falafel and the Beet Hummus Falafel. Both were outstanding. The husband and wife owners run the place and couldn’t have been nicer.

Pros: Great food, Reasonably Prices , Great customer service.

Donvfisher

Points +197

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Humble and delicious.

Great food, cheap.

Pros: See above

dj_kells

Points +36

Vegan
23 Nov 2019

Wish I lived closer...

I’d eat this every day!! Fresh ingredients, friendly staff and superbly delicious Mediterranean food. Fattoush, hummus, bean salad, spinach pie, zatar pie and fresh pita... everything was fantastic. Can’t wait to come back to try the falafel.

Pros: Vegan wonderland.

Cons: None.

AnneH28

Points +49

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Amazing food and wonderful people

If we lived in Tampa, we would be here all the time. We had dinner here to celebrate my graduation from college (after 29 years), and the owners were welcoming, helpful, and patient with my mom. On top of all of that, the food was delicious, comforting, and oh so satisfying. I should have gotten some baklava to take for graduation dessert, but there is always tomorrow, right?

Pros: So many delicious vegan things!, Friendly, welcoming, wonderful experience, Great value

Cons: Please move to my house!

jillhiggins

Points +616

Vegan
12 May 2019

Amazing Food and Service

The best Mediterranean food ever. This restaurant is family run and provides the best service. The entire menu is vegan! Spinach pie, cilantro jalapeno hummus, white bean salad, rice & lentils, fattoush and baklava are Soo delicious.

CharoVargas

Points +26

Vegan
12 Mar 2019

Great place on S. MacDill Ave

The food is delish and super fresh. Vegan options galore and owners are super friendly.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: None

DurgaSptaru

Points +18

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

Quality food

The owner is super kind- letting us try everything and telling us the one or two items that weren’t vegan

Pros: Absolutely delicious!, Try the potato pie!

DesiraeFreedman

Points +117

Vegan
11 Jan 2019

Wow so Yummy and Fresh

I love this place! Everything is VEGAN except for one item. They even have vegan baklava! The owners are so kind and encourage you to try things if you’d like before buying. I love the lentil lemon soup and falafel wrap 😋

Pros: Fresh ingredients , Lots of Variety




This page has been viewed 5724 times.