• The Maclab Bistro

  • (11)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
International
Fusion
Canadian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Bistro in Banff centre. Has vegan labelled including vegan cobb salad, maclab flax burger, a mezze platter, Asian stir fry wrap, and then a banana maple tiramisu trifle for dessert.


Venue map for The Maclab Bistro
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by VeggieFromSpace

Channy-736

Points +82

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Delicious and filling without being heavy!

Would have given it 5 stars if we could. My husband and I got the vegan Cobb salad, the grilled tofu bowl, and the sweet potato fries.

The Cobb salad had delicious strips of marinated tofu and some pumpkin seeds, making it hearty salad. It is so rare to find good marinated tofu (or tofu that’s been marinated at all!) but this place gets it right! The tofu strips in this salad have a nice firm texture and almost bacon-ey flavour. The salad dressing was delicious. I thought it was a little too much dressing but my husband thought it was perfect.

The grilled tofu bowl was also delicious and hearty. It had seasoned quinoa and a brick of tofu that had been marinated and grilled with a tasty sauce. It was kind of like a chicken breast.

The sweet potato fries were flavourful and grilled perfectly.

Atmosphere very nice and modern. It was clean and had a minimalistic look.

Pros: Tasty, Pretty healthy, Nice atmosphere

Advertisement

LynnRST

Points +222

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

Amazing Cobb salad

Not a ton of vegan options when I ate dinner there recently (Sept 2022), so maybe this has changed from previous reviews. They had a vegan Cobb salad, maybe another salad, and some kind of veggie burger (which sounded delicious). I had the vegan Cobb salad which was outstanding. Beautiful view of the mountains & nice outdoor seating.

Pros: Vegan options are delicious , Beautiful view

Cons: Not many vegan options

ThePrairieVegan

Points +359

Vegan
21 Sep 2020

So much potential

I’m a regular. And I love the place, but the vegan offerings are just a little disappointing. Great place, great atmosphere, great views, and the food is good.

Pros: decent vegan options , Amazing views , Great place to visit with friends

MissSuperTash

Points +175

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Best breakfast!

This was hands down the best vegan breakfast I have ever had! It was huge, there was pancakes and the toast always comes unbuttered :)

Pros: Huge portions, Delicious, In a beautiful location

gorbit

Points +203

Vegan
07 Jul 2019

Goof falafel!

I got the falafel and fries to go, super good! Wasn’t too dry or too wet, it was great.

lmcc

Points +1208

Vegan
13 May 2019

Beautiful views off the beaten path

Banff is super busy, and so finding a quiet(er) spot for dinner was really nice. Located within the Banff Centre, the Maclab Bistro offers a gorgeous view of the mountains. There was an elk on the hill right next to the patio munching on some grass while we had our dinner. The service was really friendly as well.

We ordered the vegan Mezze platter to start. Other than that and the fries (which come with a non-vegan aioli), there isn't really a vegan starter to share. The Mezze Platter was really good, though. We enjoyed the three different kinds of hummus, and the citrus tahini dressing on the salad was tasty. I ordered the Vegan Maclab Burger with a side salad for my main, and it was a decent meal. The patty was made with quinoa and other grains, and was pretty tasty. There was a chutney on the burger which I also really enjoyed.

All in all, the food was decent, the views were stunning, and I did enjoy the meal.

Pros: Beautiful views, Clearly labeled vegan options

Orion

Points +1415

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

Out of the ordinary

One vegan breakfast on the menu, really different but also really good

Pros: Something different , Great value, Amazing views from the restaurant

Cons: Not many options

blissful_brittany

Points +130

Vegan
12 Jul 2018

beautiful views

My girlfriends and I ate here the other night, service was a little bit slow, i ordered a tea and our waitress forgot and I never got it, but the view made up for it. eating dinner with the view of the beautiful rocky mountains is amazing, theres only a couple vegan gluten free options so not a lot to choose from but i got a delicious soup and salad, will go back again.

Pros: beautiful view, great salad, nice patio

Cons: not a lot of options

AutumnTierra

Points +1438

Vegan
02 Jul 2018

Decent vegan options

This place is at the Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity. It has a great view, kinda hip atmosphere, and a decent menu. It has a few vegan options labeled on the menu. It’s not mind blowing, but the food is decent. I had the vegan burger and sweet potato fries. If you’ve eaten much in Vancouver, don’t come here expecting that! Also it’s very expensive and the service is a little slow.

Pros: Labels vegan menu items, Has vegan dessert, Great view

Cons: Expensive, Slower service , Ok vegan food

Emily93

Points +34

Vegan
22 Jun 2018

Great choices

I was surprised to see how many vegan options they had. The falafel wrap and dessert was amazing.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

VeggieFromSpace

Points +726

Vegan
17 Aug 2017

Brain Explosion Likely

So many vegan options that your brain may explode! They even have a vegan dessert option which is rare, sadly I was too full from my amazing main to have it- even though it was very hard to say no to VEGAN TIRAMISU. For my main I had a vegan mezze platter and it was freaking amazeballs- lol I know I'm sounding a bit crazy but I'm on a major happy food high after eating that whopper of a meal. Everything from the garlic tahini salad dressing to the stuffed vine leaves to the pita to the multiple dips and more this dish is just... !!! I would also like to note that I discovered this place through other means and was shocked it wasn't on happycow yet, I added it before visiting,as even if I didn't go here on my visit I could tell there would be a multitude of options from looking at the online menu- I mean there is more options for vegans here than in the vegetarian restauraunt in town! Like whhhhattt! Yh this is amazing, you have to visit!




This page has been viewed 2796 times.